Is it Friday yet?

I almost forgot to post today, caught up in trying to get to my keyboard.  I’ve got one last push, and then I’m done.  Got the last chapter outlined and the dialog written before I called it good last night, and thought about it all last night.  (Sleepless.  I was sleepless.)  So after I do the excercise thing, shower up, and grab a new cup of tea, I’ll be focused on breaking the dialog up, taking out the bits I don’t need, and then turning the last page.  Whoo-hoo!

And then it sits for almost six months while I rewrite the last Madison book, rewrite book nine, and work on the rough draft of the world book, and maybe relax a little in the summer.  But already, I’m thinking about who I can work out of the book to streamline it, where I can simplify the logic, and what I need to strengthen to make a more solid story flow.  Oh, and the freebies.  I gotta work up a freebie, and this is where it starts. 

Massive amounts of caffeine.  That’s what I need today. 😉

39 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

39 responses to “Is it Friday yet?

  1. Niki

    Hi Kim,
    Its nice to know I wasn’t the only one longing for Friday. Haven’t commented in a while; life has only given me time to lurk, but after the stress of midterms I seem to be getting a repraev from chaos.
    Thank you for the exerpt–I’m having trouble decideing if Al, Newt, or Pierce should have the full brunt of my anger–though I’m curious if you have any say in which cliffhanger to end on, or if its an editorial decision.
    Have a good weekend!

  2. mudepoz

    *Sigh* You said the last Madison book. I saw that. That may be as sad as losing Kistin. No, I think it’s sadder–Kisten will return in the bathtub.

    *Sob*

    However, on another note, I found yet another sucker to take orchids thru you.

    Is it February yet?

  3. It’s ALMOST Friday! And thank you for the excerpt, I can’t wait for February!

  4. S

    Hi Kim.

    I was just wondering if you could answer a question regarding the Black Magic Sanction e-book?

    I have bought your books in e-book format (and paperback format, your books are the only ones that I will buy twice!) for the last two years, the day that they were released. However, when I looked up Black Magic Sanction on the Harpercollins website, it said that the hardcover will be released on 2/23/2010, yet the e-book will be released on 4/6/2010.

    Do you know why this is and why it has changed?

    Either way, I love the books and hope you have a good weekend. Thank You.

    • Hi, S. Ahhhh, you noticed that. Yes, I do know why it’s changed. More later.

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying the books so much, and I really appreciate you buying the books in two formats. 😉

      –Kim

    • SeattleRobin

      There are several articles on the internet from the last couple of months that discuss publisher’s tinkering with delayed ebook release dates. If you do a Google search you should be able to find some of them.

      The most recent info I read was that HC is one of those publishers and that they have selected certain titles that they have chosen to delay in 2010. It’s frustrating as a reader! On the other hand it’s a compliment to Kim that her book is one they chose to delay, since it’s usually books they expect to be hot sellers they target from what I have seen.

  5. Hey Ms. Harrison!

    First things first! Basjan tried to kick my friend today, so he’s MUCH better.😀 I thought that I was going to loose him Monday. The vet had not given me much hope. I also got him eating today (bought it all at our local store, lol, i’m the only person in suburbia buying food for their horse at the local convenience store). I’m ecstatic.

    No, it’s not Friday yet. One and a half hours for me to go.🙂
    For interest, i’m currently reading another favorite author of mine by the name of Stephen Donaldson. If you haven’t heard of him, and you want to read some hard core, epic fantasy, I’d highly recommend him. There’s no comparison between his works and yours, the genre’s are very different so i’m not comparing. All i want to say is that he is well worth a read. I’ve forgotten how much his books hurt me, drag my soul out of me, and leave me with something… Else. His series of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever, is shatteringly amazing.

    *blush* That sounds like propaganda… Which it isn’t, lol. I just wanted to share.🙂

    Have a great day and good luck with the last stretch!
    Alyssa

    • Marsha

      Happy news Alyssa! I’m so glad that your Basjan is feeling better.

    • mudepoz

      Ditto! One of my dogs has permanent kidney damage from a serovar of ehrlichia. It wasn’t treated properly for years. The vet that ran the gels thinks many of the diseases that are not fully understood, including chronic fatigue and fibromyalgia may actually be a tick borne disease. I live in the city of Milwaukee, but there are ticks on my property. Ick. Then again, tick checks can be fun.
      See, if Rachel goes back in the woods, she really will need a tick check. Damn little blood suckers.

    • 😀 Thanks guys!
      as for the tick checks.
      I don’t want to know.
      I really don’t.

    • Hi, Alyssa. Ooooh, he’s kicking! That’s a good sign. I’m so glad he’s feeling better!

      Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever is one of my favorite series. I read it as it came out, lusting after the next book until it hit the shelf. Mmmmm, yes. I probably learned a lot from Stephen Donaldson. I’m right there with you, Alyssa. You either love him, or hate him.

  6. Tiffany

    I get those those sleepless mentally-restless nights a lot when I work late. It helps me to read, but for me reading helps me forget about work. I imagine for you reading might not always do the same…ha! I could send you some of my meeting minutes that would do the trick😉

    • Thanks for the offer, Tiffany. 🙂 I think I’ll pass, though. I got to sleep just fine last night using an old technique I’d not needed in about 20 years.

  7. Phil

    Okay, so i went ahead and read the teaser … despite my best efforts to hold to my resolve😉 and now i’m wondering … um, Rachel working demon magic in a demon’s kitchen doesn’t bode well for her chances of having the shunning lifted, does it?
    Yikes, now i’m inviting more teasers or worse, spoilers! Didn’t mean to do that…

    Sounds like you have your schedule well in hand. Happy typing!

  8. I notice I am not the only one who is haunted by her stories.😉
    Be it lyrics, poems, short stories or half written novels, they never quite “sit” while I’m doing someting else. They’re like kids in detention: they fidget and went to get the hell out!
    A few interesting ideas pop up inexpectedly during those times. Just yesterday, I decided to darken the past of my heroine a bit.

    I am also familiar with the restless nights. When I do overtime at work, I find myself solving gameplay problems and devising game mechanics and scoring systems in my sleep. I have to keep a notebook by my bed.

    I guess this is common ground for a lot of writers!

  9. Kat

    You must have a huge sense of accomplishment…getting all those words on paper. I cannot imagine. Lucky for all of us that you are so talented and creative!

    I just have to add that I am still in awe of the schedule you keep.

    • Kat, you have no idea. Every time I start one, I look ahead and imagine myself writing that last chapter, and it looks so far away, and then you just keep going . . . until you get there.

      My schedule is pretty steep, but I couldn’t do it without Guy.

  10. World book? Did I miss something or do you mean the graphic novel? Have a great weekend!

    • Hi, Amy. I’ve got a world book and an anthology in the works, and I’ll be starting on one of them very soon. I don’t talk about them much because the release dates are way out there.

  11. suzannelazear

    It is *so* cold and windy this morning, lol (Okay, cold and windy for LA). The chicks are still inside, peeping and cheeping away next to my desk.

    Break out with the chocolate (it did wonders for me yesterday).🙂

    So the freebies start developing this early? Cool. No wonder they are so clever.

    It’s almost Friday!!!
    ~Suzi and the tot

    • Hi, Suzanne. No chocolate for me. I was very free with spending my calories the last two months, and I’m paying them back with interest. sigh

      Yup, the freebie ideas start with the rough draft. So far, nothing has sparked.

  12. lisa mulder

    Sounds like a lot on your plate to me. You may need something stronger than tea, like maybe chocolate and lots of it. But if anyone can get it done, you can!! Looking forward to the new book!!!!!!!

  13. Kylie Ru

    Ooo, either I’m gonna be first, or someone else is typing right now, too, and they’ll finish before I do . . . .

    Caffeine does nothing for me, but maybe I’ll drink some hot tea ’cause I’m FREEZING!!! Brrr. Yeah, I know it’s not nearly as cold as other places, but everything is relative.

    Hope everything chugs right along, Kim-san!

    Oh no. I have to go have a consultation with the oral surgeon today about getting my wisdom teeth pulled. Dot dot dot.

    • Oh! I hope that wisdom teeth pulling goes well and heals quickly. I feel lucky that mine all fit in my mouth and don’t need any work done. I think the least I can do is offer moral support!😉

      How cold is your “freezing”? I’m kind of curious since my town (Quebec City, Canada) is one of those “cold places”. We hit -15°C today (5°F) and are looking at a -25°C (-13°F) for this weekend. Even though I grew up here, I find it beyond freezing. *sigh* I am such a summer person…

    • Kylie Ru

      Thanks! But the actual surgery doesn’t take place till February 5th. I just went in for the doctor to tell me “Yeah, we’re gonna pull all four.” Gee, thanks, mister.

      My personal freezing is about 60. 😀 Of course, my parents call me a lizard. I call them snowmen. The low today was 44, and right know it’s about 59.

      I much prefer when it’s in the low 90s. 85 to 95 is probably my comfort zone.

    • I am SO jealous! 60? Really? Outside or inside your house?
      If it’s outside, I wished we had that for half the year! 95 is about our maximum here and it happens only a few days in the summer.
      Did I say how jealous I am?

      That being said, I won’t hold it against you and have a thought for you on February 5th.😉

    • Kylie Ru

      It’s usually about 65 in the house the entire year. And for some odd reason, my bedroom’s the coldest. Twitch.

      During the summer the average is 105 to 115. It might get to 118 or so a few days.

    • Phil

      Don’t fret, Kylie, Feb. 5th will be here before you know it…Sorry, just kidding!! My wisdom teeth came out a couple years ago (with the dentist’s help, that is) and all went well. I hope it goes well for you, too!!!

    • Kylie Ru

      Gee, thanks, mister.

      No, seriously, thanks! I’m glad I’ll be drugged (never been drugged before, so it’ll be an experience), and I won’t remember it. My best friend wasn’t so lucky. Due to complications, they couldn’t put her to sleep.

    • Phil

      I wasn’t drugged, but I felt like I was afterward! Kidding!!!
      Actually, it wasn’t bad, though it would have been nice if they played a movie during the thing…

    • Marsha

      Don’t worry Kylie. I had to have all of mine surgically removed years ago…don’t remember a thing. When they told me to count down from 100, I think I made 97. That stuff they give you is reallllly gooood! Just plan on a liquid diet for a day or two.

    • Kylie Ru

      Yeah, no teriyaki burgers for me for a few days.

    • Hi, Kylie-san. Oooh, I had one wisdom tooth pulled, and I’m done. There are two more in there, but they aren’t moving, so until they do, they can stay put. Didn’t like the experence. Good luck with your extractions. If they put you compleatly out, see if you can have someone sit with you as you come out it. There have been rare cases of complications.