nine and three-quarters, nine and three-sixteenths

I threw a note to my editor yesterday about me putting a few pages of chapter one up on my website, and I’ve not heard back yet.  This means one of three things.  Either she’s ill, she’s slammed with work, or Harper is working something up concerning sneak-peaks and it is so close to being done that she’s waiting.  I’m uh, hoping it’s not the first, but since the excerpt was going to be my drama box today, I’ve got nothing for you.

Oh.  Wait!  While I was updating my Harper pages, I did see that the two proposed off-site signings in Portland have made it to the official tour, so I guess we’re good, and I’ll be doing a little extra work while out there for the Portland Library event this late March.  So there you go!  A little bit of West Coast for the BMS tour, and two of my favorite stores!  ;-)  If you West-Costers are wanting a Tour T, we still have them available at the website: http://kimharrison.net/maildrop_freebies.htm#TourTs

Thursday, March 25, 2010

07:00 PM POWELL’S BOOKSTORE
Powells Cedar Hills Crossing 3415 SW Cedar Hills Blvd Beaverton, OR 97005

Friday, March 26, 2010

06:30 PM THIRD PLACE BOOKS
17171 Bothell Way N.E. Lake Forest Park, WA 98155

33 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

33 responses to “nine and three-quarters, nine and three-sixteenths

  1. vampms

    Hey Kim,
    Haven’t posted in awhile trying to catch up on all your blogs. Looking for any teasers on BMS. Hate being sick. I hope we get a chance to read some of the chapters. I have reread all the books so I’m ready for the next one. I Luv Rachel!! Do you think you’ll ever tour here in Indianapolis? I would luv to go to one of your book signings.

  2. Boo! I’m awaiting your arrival on the East Coast. I don’t know if you remember me telling that I was asking for some of your books for Christmas, but I got one. ONE. What is that? I had like six on my Christmas list.
    Anyhoo, I’ve been writing lately😀
    I’m proud to say, I finished Chapters 10, 11 and 12 last weekend. Chapter 13 has been started! I’m only about a paragraph in, but I’m hoping that I’ll one day be on a best sellers list. My real problem is finding an editor:/
    I also need to re-read everything so my story actually makes sense.

    Any advice on finding an editor?
    Thanks,
    Heather Koch

    • Hi, Heather. That’s fantastic that you’re writing. And moving forward well, it seems.

      Are you looking for an editor, or a critique partner? An editor will not even look at your work until you have a compleated, polished novel, and though you are making great progress, it sounds like you’re a way from being done.

      Once you’ve got a manuscript, THEN you start looking for an editor. 😉

      Good luck!

  3. Greg S

    GREAT I’ll see ya at third place up here in the northwest

  4. Phil

    Preview pages is prob’ly more logical than chapters. It’s like “accidentally” leaking some political bombshell in a non-fiction book, you don’t want to give away the whole story, just some juicy tidbits.
    This is going to seriously test my will to resist a peek!

    B&N had no copies of ODTS but i may wait for spring and buy it the same time the second Madison is released. They should have both books in stock then. Waiting for spring will really test my willpower!😉

    • Hi, Phil.

      B&N was out of ODTS? I know Target has them! (grin) I check every time I go in. It makes me feel good. (laugh)

      Preview pages are up. No peeking!

      –Kim

  5. JanisHarrison

    OK, First: Third Place Books (Bothell) is a wonderful bookstore/gathering place, complete with socializing areas, etc. It is one of my FAVORITE bookstores. I’m so glad you’ll be there.
    Next: Nicole’s “share” of a church restored and turned into a residence is a real dream. I visualize Ivy, Rachel, and the Jenks family’s church as a bit smaller, less formal, and somehow not so well-lit.
    Side Note: Hey, Kim, why the heck haven’t VC&Co run a circuit and installed a couple of lamps in the entry/vestibule area? Seems like a security issue to me.
    Next: Chelikins, there are miniature gargoyles available. They’re very often included in categories of places that carry dragons, Try Google…

    And last: This is a fantastic group of people! Thank you, Kim, for opening a venue for us to connect!

    • Hi, Janis.
      (grin) You’d think they would have taken care of that lighting issue by now, wouldn’t you?

      I’ve always enjoyed Third Place Books. If I’m remembering correctly, we were so hot last time we set the fire alarm off! –Kim

  6. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Kim Harrison Says:

    “January 12, 2010 at 8:39 am | Reply
    Vampy, they are just too sweet! And so happy! You’re a good papa dog. ”

    Yes they luvs me and they thought the camera was food.

    Pretty evil of you to say “chapters” when you meant “pages”.😉 Way to torment the loyal readers hehehe.

    V^^^^V

  7. Evert

    I love to read your books. First I did read them in Dutch, but after the first three books there was no translation more in Dutch and I began to read the next books in Inglish.
    And now I am waiting for the release of your last book.
    I will thank you for the pleasure I have when I read them.
    The only minor thing is that before I now I am ready with the book and I just want to read more.

    Good luck with the writing and the rest

    • Hi, Evert. There are two more books scheduled to be translated into Dutch, but I don’t think they’ve gotten to them yet. I’m honored that you’re reading them in their native English. Thank you! It won’t be long now before the next is out! –Kim

  8. Chelikins

    I personally liked your typo😉 Chapters is way more fun I think.. One or two you know.. maybe three..😉 Anyways.. I loved that little statue that one of your fans made of Bis.. beautiful, wonderful. Maybe besides your cups you could get little Bis statues for us to order. Just a thought. I cannot wait for Feb.. my amazon order keeps saying on order.. I want it to say SHIPPED!!!

    Chele

    • Hi, Chele. Ahh, but chapters would be way too much for my little website to handle! Harper will probably make the first few chapters available on their website, at their own pace, of course. (grin)

  9. Nicole

    I came across this in an e-mail and thought Hollows fans might get a kick out of it.
    http://southbros.blogspot.com/2009/10/living-in-church.html

  10. suzannelazear

    I hope they let you put up some pages.🙂

    The tot’s teacher is letting her bring the chick on share day. Actually, I get to bring the chick and then bring it home after show and tell time. Considering it’s a half day on Friday and we live 45 min from the school, I think the chick and I will simply hang out at starbucks with my laptop. Maybe fluffy is good at editing…

    ~Suzi and the tot

  11. I noticed the two new tour dates. I am surprised, though–generally by now Harper has sent out a newsletter with the widget link.

    I’ve discovered just how much influence one person with a few friends can have with word of mouth advertising. Just a little splash and ripples flare out far and wide. Particularly when your friends share similar reading tastes😉

    It would be foolish to wait much longer, facebook, myspace, twitter and the rest are a strong and inexpensive way to advertise.

    Which reminds me, my plea to the peeps here: Book reviews on the social websites are read by our friends. I think most of us have discovered our favorite authors thru word of mouth. We might be able to stem the trend of losing publishing houses by recommending favorite authors by spreading the word.

    Yeah, Vampire Wars and the farm games are fun, but reading is fundamental. (Hey where did that come from?)

    • Chelikins

      On my facebook I have what is called a bookshelf, I think. Anyway.. it lists books I have read, what I own and plan to read and what I am looking forward to buying to read. You can also write a review about each.

      I love when my friends mention authors in their posts. It lets me know their tastes and if something catches my fancy then I write it down.😉

    • Everything in its own time, Mud. When I push the publisher, I get dirty looks.

  12. Hey Ms. Harrison,

    Ja, Basjan got bitten by a tick. And, I know exactly which one it was. I could see that the bite looked different than others and thought: Hmm. Tick fever potential, must keep an eye… He’s still very ill. He was lying down this morning and it took ages to get him up. Sigh. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

    Anyway, I had planned to share a few things with you from over the weekend that got a bit lost in my mind yesterday. One: Can’t drink Coffee? CAN’T drink coffee?! “pause, blink blink, pause” *Alyssa takes a step back* Is it contagious?
    Second: Good and bad news for me concerning BMS. Good news: I saw our cover (the UK version) and it looks cool. Not as cool as some of the others, certainly not as cool as the US version. But still cool.
    Bad news: We have to wait till June, July before we get it in my sunny country. Sigh. lol. I don’t know HOW I’m going to wait. I really don’t.

    Have a good day Ms. Harrison, I hope you’re feeling better.
    Alyss

    • I read the teaser!!! Mwahahah!!
      Brilliant.
      Dang. How am I going to wait this long?

    • Hi, Alyssa.

      A tick? I thought I had been bitten by a tick once when I worked in the woods, went in for testing, and came out pregnant. (laugh) I hope Basjan feels better soon.

      You read the teaser already? Wow! 😉

  13. Patricia Chase

    I’m totally new here, but I wanted to say how much I’m enjoying – devouring – this series! I’ve just started White Witch, Black Curse, and it’s bittersweet knowing this is the last one until Black Magic Sanction comes out. And I also have to say that I am still mourning Kisten! Thank you for creating this world, that when I open your book, I can step into just like my very own ley line.

    • Thank you, Patricia! I’m so glad you’re enjoying the Hollows! 😉 I’m missing Kisten, too, which might be why I set the graphic novels (summer 2011) while he was alive. We have a tub scene! (laugh)

  14. SeattleRobin

    Cool! I thought you meant both signings would be in the Portland area so was thrilled when I scrolled down to see Third Place Books listed. (Fantastic bookstore!) I’ve got it on my calendar now and have emailed my friend.

    Oh speaking of my friend. I thought you might get a kick out of this. I had these made for us earlier this year (one for her and one for me). I think she’s trying to pick up runner work now: http://ruthross.net/10201.html

    • Hi, Robin.

      Yes, yes! I was thrilled to see Seattle added, but it will be a very quick stop, I’m sure.

      Ohhhh, you got a runner ID! Guy quit making those because they were too much a PITA. You have one of a few. –Kim