No snow here, bleak forecast, hints of sun

Bleak forecast, hints of sun, and I’m not talking the weather.  I was going to have a nice post this morning about the restful peace of snow, (I’ve done my share of shoveling, and I maintain snow is peaceful) but alas, no snow.  We didn’t get even any rain out of that huge front that came through.  I’m blaming the statues.

The bleak forecast I’m talking about is in the writing field.  If you are a writer, published or un, my agent has a handful of very informative posts on his blog this week that you may be interested in, one from my publisher has a very yin/yang feel to it.  I’m not up to making my own predictions, but there will always be books, and there will always be writers, and if the consumer is unhappy, he or she needs to vote with his wallet.  Otherwise we’ll all be sucking down what everyone else says is a good book, when what we’re starving for is a book that speaks to us.

JMT

–Kim

98 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

98 responses to “No snow here, bleak forecast, hints of sun

  1. amanderson29

    For the record, I have purchased all of your books in 3 formats, paperback, hardcover, and audio (through audible.com). I troll the paperback isle at Wal-Mart, Target, Safeway and Walgreens at least once or twice a week looking for something to read. I usually purchase at least two random books per week.

    As an English Major, (Creative Writing) I’ve had a tendency to accumulate massive quantities of books, fortunately my husband doesn’t object to me filling the house with them. We currently have six bookshelves that are crammed with two rows of books on each shelf and still there are boxes in our storage closet filled with books that we have no room to display.

    I know I’m not the only person who has an unruly appetite for books, and I think as long as people continue to buy them on paper, there will still be a demand for them. I have a co-worker with a voracious appetite for books also and her husband just got her a Sony e-reader for Xmas. She stated that while she enjoyed the convenience of it, she really missed the paper and the feel of holding the actual book in her hand.

    As an office wench, I tend to be pretty addicted to my audio books because it is a wonderful way to distract myself from my environment and I listen to a variety of books over and over again all day at work. My husband is a very slow reader and if not for audio books I don’t think he would get anything read at all. (He’s currently listening to the hollows series as I have successfully talked him into going to the BMS booksigning in Minneapolis with me!) I prefer audio books over movies. My imagination is always so much better than watching a movie of a book–most directors seem to slaughter a story in the attempt to “make it better”. Granted, there are a lot of movies out there that are great stories too, but when you compare them with the original novel, they just aren’t the same story… but I digress. My point is that most people who buy one of the “new” formats of books will usually also duplicate their purchase in paper.

    • Hi, Amanderson. Wow, you read a lot.🙂 I think that most hard-core readers are going to mix it up with definite preferences for one or the other, and we’ll never lose the tactile book, but e books will become a major outlet. Should be interesting to see how things shift.

      I’m so glad you and your husband are enjoying the books. Thank you!

  2. Hi Kim, Personally, I hate reading for long periods on any type of screen, it gives me a headache.😦 I don’t believe that real books and bookstores will become obsolete, but I think that some changes will be necessary.

    Maybe large bookstores should consider genres that sell more often in specific areas, and then shift the focus to those genres. (Do they do this already? Maybe, but I haven’t noticed and I’ve lived in many different geographical areas. B&N is the same, everywhere I’ve been.) How about giving Horror, Fantasy, and Sci-Fi their own, individual, sections instead of lumping them all together?

    How about instead of just publishing books; writers, musicians, and artists collaborate to create a more complete experience. Give me more detailed artwork, more appropriate cover art! (One of my pet peeves is covers that aren’t true to the story, and blurbs that give the wrong impression.) Give me a soundtrack to accompany the novel! 🙂

    On a slightly different note, but still kind of related to the “creating an experience” rant, have you considered compiling a Hollows cookbook? I want Ivy’s mom’s Curry Chicken recipe, Kistin’s Pizza Sauce, and Rachel’s Solstice Cookies.🙂

    • Antonio Rich

      YA books tend to have more artwork and sometimes link to web content. I don’t know why they don’t do so w/adult titles as well. I recently read a steampunk YA called Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld that contained the most beautiful artwork inside and out. It can’t be cost, or they wouldn’t do it so much with YA titles.

    • I like your ideas, Crysa, and I think that the more digital books get, the more extra content they will have until there is a mix of multiple medias. Give it three years, and there will be music to your e-read experence, I bet.

      I’d love to make a Hollows cookbook. Maybe I’ll put some recipes in the Hollows world guide I’m working on. 😉

  3. A book, to me, is a container of stories and ideas. The nature of that container is irrelevant. I am firmly in pro-ebook camp for reasons of price and convenience.

    I live in Australia. The cost of a physical book is A$19 to A$22 for a MMPB, A$30 to A$35 for a trade, and A$50+ for a hardback if I buy locally. If I buy through Amazon the cost of shipping effectively doubles the price of the book. The Australian dollar is almost at parity with the US dollar.

    I can sometimes find the books I want from the used book store, but if I buy there the author doesn’t get any of my money, and a used book can still cost more than an ebook.

    Convenience… To me it means I can carry an entire library on one device that I only have to recharge once a week. It means I don’t have to leave a store disappointed because the book I want isn’t in stock. It means I don’t have to find more room for the books I buy, in a home that is already bursting at the seams from my existing library. It means I don’t have to cull my book collection if I have to move overseas ever again.

    In the past year I have bought more books than I’ve ever bought in any previous year, all of them new and all of them contributing to the author’s bottom-line, which is as it should be. This would never have happened had I not bought my dedicated e-reader back in Q1 2009.

    • You have a good argument, Alyssa. I think it’s wonderful that we have a choice. Ebooks for those who like the convenience, and paper books for those who enjoy the tactile feel/smell of a book.

    • SeattleRobin

      Holy cow! I’d heard that books were expensive in Australia, but I really had no idea. That’s really prohibitive and I can’t imagine trying to feed my book habit with those prices! Like you I prefer for authors to get compensated so generally only bought used books when I was getting a replacement copy or out of print titles.

  4. hey i juts wanted to know whos on the cover of your new book thanks🙂

  5. Proudfit

    Hey Kim,
    I like the changes to the website. Your link was an interest read. waiting fro sancution to come out. Proudfit

  6. Hey

    I really love your books, I’ve read ever book but the last of the Hollows, but it’s waiting for me in my bedroom😉
    I’ve got one question to the princess series.. it endet up so unsatisfied, are you going to write a third book?

    greetings from snowy german🙂

    • Hi, A-W. Thanks! I’m glad you’re enjoying the books. More Princess books? Probably not. Which is a shame because I thought it was one of my best magic systems ever. –Kim

  7. *julia*

    heyy kim
    been catching up on the reading and the drama. i finished WWBC and i loved it!!! i love the the part where rachel , jenks , Trent and pierce and Al
    together in the elevator.. Al was funny. what will happen in book 8
    will we have More of Trent and i can wait to see what rachel remembers using that charm.? also will jasmine b mentioned in book 8 since she was remember again.?

    • Hi, Julia. Mmmm, I liked that scene, too. The Pandora charm? Yup, I want to get that settled as well. Jasmine is a tough cookie. I think she died, though. I’m not sure yet.

  8. Antonio Rich

    I guess everyone is focusing on the most tangible manifestation of the changes in publishing – what’s in our hands! E-Books. Paper. (Sigh) I don’t know. I’ll probably switch eventually.

    But, having once been part of “the gatekeepers” (in however small a way), I think what is most important is what choices will I have in the future. How accessible? Affordable? Will this industry shakeout leave me with more or less choices to make. More people creating their ART or more people being “commisioned” to produce Art. Or WORSE, more people having to invest/buy their way in. In many ways, Technology has democratized the buying and selling of art. You can actually make a living by creating videos with a $150 FLIP camera and posting it on YouTube. It’s never been easier for artists and craftsmen to sell their wares.

    I don’t know, Kim. I don’t think I’m as nervous about these trends so much as I’m worried about how those who have traditionally wielded so much power and influence react. Will companies(and those companies that own THEM) gracefully innovate, adapt and keep pace. Maybe even lead?

    Or not.

    I live in a part of the country where, sadly, we are suffering from those industries/companies who could not.

    • becca

      hey
      i cant remember if it was u who asked about ‘being human'(vamp,werewolf and ghost) with me being british a while ago well if so just a heads up seson 2 in on tomorrow 10th jan on bbc3 iplayer.
      x

    • Antonio Rich

      I really liked Being Human(those BBC series are SO short! 6 episodes?). I’m having Trueblood withdrawals. The other day I was watching the movie Elizabeth (with Cate Blanchett). About 20 minutes into it, I turned to my friend and told her “You know, this would be alot more interesting if she were a Vampire.” Really. She’s already got the white pancake makeup on. Give her some fangs and let’s kick this story up a notch.

    • SeattleRobin

      LOL on Elizabeth as a vampire, Antonio! I always like the way you think.🙂

    • There is a new book coming out later this year where she’s a vampire hunter. I’ve got the ARC on my desk and haven’t got to it yet. (grin)

    • Hi, Antonio. The ones who adapt and inovate will survive. Those who ignore or go halfway, will fail. Now is not a time to be timid, but smartly agressive. I’m not very agressive, but I’m tenacious! (grin) –Kim

  9. Kathryn

    Hey Kim,

    I have a quick ? for you. In White Witch, Black Curse, Cormel (or maybe Ivy) mentioned his scion only briefly… but I don’t think we ever met the vamp in question. Do we even know the name yet? Will we get to meet whoever it is that Cormel wants to surpass himself?

  10. Great information and publishing industry predictions on Richard Curtis’ blog. Thanks for the link.

    By the way, I just posted about Black Magic Sanction on my Damian Daily blog. Can’t wait to read it!

    • Hi, Lisa.

      Richard’s blog is one of my daily stops. It’s one of my ways to keep in touch with NY, otherwise, I’d be hoplessly lost.

      I hope you get your copy of BMS soon. The ARCs are out if you know someone in a bookstore.

    • I got my ARC a few weeks ago. I’ve been waiting until closer to the release date to read it and review it, so that it’s fresh in my mind. It’s torturing me though to have it sitting on my desk, beckoning me. I’ll probably break down and read it this week and publish my review a little before the release date. I never include spoilers in my reviews though, so no worries there.

  11. Linda, Ireland

    Have to say, the ebooks are handy when you’re not living in the country from where a book is being released, but definatly prefer a good ole paperback copy. Bought WWBC as an ebook but the minute it was released in Ireland as paperback, bought that too. Will being doing the same for BMS (I’m assuming it will be released later in the UK and Ireland too?) Reading for long from a computer screen is sore on the eyes.

    You can have Ireland’s snow. We really can’t deal with it here. You can see how the cars are faring in the link below. Madness.

    Hope your weekend goes well anyways! 🙂

    • Antonio Rich

      Lindy-Girl. It’s not just Irish drivers(wink)

    • Linda, Ireland

      But you have snow chains for you’re cars there! Why isn’t anyone using them!?!? AHH!!

      I should stop watching these vidoes. I’m only learning to drive now, and the confidence isn’t great. Doesn’t help that I’m 27 and I have these stupid little 17 yr olds beeping me. Little bastards.

    • Hi, Linda. OMGosh, why do people get out of their cars?!? I learned how to drive in December, so snow doesn’t scare me, but black ice is tricky and can bring down the best. I hear you on the young drivers. OMGosh, they are the worst, thinking they know everything, then wrap their car around a pole or flip it into the trees. Yeah.
      (Sorry. Mini-rant)

  12. SeattleRobin

    Thanks for the link in the blog, Kim! Interesting stuff. This next decade I think things are going to continue to be shaky in publishing as new paradigms struggle to overtake the old ways. A couple things that popped out at me:

    “Trend: As the Boomers lose their eyesight and their children become teenagers, demographics will favor books for young adults over books for adults.”

    Well that’s part of the benefit to ebooks and one of the reasons I got my Kindle. You just push a button and the text is bigger! I could do fangirl gushing about this feature alone for several paragraphs.

    From Richard’s prognostications on GalleyCat:

    “5. Sales volume of printed books will rise as a reaction to screen-reading sets in. Many now enamored of e-books will return to print.”

    While that may apply to some, I do not at al believe it will be true overall. Dedicated e-readers (as opposed to reading on computer or smart phone screens) enhance reading in so many ways that the majority of people who read that way are hooked and find it very difficult to go back to paper books. I’m one of them.

    Which obviously makes me the odd one out here on the blog. I got my Kindle almost a year ago and there has just been no looking back. Everyone here talks about loving the feel and look of books. I love the look of books on my shelves too! Nothing really can compare to that.

    But ya know, living in a one bedroom apartment I ran out of shelf space years ago. All my books from the last few years have had to go into boxes. They aren’t very decorative and try finding a book you want to read again! I have actually re-bought books rather than trying to find the one I know I already own because I have no clue which of 20 boxes it’s stored in.

    I thought I would miss the experience of reading paper books. There has always been something very magical about books to me. Not just the stories they tell, but the books themselves. They’re like holy relics in my personal religion. So imagine my surprise, after owning an e-reader for a couple months, when I no longer enjoyed reading paper books. It is absolutely amazing how clunky they are compared to an e-reader. So I’ve become a heretic in my personal religion, but I am reading more books than ever and enjoying reading more than ever.🙂

  13. melodee

    Hey Kim,
    Happy late holidays! I to love the feel & weight of a great book in my hands. Reading books is the only way my son & I can totally and completely relax as we both have bipolar disorder. My son (he’s 16) tried the e-book thing and he couldn’t last with it for 5 mins before he picked up a “true, real” book. By the way he also loves your books, and brought up about when jenks got made life size of wanting to know if it would make him live longer as he seems more energetic after rachel did that to him.

    • Hi, Melodee. Happy late holidays! 😉 We still have cookies left, so it’s not over yet. That’s wonderful that you and your son both read the books. Very cool. And very clever of him to have spotted that about Jenks.

  14. Evelyn

    also, if pixies live on nectar or sugar water, then how can honey make them drunk?

  15. Evelyn

    heya, something that’s been bothering me a bit about pixies, if they only live about 20 years, then shouldn’t jenks look old, and not like a young human?

    how did you come up with 20 years for pixies? maybe jenks and matalina could live longer because they’re living in domesticity, not in the wild so to speak.

    • Hi, Evelyn. I chose 20 years so he’d be around a while. If I stuck with my biology, he’d only live three to five years. The smaller you are, the shorter your lifespan, generally. So I fudged it so there would be time to have a real culture and pixy society.

  16. Jenny

    I can see the practicality for an e-book device perhaps in the way that Frotee mentioned, but otherwise it’s paper books for me as well.I am on the second copy of my favorite book .E-books just seem really cold and impersonal, if that makes any sense.There is something in the act of turning the pages that can’t be replaced… Here’s hoping the sun comes out. Have a nice weekend🙂

    • I’m with you on the e-book, Jenny, but some of the devices I’ve been seeing are looking more and more friendly, and I bet I have one in about five years when I can write in the margins. I’m still going to have my books, but I’ll have my books on the shelf that I love, and my e-books that I “read and toss.”

  17. mudepoz

    I’ve mentioned before that there is simply NOT enough room on a Kindle for me to get my books signed. Won’t happen.
    Sadly, I do know some of the issue: paper has incorporated acids, and I have books from the 1500’s that are in better shape than books I bought just a few years ago. They yellow and fox horribly, spines split, and are almost illegible.

    And there is some thought that maybe tall dude and I wouldn’t have fight over shelf space in our library.

    I don’t know. My MP3 is filled with audiobooks I get from Audible, or the library. My job gives me a lot of time to listen as I water or work with the plants, or just drive. I’ll never know what the covers look like, or what the new book smelled like, but it is convenient.

    But think about it, I can download 50 books to my MP3’s and the memory card and take it with me everywhere.

    However, can’t do that with a lab exercise.
    Kim, didn’t this discussion come up a few months ago, because I remember the not getting a Kindle signed then.

    • I’ve signed Kindles before. (grin) Eventually, I bet they incorporate a page or two for signatures in the actual device. Or sell a cover that has pages for signatures.

  18. Frederique

    I personally NEED to feel the weight of the book in my hands. There is no substitution for me as far as being able to turn the pages and dog ear favorite places in the book. One of my favorite things to do is go book shopping. It’s what I do when I’m feeling down and it’s what I do when I’m bouncing off the walls happy. I can tell you that the bookstores near me are always packed and there is always a line to buy our books. Everyone I know is the same way. I even have my own little library in my house and I love adding to it and going through it and re-reading books I may not have read in a while. With those electronic things you just don’t have the same excitement.

  19. Marsha

    It does seem that the popularity of the Twilight series has cause an explosion in the YA area of publishing, but won’t those YA readers grow up? I think the electronic devices are interesting, but I get a high from going to a bookstore and picking up a book and reading that synopsis on the back cover. I swear I need to be buried in a bookstore. Nothing can take the place of that for me.

  20. Jeannie

    I have to agree with most here. I am not a fan of ebooks or anything of the sort. I like the tangible feel and the freedom a paper book gives. I like seeing it on a shelf and sharing it. I like the cover art….I think technology and advancements have their place but this is not it. There is a large market of people that ebooks exclude. Laws are already changing regarding texting and driving because of the danger. If we lump alternate reading gadgets into it…wow. Along those lines I was also one of the parents who could not believe that my children were aloud to use calculators on their state proficiency tests. What happened to long division on paper…again I think technology has its place but it can also cause ignorance and a lack of motivation/comprehensive thinking. Oops sorry I ran at the mouth and I guess my age is showing. Not intended to offend either.

  21. gothar

    I think the real issue is bookstores cost money while websites with ebooks are much cheaper to run and you don’t need staff or warehouses to store product. In short all comes down to profits for shareholders.

    Honestly, can you take a book to the beach on holiday without a care if gets wet or sandy – try that with an “e” device. You can’t even use your cell phone in the rain without voiding a warranty. The real shady market is college textbooks publishing and no quality device out there to use for ebooks. Of course, ebooks and open book exams I’m sure would be frowned upon. Remember books can’t cause cancer like everything else does these days.

    It’s being trying to snow all day here but in the great white north winter and snow go hand in hand so I’m not as excited. I hope everyone hoping for snow gets it, I hope the UK gets some warm weather to get rid of the feet of snow they are stuck with.

    All have a good weekend!

    • mudepoz

      Gothar, as far as text books, there isn’t a single lab I’ve written in the last few year that has made it between covers. They are issued as PDF on a secured website.

      Not my favorite thing, but it is easier to update as necessary.

    • Hi, Gothar. Money has a lot to do with it. I think money has everything to do with it, actually. Hope you had a great weekend, too.

  22. JanisHarrison

    I am very frugal; I have to be with my very low income. I have always been a library patron more than a book-buyer, and I tend to try to buy books second-hand when I do purchase. I have to! But your books, which I have read pretty much via library checkout, I find I want to own. I shall spend some of my Winter Holiday gift $$ on acquiring them. And I’m a traditionalist; I don’t want some electronic device, I want a book with pages that I can flip back to that explanatory paragraph, mark with a piece of paper for reference when I’m chewing on a couple of books at a time…in other words, e-books don’t kindle me at all.

    Sorry you’re having a droopy day, Kim. Go cuddle a pup or have a brisk walk; it’ll help.

  23. Lexxa Mooncat

    My husband has tried to get me onto e-books but it is just not the same to me. I understand companies have to survive and be competative but I still think it is a very sad trend. You don’t get the chance to really savor a book till you can hold it and carry it around with you till it is ragged and dog eared in my opinion.

  24. Evelyn

    hi there, do you happen to have any spoilers for your next book for me? my e-mail is aurora151989@comcast.net if you want to tell me privately.

    Will I be seeing more Al? I hope so.

  25. Stephanie

    Very light snow here in Georgia (at least where I am), but it was enough to get the schools closed down. Since I am a teacher, this is great news! I love how with even a threat of snow in the South, people freak out.
    Blog very bleak. On a side note, though, as a teacher, I cannot foresee myself switching totally to electronic. As a result of owning the books, I can let my students check them out from me. If I owned a Kindle, I couldn’t share my books with them. It is hard enough to get kids to read, so when I actually get kids to devour books like I do, it makes me smile🙂. Since I teach older high school kids, I have let a few special ones borrow your books. I got them hooked, and now they are as happy about the up and coming release as I am. I did, however, have to re buy DWW because it seemed to disappear at the hands of a student! That only happens with the good ones.

    • Hi, Stephanie. Wow, I love posts like yours. Thank you, very much for getting your kids hooked on reading. I am very honored that you’re giving out my books to them. Makes me feel really good. 😉

  26. suzannelazear

    Wow, that’s a great post. Thank you for posting that.
    I hope snow or sun comes your way. The tot and I will send you some of ours (sun, not snow, but we can make you sno cones.)
    The tot just lost one of her front teeth, and she fears loosing the other because she dosen’t want to “talk funny.” LOL
    We hope you have a fab weekend.
    ~Suzi and the tot

  27. Do the prospects for books look dim then? I can understand the lure of e-books, it’s very handy, but it will never be the real deal. I don’t think i would purposely look for well-designed books, but having them physically means a lot more than owning gigabytes of e-books. E-books feel like trial versions to me, whenever i come across a good text, i drop the e-one and get the real one.

    So the YA genre is the new it, so what? How long will that last? It’s more like pop-culture if you ask me, not only for YA books, but for all genres. There will be books for masses, written for profit, and there will be books which there readers will seek out. The latter group of readers an author doesn’t lose quickly. (i.e, you won’t lose me)

    It’s the workings between the author and the readers that i don’t get for the life of me. Especially how one man gets to decide what books i will read or not. I don’t mean editing the text, smoothing out loopholes, whatever. How J. Rowling got rejected over and over again is a good example. Who knows what else is being rejected by publishers? It’s scary to imagine.

    If self publishing will fix that, than so be it. I want to read.

    • I’m guessing that in ten years, you will be able to find real books for NYT best sellers, and cheap paperbacks for small publishers on non-traditional book store outlets (grocery, pharmacy, newsstand, Big box stores) But the big publishers won’t be stocking shelves anymore with midlisters. Ouch. Which means you’ll have to go to the Internet to find the unique stuff. Which is even worse.
      Give it another ten years, and we’ll have a batch of new small publishers making waves, and it will all shift again.

  28. Hmm. I’ll have a look at the publisher’s site when I have some reading time over the weekend.
    My bos at work (who I got hooked on your books) has finished WWBC and he says: BRAVO, BRAVO. Thought i’d pass it on.
    As for the bad luck, I think that’s what got me with this little incident. It’s not the accident itself, but the string of things it was attached to. But, it’s all fixable, and at the end of the day, I’ve had much worse. There’s always more money to be made, but people are irreplacible.
    I believe strongly that 2010 will be my year, and hope that it will be yours as well. A year filled with good Karma, good will, good luck and good coffee.🙂

    Have a good weekend Ms. Harrison, and thank you for your books.

    Alyssa

    • I want to add something here about ebooks (and say Hello Ms. Harrison that I negelected to do earlier).
      Personally, although i realize that it’s the rising trend, I don’t like them. I’m a traditionalist as well. I love the smell of my books. I love looking at them on my shelf. I like randomly picking one up, feeling the way it feels in my hands, turning the familiar pages. I love being able to brows ahead simply but opening the book at a specific place and reading further and I love the anticipation of seeing how a books cover will fit with all my others. I love rearranging my book case in my ‘ranking’ order.
      I don’t think we can stem the flow on ebooks, but I’m hoping that they won’t completely overflow the market in the next decade or two. I can’t get into a book that I read electronically. It’s as if I can’t take the writer seriously.
      But, we’ll see what the future brings.

    • Hi, Alyssa. I like your attitude on bad luck, and very clever of you to have gotten your boss hooked on the Hollows. 😉 Coffee? Coffee!! I can’t drink coffee. I am actually a tea drinker. (grin)

      –Kim (who drinks tea and likes paperbacks)

  29. Phil

    I absolutely agree with Frotee. I like going to the bookstore or the library for a book I want, and sometimes finding the unexpected, as I did with the Hollows series …🙂 Reading isn’t the same when you’re not actually holding the book and turning pages.

  30. Thomas McNeill

    at 15 miles from the Florida line & 30 miles from Tallahassee naturally we have no now either.Next month s the new book,,,AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH,,,Its s close I can taste it,LOL.Its allmost hard to beleive its fnally time.Gotta pre-order on the 1st so I’ll get it on the release date.
    So looking foward to it Kim.

  31. Stephenie

    We just got a large chunk of snow yesterday, and Wednesday. It was very pretty, light, fluffy snow. Yet, I couldn’t be happy about it. My town seems to be in an absolute refusal to actually plow the roads. The plows are out, but nothing is changing. Also I keep falling down this Christmas break, so I’m ready for non-slippery ground cover.

    None of that blog seemed like very good news for me. A lot of what I write I consider YA, but it’s the YA I wanted to read when I was in high school. It’s probably far too explicit in terms of adult content to ever really make it into the YA market. Of course I’m sure I could make that work. It sounds like it’s going to become a lot harder to get published… and I didn’t like that ominous thing about agents controlling every aspect of a writer’s career. I like to call my own shots with well placed advice followed when I know it’s good for me…

    I’m a little frightened now.

    Stephenie

    • Hi, Stephenie. It is SCARY out there right now, and I am so thankful that I”m in a place where I can relax enough to do my work, and enjoy the process of putting a story together. It’s never been easy to break into publishing, but now it’s almost impossible unless you really exert yourself adn learn a bunch of stuff that has nothing to do with crafting a story.

  32. Lurker

    Seems to me that your industry is just following every other industry and doing things to try and survive. Some of that also seems like a natural transition to new business practices.
    Still wondering what this ‘snow’ thing is.🙂

  33. Antonio Rich

    It’s been snowing for two days here(Ohio) and it IS beautiful. I love shoveling the snow…And before you say it (Mud, Jenn, Gothar, Phil, anyone living North of me) – No, I am NOT interested in shoveling your drive.

    I was once in Greensboro,NC when it snowed…Oh, maybe an inch, and it completely shut down the city. The schools are closed here. And, part of the highway. SLOW DOWN!

    Yeah, I’ve felt the industries shakeup (shakedown?) as much as anyone. The distribution side of the business has been merging and purging for the last 6 years or so. There are literally a handful of people making decisions about who gets what where. The company I used to work for had control, for instance, of supplying airports and military bases w/product. Big sales. But, I had a VERY limited “pull list”(re-order) to choose from in stocking. You should have seen our “Famous Authors List.” (Rolls eyes) VERY little Sci-Fi. And NO “Series Authors” to even choose from.

    OK, on a lighter note: HAPPY ELVIS DAY!

    • Actually Antonio, our city is very prepared for snow, it has to be. And we bought a large snowblower, so the acre drive is covered, though I do the little stuff by hand. Tall Dude has a fairly large smile on his face while behind the growling beast. Must be a guy thing (not capitalized).

      Kim? Statues? Also, I am really sad. I sent out some stuff before Xmas that was fun for you, Guy and Faith.

      I think it got lost.

    • Oh yeah, and My UK friend is inundated! THEY don’t have the equipment…but, come June, the international women’s writing group will meet in NJ. Australia, London, NJ, Wisconsin, and NY finally get to meet after years of critting and bouncing ideas off of each other.

    • Phil

      Cool avatar, Mud! Roselind Franklin would be amazed.

    • mudepoz

      Thank you Phil, Dr. Franklin is my heroine!

    • Antonio Rich

      M–

      (Laugh) If they could ever invent a snow-blower that resembles Excalliber, or perhaps a Gatling machine gun, it would be #1 on most men’s Christmas lists.

      “You dishonor me, snow. I WILL have satisfaction!”

    • Phil

      Antonio, thought you might like this (you, too, Kylie!) …
      At dawn the snow falls over the village
      like light from the morning moon.
      -from a 12th Century Japanese poem

      I still think it’s kinda yucky when you have to shovel.

    • Jenn

      Phil, I really enjoyed the poetry lines, they make me think peacefull thoughts!
      I’m sorry but I have to disagree, I really enjoy shoveling, it’s great alone time to think out whatever needs sorting.

    • Antonio Rich

      I must admit that I’m not familiar with 12th-Century Japanese snow poetry, Phil. I recall a childhood limerick about “yellow snow” that maybe I’ll share another time. My artistic tastes and education being more plebeian than yours, I will, however, offer up one of my favorites:

    • Hi, Antonino. We’re in that same belt as Greensburo. They once delayed school two years ago because it “might” snow.

  34. Frotee

    I don’t care what the trend says – I’ll stick with paper-books, thank you very much. I just love the feeling of the pages between my fingers, the smell of the books, the look of a well-read book…
    However, I might consider having some e-book-device (like kindle) to take books i have already read with me on a holiday – as unfortunately the available space in my hand-baggage as well as the amount of weight you can carry in your other baggage is limited. And I tend to finish a good book in about 2 days…
    I really hope we won’t be seeing a decrease in good stories though – I don’t care who the publisher is, as long as the stories suit my taste.
    And as long as you are still being published Kim🙂

  35. Kylie Ru

    Hm, that makes a lot of sense. That’s the way it is with movies, too. You get a movie because EVERYBODY says it’s great (or, in my case, absolutely terrifying), and you watch it. About two hours later, you think “Well, that sucked.”

    But I have a bunch more luck with books than movies.

    Hope you have fun this weekend, Kim-san, and mayhaps you’ll get a freak snow storm.

  36. becca

    hey kim
    you can have our snow if you like….we got it out of the yang!!lol havent had any today gotta wait untill sunday for some more most of the uk is -20c iam lucky i guess iam only -7c!!still want snow hunni??lol
    how many days untill BMS??35 is it,nearly here.
    have a great weekend and iam wishful thinking for you that the snow arrive soon
    hugs
    becca and tots
    uk

    • Hi, Becca. It’s got a delayed release in the UK. Are you getting an import? I’ve seen the cover for the UK release. Nice, but I wouldn’t want to run in that shirt she’s wearing. (grin)

  37. Jenn

    Wow, what a sad post Kim; does this mean that you have hit a block?
    As for snow, there are still a couple months left for you to get some!

    So, kind of off topic, I heard of a Cinci story today that I thought Rachel & Ivy might be interested in. There were 2 teen-aged girls that robbed a bank! They still haven’t been caught. Maybe they are witches under a disguise charm? Here’s the link to the news story…
    http://abcnews.go.com/US/girls-12-14-suspected-ohio-bank-robbery/story?id=9502425

    Can’t wait to hear what you think!

    • Antonio Rich

      I’m in the area, Jenn, and yeah, they are VERY young, but the bank included “traceable” money, so they are going to be caught eventually. When I was 12 I would have had a hard time looking an adult in the eye, let alone demanding ALL their $. I wonder if they said “please” and “thank you”..? Kids these days.

    • Jenn

      No kidding…from what I heard, one of them was listening to music & texting while this was going on.

    • Hi, Jenn. Block? Heavens, no! I just got something dropped on my desk with a five-day turn around, and so had to drop everything, and . . . turn around. (grin) Weird story. We’ve had a lot of crime in my area, too. It’s very hard right now, with unemployment locally in the 20% due to the heavy building that had been employing everyone up until recently. No building, no employment.