Yesterday was a “real” day

When the thought first enters your head that you’d like to be a writer, there are alwaya a few preconceived ideas of just what your day will be like.  Writers get to sit in bookstores and sign books. (I spent a few minutes yesterday signing copies a reader had sent me.) And there has to be some time where they actually write.  (Almost a 10 hour day, yesterday, but I kicked my keyboards butt.)  They talk to their agent, (which was a real treat, and more on that later.) They have wonderful breakthroughs where they figure out an issue that has been troubling them, (I had an ah-ha moment which kept me in the office until after seven, but was too interesting to just walk away from.) If they are lucky, they arrange for some PR (I went over the treatment for the film crew that is coming out Thursday to make a short Internet piece.  Terrified, I’m terrified.)  They get good news from their publisher.  (Yep, I did that too.)  And they discuss ways to improve a work in progress with their editors.  (Actually, I’ll do that today as I get the rewrite letter for the third Madison book and chat with my graphic novel publisher both.  And yes, I hope to have some artwork to show you soon.  I got the first pages Friday, and had conniption fits of joy, the payoff for a month-long marathon writing session where I hardly saw Guy at all.)

So, I felt like a real writer yesterday as I juggled more apples than I knew were in the cart when I signed on for this job.  (grin)   Somehow I pulled out a whopping page count despite the joyful interruptions and moved forward with the rough draft I’m working on.  The best part of the day by far was hearing from New York.  (grin)  And it was very good news indeed.

DEAD WITCH WALKING has been picked as Barnes & Noble’s Best Paranormal Novel of the DECADE at their B&N bookclubs.  (huge grin)  Thank you.  Thank you so very much.  It feels indescribably wonderful to know that the effort I put in might not only be enjoyed, but recognized.

It was a very good day.

–Kim

82 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

82 responses to “Yesterday was a “real” day

  1. Anna

    Congratulations, Kim! I’ve been a recently converted fan of yours after picking up Dead Witch Walking by chance at the bookstore, and I was really taken away by your books. The past week, I’ve been devoting hours everyday to finish your goddamn addicting books (seriously, they utterly refuse to let me sleep), and I don’t think I’ll be stopping for a while. I love your characters, and I love how lush the worlds you’ve made are.

    Mmmmmm.

    • Thanks, Anna! (grin) I’d say I’m sorry about the sleepless nights, but you have no idea how many times I will lay in bed, staring at the ceiling wondering how I’m going to get Rachel out of her latest fix.

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying the books. Thank you!

  2. Franciele

    Congratulations! A well deserved win!

  3. Scott S, Clovis CA

    I heartily join with the others in offering my congratulations. Just like drphobus above, you are on my very short “must have day one” list. I have only five book series where I’ve collected all of them to date and will buy the next ones sight unseen (in hardback!). Too many times I got into a series only to have it fizzle or take a drastic change of direction (e.g. Hamilton’s Anita Blake series), so you could say I’m “once burned, twice shy” (heh heh). And, again like drphobus, you and Jim Butcher are my faves. I’ve read the HOLLOWS, DRESDEN & ALERA books at least 3 times now. That kind of staying power only comes from engaging and realistic characters plus good stories and world building — a rare combination. I don’t mean to stroke your ego, but God’s given you a great gift. Thanks for sharing it.

    • Thank you, Scott. -grin- I really appreciate that. I’m always trying to bring something new to my work, and I’m glad there’s improvement. I’d hate to go stale.

  4. Rebecca B

    Yea!!!! Congratulations, Kim! Posted it on my Fb page. I will add that the series has been great from the beginning. Made my day!

  5. Frotee

    Hi Kim,
    that’s wonderful🙂 Congratulations on having your work recognized as what it is: Awesome!
    This morning, I had a girl sitting next to me in the tram reading The Goog, the Bad and the Undead. That was nice🙂 I don’t see that many people reading english books around here, and seeing someone read your work in the original language put a smile on my face🙂 (sleepy as I was)

  6. UK Kate

    Wow Kim! Congratulations! That is great news. I hope you do well kicking your keyboard’s butt today as well. Take care and you’ll be fine with the film crew, I know you will! All the best, UK Kate🙂

  7. drphobus

    Firstly, please let me add more congratulations .I must say both The Hollows and Dresden files, are the only books on my must have day one list.
    On the note above Amazon has cancelled my pre order of Black Magic Sanction hardback, can you let me know if you have any information whether it’s still coming out in the UK.

    • Thank you, Drphobus. Mmmm, I can only guess here, but I’m thinking that it was simply an error to make a UK hardback available on Amazon UK. They just don’t print them in hardcover there. I’m strictly paperback in the UK, and they usually delay the release of that until the US hardcover has been out a couple of months to give my parent publisher a chance to recoup the cost of promotion.

      The only way to get a harcover in the UK would be to drop down to the bottom of the Amazon page and click on the Amazon US link and order an import. The shipping is a killer, though.

      Hope this helps.

  8. Tiffany

    PS – Regarding the film crew, try this video for a pre terrifying event de-stresser (it worked for me last week):
    🙂

  9. Tiffany

    WhoooHooo!! The decade!!! Congratulations Kim! You know we all agree🙂

  10. Nikki Palun

    Wow way to go!! Congratulations on that and what a great feeling it must be🙂

  11. Hawk

    Congrats on the Barnes & Noble’s Best Paranormal Novel of the DECADE at their B&N bookclubs. sounds like you had a full day

  12. Jo

    Congratulations!!! It’s wonderful to see a great writer getting the recognition that you deserve!!! Now to get back to pounding the keyboard and see if I can actually finish the book. Sometimes I think it’ll be a better novel if I just pound the keyboard against my head (hahahaha not really) – frustrated writer here. Nanowrimo did not go as planned, eh – at least it was fun trying.

    • Hi, Jo. Thanks! I’m still very thrilled about it. It kind of lingers. 😉

      Keep up the writing. NaNoWriMo is great for those who have large chunks of time, but there is nothing wrong with writing a page a day for a year and getting the same result! Pacing. It’s all about pacing. And timing. (grin)

  13. Becca K.

    Oh my damn! That’s great! Congrats! It really is an amazing book. All this seems like such a good way to end the year.

    On another note, I’m looking foward to reading your next book and graphic novel.😀

  14. Congratulations. You deserver it, now I’m going to continue writing (and take breaks to pray) to see if one day I can feel half the joy😉

  15. Congrats on the ‘Best Paranormal book of the Decade’! They definitely made a good pick!

  16. A.N.

    Hola Ms. Kim! Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy! Congratulations, you deserve that and more. I’m very happy for you, and keep sharing those little “movies” from your head.
    Ah! I read the short story “With friends Like These” and liked it (the only one I liked from that book). The title is the “punch line” when you read the end, and I like, in a “Pulp fiction” (funny and horrible) kind of way, the “He was eating him” part. The story left me with the feeling of a new adventure with a new character. (grin) Bueno, que te puedo decir…
    Be Happy! A.N.

    • Hola, A.N! And thank you! I’m still bubbling. 😉

      Oooh, you read the Dawn Cook short! (grin) Thank you! I’m so glad you liked it. Short stories are a different kind of writing, and I’m kind of proud of it.

      –Kim

  17. First of all, congrats on Dead Witch Walking being picked as the paranormal novel of the decade! I’m so excited! Wait…why am I excited? Oh yeah! I got to read it!

    Short amusing story. I was walking through BAM a few years ago looking for something good to read while waiting for another book to come out and I saw this book entitled “Dead Witch Walking.” I said, “Man, this title rocks!”

    What really sold me was what Diana Gabaldon said, “Discovering a new series like this is like finding buried treasure.” I thought yeah like finding an old friend.

    So, glad I found the Hollows! Thank you so much for Rachel, Ivy, Jenks and the whole gang:)

    Melissa C.

  18. Kerry

    Congratulations indeed! I for one am truly not surprised by the honor your book has received. I have never become so absorbed in a book or series as I have the Hollows books. I also have much more of an appreciation of the process that you use from reading your blog which has only increased my respect for you as a professional. I also feel very foolish for writng this because it sounds so trite but there it is. Congrats!

  19. Hello Ms. Harrison,
    😀 I’m very excited for you! Congradulations on the B&N pick! I have to say, it’s well deserved. I read a lot and, although I enjoy most books, very few of them blow me out of the water the way Dead Witch Walking did. You changed the whole way I think about fantasy.🙂 Thank you.

    And thank you for yesterday’s comment. I’m glad you had a good day, you certainly made mine.

    Be well!
    Alyss

  20. Congratulations, Kim. Yay!😀 I can’t wait until you get to share the other good news with us.😉

  21. Jeannie

    Congratulations Kim!! Great news for a deserving author!! Take some time and bask in the glory, and please Thank your family from me for being so supportive of a great mind!

  22. srettagliata

    Congratulations! That day was most certainly a dream come true for any writer.😀

  23. And very select few of them keep in touch with their fans. Which we are grateful for.

    Others have asked about what interesting things you have come up with concerning Rachel, but i wonder what this internet thing is. A promo for BMS, or any other of your books? A film crew you get to cast? To play what? I am trying to keep my excitement in check lest i get carried away.

    I am still giddy though.🙂 Hope you have many more productive days. I really want to thank you once again for sharing your life and work with us. You are great!

    • Hi, Ezgi. I like being accessible, and I hope I can continue to be so for a long time yet to come.

      Oh, the film crew is out here getting material for a promotional teaser kind of a thing. Like I told Thing Two yesterday when he asked, “I have to be sparkly, charming, and stuff, and hopefully string two intelligent sentences together.” We’ll be focusing mainly on my office and the statues in Rock Hill that I keep going on about. 😉

  24. That is fantastic news! You must be over the moon. I’m excited because it is one of my favorite books. I can’t imagine how you must feel.

  25. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Sounds like you had a day full of Kodak moments. What a way to start off the week. I am so very happy for you! Congrats on your BnN reward! We all know you deserve it

    Some one mentioned Kindles so i have to toss in my two cents. I’d like to see all of your Hallows books in a Kindle bundle like several others have been done. I know you have no say in any of that. It’s just wishful thinking on my part.

    Thursday sounds interesting too. How long before we get to see this video? I hope the “kids” get a cameo!

    V^^^^V

    • Hi, Vampy. It was a busy day, yes. Wow.

      You’re right that I have no say in the Kindle. My publisher doesn’t have all the say, either. I found out a few months ago that Kindle sets the price, not the publisher, which was why the Kindle was more expensive than the real book for a time. (scratches head)

      Not sure when the video will be available. They are going to take a lot, then use it piecemeal, I think.

  26. Claire

    Congrats to you!

    I was in Florida for 7 weeks at a family member’s house that didn’t have a computer, so I’m so behind on all of this. I saw the BMS Tour shirts and I’m sooooooo excited that you’re in Michigan (yes, even though it will be February) so much. I’m definitely gonna have to try to make it to Ann Arbor or Grand Rapids! I’ll just slog through the slush to get there!

    I’m glad you had such a good day and I wish you many more!

  27. mudepoz

    Oh those of you who have Facebook or Myspace accounts. I was just reminded by looking at my page, that there is a lovely widget for WWBC. It’s cute🙂 Everyone needs a WWBC widget!

    Now to find one for Dead Fish.

  28. Stephenie

    That is totally awesome! I definitley agree best of the decade!

    Ah… if only I could afford to be a full time writer. But I have school, and I need a job, and an agent… *sigh*

  29. Lisa L

    wooo hooo … congrats on the list (still need to go pop over to Vicki’s forum and pass on the congrats there … after work)… sounds like you had a really amazing day yesterday.

    and random, (a little) I received an ARC for Black Magic Sanction and was completely blown away again … also, you made me cry again … this is like the 3rd or 4th book of yours that I’ve cried through. I will send a more detailed email to the marketing director that sent the ARC to us at my book store, but I just wanted to let you know how amazing I thought the story was. Phenomenal. Spectacular. Incredible. and I LOVE Trent. *nods*

    Thank you for working so hard to give us such great stories. Getting on B&N’s list was well deserved.

    • mudepoz

      Lisa. Um. To quote one of my dogs to another when they try to steal dinner…GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

    • Oh! Oh! Oh! You’re the first to tell me she’s read it! (happy smile) I didn’t mean to make you cry, but yeah. There it is. Happy stuff, too, I hope, to balance it out.

      Thank you, Lisa.

    • Lisa L

      well, I read it in about 3 days and stayed up way too late all three days to finish, despite several people telling me to go to bed earlier. and it really was amazing. and I have to say, I adore you for your ability to learn and grow as a writer and not become stagnant in your writing. it happens way too often with some promising authors.

      I’d say some stuff about the actual story, but I always worry about giving away, so I’ll just say that that thing in that room made me snicker way too much. *snickers* LOVE Trent. I want one. unfortunately, I’m pretty sure that’s not possible.

      I am gonna try to get to the Cincy signing this year, since it happens to fall on my B-day.

    • Thanks for no spoilers, Lisa. 😉 I wouldn’t mind a little Trent, either. sigh

      Hope to see you in Cincy! That would be fantastic!

  30. RebiNkc

    Oh that is just awesome! I got chills. Congrats Kim!

  31. Phil

    I literally knew I’d found a wonderful, exciting and imaginative new work by a remarkale talent the moment I began reading DWW back when😀 and I’m so thrilled that you’re being recognized as such!

    And how you do all that you do is amazing! Juggling the Hollows, Madison, the graphic, the tours, etc., and being as accessible to us as you are, well, AMAZING, INCREDIBLE, and I have to say, Thank You for all that!🙂

  32. Heather C

    Awesome Kim!!! That rocks!!! Congrats!!! An award that you definitely deserve…can’t wait for the next and the graphic novel.~Indy

  33. Annika

    That sounds like such a wonderful day, with such wonderful news. Thank you for all you’ve done, and all you keep on doing!!! I cannot think of an author whose book deserves the novel of the decade more than you and your book(s)!

  34. Jen Goldschrafe

    I can not think of a more deserving author! Congrats on your awesome day!! I am thrilled for you!

  35. Antonio Rich

    I guess your skills in apple juggling come in handy in reconciling the “Queen of Colored Paper Clips” and the “Queen of Delayed Gratification.” You’ve got to work your job or you won’t get to play in your sandbox.

    Terrified? Don’t be terrified. If it helps, try to imagine all of us in our underwear sitting in front of a computor screen watching you talk. I’ll be wearing my Homer Simpson boxer shorts…

    Be good…(Cold! here in Dayton!)

    • Antonio Rich

      PS I haven’t read Mr. Curtis’s blog in awhile. I forgot how much i like it. I notice he had a piece on literary agent Nat Sobel, who i got to meet 20 years ago at a literary conference. He got into a debate with a young Orson Scott Card about the later’s assertion that most writer’s were more concerned about “style” rather than “story.” Orson made the mistake of using some of Mr. Sobel’s clients as examples. SO much fun.

    • I might also add Queen of the garden and Queen of the kitchen. (laugh)

      I’m hoping that tomorrow goes well. I’m already planning my carrots. A nice dinner out when it’s all over, maybe.

  36. Marsha

    Yah! I’m very excited for you and I agree with the selection completely. We always knew how great it is : )

  37. mudepoz

    That is so exciting. Except, I take umbrage that the NEXT SENTENCE LEAVES OUT RACHEL!!!

    And it is HER character that is maturing, and your work taking her to stronger development. *Shakes Head*.

    So, will this go to your head? We are now talking to a superstar who out classed some pretty heavy competition. How utterly cool is that? And Vicki Petterson made it as well. Congrats on helping to define a relatively new genre, as well as being as gracious to your reading public as you are. You are even mentioned in another novelists blurb🙂
    🙂 Such a fan,er, woman🙂

    • mudepoz

      Er. Is your agent discussing the Kindle editions? If so…(please, NO tomato throwing) bravo.

    • Hi, Mud. (grin) I am really excited about it, yes, and no, it won’t go to my head. Fame is fleeting because it’s not real. It vanishes like a curl of smoke from a candle–just as it’s supposed to. I am absolutely honored and thrilled, but at the end of the day, it’s my nice warm bed that makes me happy. (bigger grin)

  38. Alicia

    That’s awesome news!! thank YOU for writing Rachel’s story for all of us to enjoy!!