BookRack Signing was wonderful!

Faith Hunter, Kim Harrison, Ms. T.

I have to thank everyone who came out to see Faith Hunter and me on Saturday to help us rock in the holiday season.  I was totally overwhelmed at the number of people who came, and the lengths as which some of you traveled!  I am absolutely honored, and it was a delight to give away some of the BLACK MAGIC SANCTION freebies, not to mention meet a few of the people who are regular posters here!  Thank you for coming out to see me! 

Today should be a fun day writing, which is why I posted late Sunday night instead of Monday morning.  I can’t _wait_ to get to it!  Rachel wakes up after doing something dangerous, but necessary, and she finds a big surprise!  Whoo-hoo!  Not meant to be a teaser, but I’m having so much fun with this one! 

–Kim

34 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

34 responses to “BookRack Signing was wonderful!

  1. Becca

    Kim, you look fantastic. I think you should come up to Madison, WI when you release your next Madison book. Wouldn’t that be a hoot? Or am I cheesy? Although you might want to plan that for the spring, we are getting a blizzard tomorrow.

    In all seriousness, I love your work. My 16-year old cocker died last June. Once Dead Twice Shy got me through a horrible day. Thank you so much for all you do for us.

    – Becca

    • Thanks, Becca. I’ve had a chance to get some exercise in lately, and that makes such a big difference in how I feel/look. Madison, WI . . . Mmm, in February? It’s enough to make my blood curdle. (grin) sorry, bad pun, but you started it.

      Oh, shoot, I’m so sorry about your cocker. That is a long time to be with a companion like that. I would be devastated. That my work gave you a healthy escape and way to accept is an honor. Thank you.

      –Kim

  2. Jeannie

    Kim,
    Glad you had a good book signing, wish I could have made it but a little far still- I think Cincy is closer, not sure yet. Love the teasers, uuhhh I think…Can’t wait til Feb, let alone two and three years form now. I received my key and seeds, Thank you, the seeds were a surprise. Thanks Guy!! Enjoy your week, today is decorating day, love it after its done but hate the mess of doing.

    • Hi, Jeannie.

      Oh, Cincy or Dayton are usually great signings! I sparkle when I’m in Cincy. (grin)

      Yay! I’m glad you got your freebies! Aren’t they fun?

      –Kim

  3. Linda (germany)

    Ah Jeez. It’s a pitty i couldn’t come to see you.

    Rachel Rachel. Haha. Sure you have fun. She’s a funny person.😉

  4. I’m so glad you had fun! I wish I could’ve gone, but SC is a bit far from the west coast for me. It’s been raining here since very early this morning- the first rain SoCal has seen in a VERY long time! A great way to kick off finals week if I do say so myself🙂 I’ll be checking in every morning if I can but I won’t be posting so I can keep my attention focused on my exams.

    I hope you have a great week, and I hope whatever it is Rachel did won’t come around to bite her in the ass (Wishful thinking? lol).

    • Frederique

      You aren’t kidding about the rain lol my entire street is flooded! You are lucky your finals are this week, I have to wait till after next week to get my life back!

      P.S. Kim that makes 2 of us in SoCal waiting to see you hehehe!

    • Fingers crossed, Frederique!

    • OMGosh, Candace. That would be scary if you flew from the WC to come to a signing. Congrats on the rain! I know how wonderful that feels after a dry spell.
      –Kim

  5. suzannelazear

    Dangerous but necessary…sounds fun.

    I surpriced the tot’s conference and not one mention of her imaginary friend Bobo (the Vampire Giraffe) or how she’s going to be a Vampire Mermaid Doctor when she grows up….whew…I’m not sure her teachers would…appriciate…her imagination…

    Sounds like you had a fab weekend. Happy Monday.

    ~Suzi and the tot

  6. Phil

    Hi Kim, i actually let my NC rels know about the signing but they were on the way to the airport for a weekend of Christmas shopping in NYC. They do know about the Hollows and Madison! Their daughter, Ashley, read ODTS and loved it…🙂

    Now, ’bout that teaser you say isn’t a teaser, lol, you’ve got me on the edge of my seat with that one!!😀

    • Hi, Phil. Ahhh, Christmas shopping in NY! I do all my holiday shopping by catalog. I can’t find much around here, but we do have a very good kitchen shop. Sorry about the “teaser.”

      –Kim

  7. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    I am so happy you had a good turn out. You know it was a pre-view of what Charlotte will be like. That trip is always the high light of my year. I’m really looking forward to it.

    V^^^^V

  8. mudepoz

    EBIL EBIL WOMAN! How many times are you going to say you don’t MEAN to throw in a cliffie…and then you do.

    I’m thrilled you got such an excellent turnout. You always seem surprised at both the amount and the dedication of your fan base.

    BTW, how did WWBC do on the Best Seller list with the PB release? I haven’t had a chance to steal the Tall Dude’s NY Times…

    • mudepoz

      *Sotto Voce* Oh, BTW. Don’t stop with the teasers😉

    • Hi, Mud. I’ve played for some very thin crowds before, and much depends upon the promotion aspect the store provides, so yes, I’m always gratified when someone shows up. (laugh)

      WWBC did great on the lists, thank you! It came in at a very respectable 19 on the printed list, which is right about where ODW came in last year. A lot of people spring for the hardcover now, so my days of paperbacks in the low numbers are gone, I think. (grin) There were eleven new books on the list that I was competting with. It was a hard list. Lots of big names this time of year.

      –Kim

  9. UK Kate

    Hiya Kim, Sounds like you had a good one at the signing.😀 I will have to get out there for one of them some time. Although, Ben and I are saving at the moment to hopefully go on holiday to Washington DC and Jamestown next May/June. If you’re doing any signings around there at that time I’ll pop in!😉 It’s a research trip and holiday rolled into one! Well, I have to get back to the day job😡 Take care and all the best to the Harrison household. UK Kate🙂

    • I had a great day at the signing, thanks. Mmmm, I have a YA tour scheduled for May/June. (where you can bring your Hollows books, too.)Keep checking the website. I don’t have much info yet.

      –Kim

  10. Marsha

    Looks like it was fun. Did it snow on you guys, we had some down here. I don’t think Cincinnati is closer, I’ll look. Maybe I’ll make it one day, hopefully before I’m on a walker! Enjoy your week.

  11. Hey there!

    It sounds as if you’re weekend recharged you! Excellent! And thank you for the pics, I’m glad that the book signing was fun and a success!

    About the teaser… *Alyss’s eyes widens as she tries to turn a page on the blog that might just hide more…* no no no! How are we going to wait?! Hang on, i know how i’m going to wait… Read WWBC, lol.🙂

    I had a good weekend though I’m physically exhausted and really sunburned. My horse did the 5 miles like a champ. (Training for endurance. 5 down, only 15 more to go!). I’m so proud of him. Here’s an old pic for interest.

    • Hi, Alyssa. My weekends usually recharge me, but the charge runs out about Thursday morning. (grin) And then it’s push on regardless until Friday.

      Congrats on the five miles! And what a wonderful story of how you found him. Don’t stop writing, Alyssa. You have talent.

      –Kim

    • mudepoz

      Alyssa that was gorgeous!

  12. I’m glad I’m not the only lunatic that considered travelling a long distance to meet a favorite author, and I think the only thing that stopped me was picking up a shift at work. I’m still the designated elf at my store😉 and I’m (surprisingly) really digging it. Nothing better than talking to people all day about our favorite music and movies.

    White Witch, Black Curse was ah-mazing by the way. Do you think Marshall will ever come back? Not as a boyfriend, but just to be an active player in the plot… possibly? His date with Rachel in ODW is on my “top five” list of favorite moments in the series. Then again, in my head he looks an awful lot like Andy Whitfield and I think that helps.

    That little sample of Black Magic Sanction was very unfair! Talk about a cliff-hanger. I already have a couple theories, but I’ll keep them to myself.🙂 It left me eager for the next installment.

    • OMGosh, Becka. Work always comes first! You can talk to me here any day.

      I’m so glad you liked WWBC! Thanks! Will Marshall come back? I’ve not written him off yet, so maybe.

      –Kim

  13. Lurker

    Such a tease! Looks like it was a success, yay!
    Now, about that San Diego visit….🙂

    “…Rachel wakes up after doing something dangerous, but necessary, and she finds a big surprise!”

    As I’ve said before, I hope Rachel starts getting some real wins. She is losing the war. I like her too mucho to be losing this badly😦

  14. Jason

    I’m so jealous of everyone who got to go. I only discovered the Rachel Morgan series a few months ago and just finished reading White Witch, Black Curse a couple days ago. I can’t wait until I get to read your new one!

  15. Awesome! It was so much fun. You rock!😀 I was so amped, I didn’t know what to say, but I had to let other folks get their books signed, so I had to get out of the way.😀

    I had enough fun for everyone who didn’t make it. ;-D