Putting in for a day off next month

That’s what I’m doing today, and I hope I get it because the boss here is a fruitcake and stickler for making deadlines.  She’s so freaking organized and driven to make some deadline 14 months from now that she’s making me work the day after Thanksgiving.  But I suppose she’s right.  If I had today off, I’d simply waste it by NOT going to the mall, and the deadline she’s working on isn’t the only one she has in the next 14 months.   I’d much rather have a day off next month when I can go visit with family.  (grin)  And why am I speaking of myself in this way?  Must be too many cranberries. 

Wow–I ate too much, baked too much, and enjoyed having both my boys and Guy with me.  All.  Day.  Long. 😉

So enjoy your shopping.  Bring the retailers into the black.  Think about the people you love as you shop for them.  And smile!  It’s contagious.  I’ll be writing Rachel sitting in Junior’s with an unexpected guest having a grand latte, double espresso, Italian blend, made with whole milk, heavy on the cinnamon, light on the froth . . . and a shot of raspberry in it.

Word count?  39,300.  Going to be close.  Really close.

53 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

53 responses to “Putting in for a day off next month

  1. SlushiiLove

    Thanks Kim! No worries, I’ve decided to make my writing a homework assignment and write for at least two hours each day. By the way, you don’t have any idea how excited I got when you actually replied.🙂

    Just a few questions I have:
    How many hours a day do you write?
    How old were you when you became interested in writing?
    Are you ever going to have a signing in North Jersey/New York?

    Sorry, I have many more questions that I can’t think of right now and I’m sure you’re very busy😛

    -Heather Koch

    • Hi, Heather.

      Two hours a day is plenty!

      I work 6-10 hours a day, (mostly 10) but this is my JOB! And I love it. I started writing about 13 years ago, so I was about . . . thirty, almost? But I read a lot when I was growing up.

      I don’t know about a signing in Jersey or New York. I don’t have much say in it, to tell you the truth.

      –Kim

  2. Hey there Ms. Harrison! 🙂
    Busy weekend for you it seems! I hope that it was a good one.🙂 I admire your self discipline to sit down and work when you should. I don’t always!😀 And I certainly didn’t this weekend. I took some time off, spend some much needed hours on my horse (who refused to allow me to catch him cause I haven’t seen him all week) and with my partner who was terribly patient with me throughout the NaNoWriMo stint. No baking for me, I have a couple of pounds that need to be shed (going to start marathons of a different kind to NaNoWriMo in December…) and it’s time to put my foot down…

    NaNoWriMo status: I’m still writing, and will be logging my words until tonight at 12, my time. I want to boost my country’s word count score. So, I’m on: 56723

    • Hi, Alissa. Thanks! It was a good one. I hope yours was the same. I hear you on the pounds. It’s not hard to do when you sit all day and write. (grin)

      That’s wonderful that your partner was patient with you. If your significant person isn’t supportive, it is a hundred times harder to make this writing thing work.

      –Kim

  3. Oh my! I feel so left out and out of the loop, nobody’s fault but mine though, so I’m not too mad. I decided to stay away from my favorite author’s site (every author’s really) and focus on my own writing for a chance. Now, I’m back and ready to catch up.

    Believe or not, I was strong enough to keep myself from reading White Witch, Black Curse all this time. I wanted to save it to enjoy it as my reward for finishing my first novel length manuscript. Things slowed down quite a bit because I had a car accident and my grandma passed away. I’ve made a 70,000 dent on the draft, so I think I might finish before January 28 (back to school for a second degree on creative writing).

    I am going to cheat a bit to celebrate the release of WWBC on paperback. Okay, I’ve cheated a few times already, but just with a chapter ;( Don’t judge me so harshly, addiction is huge problem.

    Kim, you are one of the people who inspired me to write. This will sound very dumb, but I’ll say it anyway, every time I see your work I feel a bit of pride and smile. I’m working on my short stories as you suggested (on NY ComicCon) and things are going better than I thought they would.

    • Hi, Magaly! Good to hear from you! 🙂 That is wonderful news about your writing. Looks like you’re making real progress. I hear you on real life taking the wind from your sails, and that’s good that you found a way to get back to it. Writing for me has always been a way to work things out in my mind.

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying your read so far! Have fun! That my wrok has inspired you is an honor. Thank you.
      –Kim

  4. Your Newest Fan, Heather

    You’ve written so many books, you definitely deserve a day off. I am an aspiring writer and have already started my first book. (I’m on chapter 10😛
    )
    I was dragged to the mall yesterday by my mother and my sister. I don’t really like the stores that they go to, so I ditched them and went to Borders to find a good read. Once Dead, Twice Shy popped out at me and I sat there reading it until my mom called me and told me it was time to go. I’m only on page 47, but I am absolutely hooked. I didn’t have any money to buy the book, but I hope I can manage to wait until Christmas. LOVE YOUR WRITING SO FAR🙂

    Your Newest Fan, Heather

    • Hi, Heather.

      That’s wonderful that you’re writing! Congratulations! I hope it sticks with you. For me, there is not much better than a good day’s writing.

      I’m so glad you are enjoying ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY. I’m working on the freebies for the next book, EARLY TO DEATH, EARLY TO RISE right now. (grin)

      –Kim

    • SlushiiLove

      I changed my name by the way, I’m still the same girl and I am NOT someone who has multiple personalities🙂
      Yerp, I just started writing last August😀
      I started at 15 and I’m only 16 now. I think you’re one of the only authors I like that responds🙂

      It’s a marvelous book so far, I know how great it is to hear that someone loves your writing. Cool website by the way, I dig the set-up. I can’t wait to read all of your books! I’m absolutely stoked!!

      -Your Newest Fan, Heather

    • Thanks, Heather! You keep up the writing, okay?

  5. Your boss sounds like mine. She insists I write rather than hanging with friends or vegging all afternoon with a book. Every now and then I slip off her leash and play. And the books get done. I love chaffing authority figures, even when they happen to be me.

    Lord, that sounds schizophrenic.

  6. I know how you feel about days off i can be the same and when i do have them i look for things to do, there is just no winning either way.
    After reading a friends blog on myspace i think i’m glad we dont have black friday though i would say think about the poor people actually working to serve you all.

    btw nano completed at 50,140 words but story not finished yet YAY

    Hope you had a good weekend, i’m now having a day off🙂

    Rachel – UK@}~

    • That’s great, Rachel, for beating out NaNoWriMo! Congratulations! I don’t think I’ll hit it by Monday. Tuesday, maybe. 🙂

      I hope you had a great weekend!

      –Kim

  7. Hi there! –I’m the editor for Vampires.com, and a HUGE fan of yours. I’ve read all the Hollows books, and am, of course, dying for the next one. I was wondering if we could possibly get you for a quick email interview? It would mean a lot for our readers, –and me, since I absolutely love you and Rachel, lol. I also want to spread the word about your great series, so even if you don’t have time for the interview, I’d also like to give you the heads up, that we’ll be reviewing the series soon. Thanks for all the great reading, and I hope to hear back from you. Drop me a line at the email I’ve provided if you’re interested.

    Thanks!

    • Hi, Ashley. Thank you! I’m really glad that you’re enjoying the books so much. I am not doing many email interviews anymore since I am so accessable here at my blog, but if you’d like to contact my publicity person at Harper, perhaps something can be arranged.

      I can always be reached at my business email which is posted on the front page of my website down in the site map area.

      –Kim

  8. Jeannie

    Kim,
    Glad you and yours had a good holiday. Ours was nice. I see a Congrats on the nominations for cover art from Urban Fantasy are in order- Congrats to your artist as well. Picked up the mmpb and read the teaser for BMS, all I can say is, can’t wait. I also took your advise and finally read Jocelynn Drake’s three, liked them. Thanks. My cocker Lilly wasn’t feeling well the day before Thanksgiving and I got worried with all the canine sickness questions/concerns-so I got her into vet and she had an ear infection. Has had one before but only in the left ear, she is on drops now and feeling better. Enjoy your weekend!!

    • Hi, Jeannie. Thanks! I can’t wait to see how the contest turns out. I just love my covers.

      That’s wonderful that you took a chance on Jocelynn’s work! I’m always impressed.

      Oooh, sorry to hear Lilly is having problems. That’s great you got her in so quickly before her ear was dammaged. I hope you had a great weekend! Mine was fab! –Kim

  9. Stephenie

    Oooh! And I thought 10 wasn’t going to have demons! Now I’m excited. I like it when the demons are being less… demony… lol.

    Glad everyone had a great thanksgiving! I always like Black Friday better than Thanksgiving, even though I don’t shop. Maybe it’s because it involves two of my favorite words. Black and Friday.

    • Hi, Stephenie. Ten won’t have a lot of demons, but nine will. (yummy) I didn’t get into the shops until Saturday, and it was dead! I got about 40% of my shopping done. Guy is hard to buy for. –Kim

  10. The thing about demons with very specific latte preferences is that it’s hard for them to go unrecognised… the more conversations with latte-drinking demons the better, as far as I’m concerned!

    • Very true, Alisa. I’m still trying to figure out why Robbie likes his coffee like that. I think it’s linked to the Rosewood Syndrome. Must be an amino acid deficiency or something. (grin) –Kim

  11. SeattleRobin

    Congrats to Suzanne and Alyssa for winning Nano! I’ve still got 3200 words to go, so will be going down to the wire it looks like.

    Glad everyone had a great Thanksgiving. Ours was super. Though the drawback to going to a restaurant is not having leftover turkey for sandwiches.

    Kim, I’m kinda curious about what reading is like for you as an author. Normally I read 10+ books a month. I’ve barely managed to get through 6 during NaNo. I keep getting distracted while reading, thinking about my own story instead of what I’m reading about. I’ve often read in interviews or on blogs that authors don’t get to read much and I always thought it was a time thing. But maybe it’s a distraction thing?

    One of the books did a lot of head-hopping between the two main character POV’s and instead of just going with it I kept thinking, but I read you’re only supposed to change POV at chapters when I was learning this month! I’d hate to think that writing kills a lot of the enjoyment in reading.

    • That’s a great question, Robin. And I’ve found that there are both ups and downs now when I go and read. I marvel when it’s done well, and respect those authors who surprise and delight me, but when it’s done poorly, or slapped together with tired plotlines and cardboard characters, then I have a hard time getting into them. POV jumping really bugs me unless it is done really well. People who copy other people’s work is especially annoying. But when it shines, it shines. I only read about four books a year now, which isn’t bad. When I was in my teens, I’d read about one a week during school, and five a week during summer break.

  12. suzannelazear

    Sounds like you had a great turkey day. The tot and I made four pies (two pecan, two pumpkin) and pumpkin walnut dried cherry chocolate chip cookies. We had a fab day (and two thanksgivings to go to).

    I hit the 50k mark today (for nano, the actual ms is a wee but longer), but haven’t typed “the end” yet. Sigh. But the end is in sight. I might get it done by Sunday night after all….

    Have a great weekend.

    ~Suzanne and the tot

    • Hi, Suzanne.

      Wow, you baked more than me, I think. 🙂 Sounds delish!

      Congrats on hitting the NaNoWriMo goal! That is wonderful! I don’t think I’m going to make it. Tuesday, maybe. I’m not giving up my weekend to do it. I hope you had a great one!

      –Kim

  13. Congratulations! You’ve been nominated in the 1st Annual Urban Fantasy Cover Art Awards hosted by All Things Urban Fantasy:

    White Witch, Black Curse was nominated for Best Female Only Cover
    Black Magic Sanction was nominated for Most Anticipated Cover for 2010

    Please email me if you’d like more info.
    Abigail

  14. Phil

    Stand in front of the mirror and give that boss of yours a good piece of your mind, Kim!😉 Oh, and then you can go back to work with a sense of satisfaction that you’re working because you want to and not because she wants you to (ha!).

    Sounds like you had a really nice family Thanksgiving! Ours went very well, too. Everyone behaved, lol, and the post-holiday leftovers are going fast.

  15. Marsha

    I’m so glad you were able to enjoy the day with your family, that is what’s really important not the pig out. I’m now trying to figure out how to eat the leftovers without gaining a ton of weight. I know for sure that the carcass is going into a pot for my favorite, soup. since I’m off I may take a cue from you and try to make bread. Do you use a Kitchen Aide or do everything by hand…although I’m sure I already know the answer to that!

    • Gothar

      I made some bread this morning. I’ve attempted 10 loaves of bread in the breadmaker so far with varying degrees of success. I actually went back to making bread by hand can bang out 2 loaves in the same time as 1 in the machine. Still sucks up the same amount of time. The by hand loaves are thinner crust and perfect for sandwich bread.

    • Marsha

      Thanks for the info Gothar. I am a bit afraid of making bread. The last time I worked with a yeast dough it was to make calzones and they came out a bit tough. I am off on a long weekend though and now is a perfect time to try.

    • Hi, Marsha. I got on the scale this morning and cringed, but it read the same as all last week, so I guess I did okay. It sure felt like I ate too much! Soup sounds good.

      I have a bread machine, which I use mostly now just to stir it up, then let it rise in my over set for 90 degrees F. I’m kind of lazy like that. 😉

  16. lemonade

    Happy Belated Thanksgiving! Sorry you have to work today, but hoping you will enjoy next month more. You only get ONE DAY OFF at Christmas or Yule or whatever you celebrate? 😦 I wish you had more. At least you love writing, so maybe it’s not as horrible as say, sewer work.

    Have a lovely day, and may you have a huge spurt of inspiration and get three times as many pages done so you can have a break when you need it. 😀

    • OMGosh, Lemonade! I didn’t realize how that sounded when I wrote it. I’m taking about a week off for the December holidays, but now I’ll take an extra day off because I worked today. 😉

  17. Rebecca B.

    Ah, hope that good-looking demon is doing well–as long as it’s not at our favorite witch’s expense. Glad to hear your Thanksgiving went well. Our big get together is tomorrow. I’ve got a big deadline on the 15th, but it’s for an academic essay pitch, so it’s more of a think-like-the-wind situation before I write like the wind for a few more days. Hope your muse keeps singing!

  18. mudepoz

    I am so impressed. Even with 8 hours in, I manage to get 2500 words done. And count myself lucky.

    Tall Dude is actually thinking about Alcatraz. Hit Marin Headlands yesterday. Gorgeous, but their seagulls are about 2x the size of ours. Scary.

    http://www.sfpalace.com/History I love Victorian era things. Add Art Deco, and I am in heaven.

    So is Rachel’s and Trent’s road trip here? I know, I know, wait to read, but YOU have the Alcatraz Key. Am I the only weirdo to plan a vacation around a book that hasn’t been released yet?

    Wait, planned vacation BEFORE key.

    • Gothar

      Am I the only one that didn’t make that “key” connection with a road trip to San Fan? And I made a bad pun as well.

    • Hi, Mud. 2500 words in 8 hours is pretty good! How’s your clam story going? (grin)

      Hey, I vacation around books that haven’t been written!

    • mudepoz

      Verra nice change of subject. Impressive. *Bows to the master*

    • mudepoz

      Hehe. The French Canadian had some trouble getting the happy clam to open up, but now she can’t get her to clam up. I think they took off with her and are at 75K words. Of course, I don’t most of those words are in English.

      French speaking clams are luscious I understand. Of course, no one has quite figured out where the bodice goes on a clam.

      Hope your weekend was as wonderful as ours is. I LOVE meeting new people, old friends, and who knew how many Wisconsinites I’d run into out here. Gardeners. Go figure.

  19. Kylie Ru

    I panic when I have a deadline the next week . . . Of course, with my laid-back personality, that 14-monther would turn into a next-weeker.

    Oh, you reminded me of a question, Kim-san! Soooo, what’s up with the latte?

    • Hi, Kylie. I panic when I have 14 month deadlines, because I usually have 14 months of work to fill it with. (laugh)

      Mmm, the latte? You know I love my tea! So Rachel gets one today. 😉

  20. Before I started blogging I never realized how much work goes into book publication. I guess I never thought about it. Once I did several author interviews, I was shocked to learn how long the process actually takes. One may think being an author is a great job you can do in your pajamas, but you guys/girls have to be really modivated and self-disciplined to pull off writing that many words in an interesting format.
    Props to you, and you deserve a day off, probably more actually.

    • Thanks, Elie! And you’re right. I’ve gotten the feeling that a lot of people think that we can write as fast as we can read, and the truth is sadly far from that. (big smile) But we get to love what we do, so it evens out.

  21. What a slave driver! Glad to hear you had a good day. Yesterday was like magic. Our family got to spend the entire day together…and everyone behaved. WoW! Unheard of! Maybe the turkey was spiked.

  22. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Happy day after! I’m sorry you have such a tough boss but you know deep down she is a wonderful person that really cares about you , your work and your readers.

    Just a reminder to everyone that many places are taking pre-orders for Black Magic Sanction. Show Kim your love by pre-ordering now. (no I don’t get paid for that) 🙂 I can’t wait to read it. Man this year was a fast one!

    V^^^^V