Happy Thanksgiving!

I will be taking a break from the Drama Box tomorrow, so happy Thanksgiving to those of you who celebrate.  I plan on enjoying some time in the kitchen starving myself so I can then stuff myself on chicken, stuffing, potatoes and gravy, green bean casserole, and pie.  Not sure what kind of pie.  Maybe I’ll make pretzels instead.  (laugh)  Or Guy’s favorite volcano cookies . . .  Mmmm.  This has possibilities.

I won’t be taking part in Friday’s shopping, but I’ll probably get out Saturday or Sunday.  However . . . if you are going out, stop in at the bookstore for your calendar and check out the mass market for WHITE WITCH, BLACK CURSE.  It hit the shelves yesterday in a big way.  (grin)  My aunt and uncle down in Florida made a special trip in to town for it, and I’m sooo glad it was on the shelf for them.  Not only on the shelf, but on a display at the front of the store.   Whoo-hoo!  If you’ve been waiting for the mass market, you can get a sneak peak at it before you pick one up.  Harper has made the first seven chapters (I think) available on line.  Check it out! Read the first few chapters.

Anyway, knowing I’d be taking tomorrow off, I put in some long hours yesterday and pulled in 19 pages, which is a little more than I am comfortable doing in one day.  (ten pages of dialog for those who are interested)  It was fun, though, and I got wrapped up in the drama.  Rachel got depressed, which is unusual for her and I had to follow this thought as  I wanted to know why.   So I went with it, and dug a little deeper.  Stuff came out of my dialog, much less my original one-page chapter synopsis, that I didn’t expect, and I loved it.  It had been building for about two books, and finally came to a head.  Timing is everything.

Did I expect it?  Yes and no.  You can ‘t plan for stuff like that, but if you’re listening to your inner writer, you probably know when something is coming.  Let it simmer in the background, and when things fall into place, shove your outline aside and tackle it.  In this case, it worked beautifully, dovetailing into the next chapter like it was, er, meant to be.  Rachel doesn’t stay depressed very long.  Once she figures out why she’s unhappy, she says to heck with it, gets mad, and takes action.  Atta girl, Rachel.

Today I’ll take it a little slower, but the chapter I’m working on is going to be fun–a short cat-and-mouse transitional chapter.  ;-)  For you NaNoWriMos out there, I’m at 35,400, and about 115 pages.  I really doubt I can write 14600 words in three days.  (laugh)  My average is 3-4 thousand.  But it’s going to be close.  Now.  If only I was done.  I’ve got 100,000 more words to go . . .

59 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

59 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. bubbasmom

    Volcano cookies??? Are you going to share the recipe??? They sound very close to a death-by-chocolate kind of thing, which is always welcome:^)

  2. I was finally able to pick up my copy today after work…. it was also out on a display at my local bookstore. I’m excited to see what happens next. About to get comfy and start reading! Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving!

  3. Hi, John. That is wonderful! Congratulations! You have just beat out 90 percent of your competition. Unfortunately, your still up against some hellacious numbers, and if you’re determined to start submitting, go for the agents. The publisher who takes unagented work is becoming rare.

    You are on the right path with the editing. It would be my suggestion to have a couple of people read it first before you send it off. Try to have someone look at it who won’t say “I like it,” but say “It was slow here. I didn’t understand why he did this at this point, and the dialog bogged down here, can you shorten it without losing anything.”

    I know you want to package it up and ship it out, but there are very few authors out there who submit their work and have it accepted without changes–meaning even the professionals don’t produce perfect work in the first manuscript of any story. You only get one shot at showing this manuscript to an agent or editor. Take the _time_ to make it your best by slowing down and rewriting it from front to back with a second person’s opinion guiding you. And while your readers are reading, plot out the next book.

    A new author’s first manuscript in the sf/fantasy genres is usually about 120,000 words, and if you have an outline for the sequel, (if not the first draft) it is in your favor. (I broke into print with book one and two done, and a synopsis for book three. )

    Good luck John. I don’t think this is what you wanted to hear, but this is a slow business.

    • John B

      Thanks Kim.

      I’ve actually had 4.5 (don’t ask) people read it so far and I’ve taken the “I like it”‘s with a grain of salt. And quite a number of suggestions have been incorporated. So I really think I close to being ready to submit it – I’ve written, re-written, edited, and re-edited every chapter 2 or 3 times and I still plan on going through it front to back at least two more times. Even after I send it out, I will probably continue so that after I get the first batch of rejections🙂, it will be better for the next set of submissions.

      I’ve heard the 120k words estimate before. I am at about 145,000 words. Will agents or publishers have a problem with that being too long? Also, I don’t have an outline for the sequel yet, but it is all rolling around in my head. Should I submit the outline with the first book or wait for someone to ask? Should I even mention in the submissions that there is going to be a sequel?

      I know these are a lot of questions, but I really appreciate you taking the time to answer them.

      Thanks,
      John

    • Hi, John.

      If you ask three people, you’ll get three answers, but if it was me, I’d try to trim down to 120,000 words before they ask. (grin) And I’d mention in the cover letter that I’ve outlined or planned a sequel.

      That’s wonderful that you’ve already rewritten it! You are on your way! It might be time to find your agent.

      –Kim

  4. John B

    Hi Kim. I wrote to you several months ago and you told me that as a new author I had to have my manuscript completely finished before trying to get it published. Well, amazingly, that day has just about arrived. I am finishing up principle writing now with some editing/revising to follow and hope to be writing query letters in the next couple of weeks. My question is, do you have any advice/recommendations about what comes next? Should I try to get a literary agent or submit directly to publishers? Are there any absolute no-nos I should be wary of (e.g. an author’s first book should never be more than n words)? Thanks in advance for the advice. I can’t wait for the next Hollows book.
    Thanks, John.

  5. Judi in NJ

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, “Guy”, Thing 1, and Thing 2!! Enjoy the day!!!
    I LOVE Thanksgiving…cooking, the Macy’s parade (I bawl my eyes out EVERY year….LOVE those Rockettes and still scream at the end when Santa arrives!!!) and of course….the eating!!!
    Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Nano is over Monday night. You can do it.😉 I’m writing tomorrow too.😀

    I made a sweet potato cheesecake today.😀 Hmmm. First one and it looks beautiful. I’m going to take a picture and put it up at my blog.😀

    Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!

    • Hi, Tyhitia. Ooooh, that sounds great! I might have to google the recipe. I hope you had a great day yesterday. As for NaNo? We’ll see. It’s going to be close, and I think I’m going to come in a day short. 😉

  7. Happy Thanksgiving Kim! I hope you have a great holiday. (Lucky me) I get to work on Black Friday- at 4 a.m., and I’m the designated “gift card elf.” >.> But the bright side is that I get to dress up and don’t have to wear the uniform! (I’m determined to rock it)

    I’m blown away by your word count! Holy cow, you work fast! At 17,000 words on the NaNoWriMo, I ran out of steam. It’s tough trying to crank out a story locked away inside. I usually need to be sitting on a park bench or surrounded by people in a mall.

    I’ll definitely have to check out the Barnes&Noble and Books A Million near my work. I’ve been (not-so-patiently) waiting for the paperback of WWBC and am so excited that it’s finally arrived! I live in Florida too, so if your family members have seen, hopefully I’ll see it here too!

    • Thanks, Becka. I had a great day. I hope you did, too. Have fun being an elf for a day! Wow!

      Hey, don’t think twice about not meeting NaNoWriMo this year. You are jostling elbows with people who might have more time or more practice. I write eight to twelve hours a day, and I’m having a hard time catching up, so don’t think that because your pace is slower that you are any less talented. The trick is to find your pace and hold to it. (smile)

      I hope you like WWBC if you get a chance to read it. It’s one of my favorites.

  8. Gwendalla

    Happy Thanksgiving everybody. We’ve already had ours in Canada and it was great . We tried out a new pie recipe, Pushing Daisies’ Apple-Gruyère Pie. It was wonderful. I had never had cheese with pie before but I think I’ll start experimenting now. My sister went through 2 Hollows books this week and she is loving your writing Kim. I’m trying desperately not to give anything away!

    • Hi, Gwendalla. I’ve never had cheese with pie, but I have had cheese with apples. Sounds good. That’s very cool you sister is reading the Hollows! You’ll be able to talk Hollows with her soon, I hope. (grin)

  9. We don’t celebrate thanksgiving but I’ll take a moment to do a first in my life and wish everybody here a happy thanksgiving.
    Right, with history made…😉
    *Alyss can’t contain her excitement any longer…*

    NaNoWriMo status: *drum roll please…* It took 10K for me to develope a plot, 25K for it to blow up in my face in a big way and i’ve spend the rest trying to get things back under some semblance of control. None the less…. I’m at 50246 words!!! *laughs!* See that bright light shining down in the southern hemisphere? That’s me.😀 Didn’t think I’d do it with my schedual but I did. lol. Now I have bragging rights.😀

  10. Happy Thanksgiving to all in the Harrison Household!
    Wow you’re catching up fast i got a day ahead of myself then took a day off because i couldnt focus but i’m now at 42,104 words and still counting. Happily i have an early shift at work saturday meaning i’m opening the place up same as i do during the week, but i get a proper weekend off once i get home and if i have any nano left i can complete then. Fingers crossed🙂

    • Also I’ve managed to convince Matt to send an envelope for those cool keys of yours he should be sending that over the next couple of days.

      Nano update : 44,419 words, this story is definately going to be more than 50k

      Hope you had a great thanksgiving

      Rachel – UK @}~

    • That’s great on the word count, Rachel! I’m almost up to you. Maybe by the end of today.

  11. lody

    Have a great thanksgiving!😀

  12. Kylie Ru

    Happy Thanksgiving and eat lots of food, Kim-san!

    • Thanks, Kylie-san! I hope you had a great day. I ate too much, but discovered that salt chunks on homemade truffles are fabulous. OMGosh. Yum.

    • mudepoz

      Well, waddya know. Glad you enjoyed the idea. Mmmm, salt and chocolate. Praised be the ones that discovered Theobromine, Caffeine and NaCl. And combinations thereof!

  13. Jo

    Tomorrow is stress free for me! I cooked a little bird for me and my son for tomorrow and that is it this year!!! Woo-Hoo! Getting together with family on Solstice this year instead of Thanksgiving. It is a much needed break from tradition for me. Anyway I hope your turkey day is gobblicious!! Ahh relaxing … wait oh no — I gotta finish nanowrimo — just when I thought it was safe to sit back😉 Almost done though.

    Jo

    • Hi, Jo. That’s just about what I did, but my boys eat a lot, and it was a five pound chicken. (grin) As it happens, I’m going to be with family this Solstice, too!

      Good luck with the word count!

  14. Gothar

    I’ve got my grubby hands on a brand new mint condition WWBC PB🙂 I’ve been good and will wait until I reread the entire book before jumping to the back and the freebie.

    Enjoy your turkey day

  15. Goodness you are catching up pretty quickly! And I am right there with you on no-shopping-friday.

    I would suggest a cheesecake instead of cookies. Cheesecakes are just the ultimate dessert in my opinion- they aren’t too difficult to make either! And you can cover the thing with a bunch of berries and voila, a beautiful, delicious dessert.

    Have a happy thanksgiving!

    • Hi, Candace. I don’t like crowds, and since I can take a day of whenever, I go when the crowds are gone. Mmmm, I love cheescake. I am going to experiment with it this year using eggbeaters. I swear, I’ve never baked so much as this past year. Never ate better, either. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Good luck with the word count! I’m hoping to add to mine in a big way today.

  16. suzannelazear

    Mmm…Volcano cookies? Do they have chocolate in them?

    Keep going! I’m at that point where the end is in sight but I’m so tired I want to stop. Must…keep…writing…

    Pie making after work with the tot will be an advenutre considering I’ve never made pecan pie and I can’t find anything–like the rolling pin. We might have to make it outside on the patio table because the kitchn has no counter space.

    Happy Turkey Day!
    ~Suzanne and the tot

    • Hi, Suzanne. No chocolate. Date filling between two shortbread cookies. They are fab.

      That’s great you are still pushing forward on the word count! Me too. Good luck!

  17. Tiffany

    Hi Kim,
    Happy Thanksgiving to you, Guy, and family. I am sooo looking forward to my 4 day weekend and my turkey & family time. Hope you enjoy yours too. If I work up the will to leave the house on Friday I’ll check my bookstore🙂. Volcano cookies? Do those have a molten chocolate center by chance? Mmmmmm

    • Hi, Tiffany. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving, too. 🙂 Volcano cookies are really date cookies where the date filling overflows the top. One of Guy’s family cookies that I’ve been making for about 10 years. And this year, might be the last if we can’t find any organic dates that don’t use sulfites to perserve the fruit. OMGsh, truth has come to mimic fiction. It must have been my subconscious that caused me to give Rachel a sulfer sensivitity, because Guy has it BAD!.

  18. Stephenie

    Happy Thanksgiving All!! How long is it until book 10 comes out again? Really, I think we’d all be happy without a rewrite, cut down on some time. jk lol.

    Mmm… pie. I have a pie date with one of my friends tonight. He and I are going to village inn for free pie Wednesday; then Friday we’re going cosmic bowling. We’re psuedo-dating lol. My parents are having pie for Turkey Day, but I don’t like pumpkin so I’m having icecream.

    Have a good break!

    • Hi, Stephenie. Book ten won’t be out for, uh, a couple of years. But you’ll get eight and nine between, and nine will likely be my favorite for a while.

      I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  19. Jemma

    Well Happy Thanksgiving!
    We don’t celebrate it this side of the pond, but we do get Boxing day which you guys don’t so i guess its all ok!
    Just started re-reading the Hollows series again and really enjoying it , seem to be finding bits i missed the first, and second time round! Very excited for the next installment.

  20. Heather C

    Hi Kim!!! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!!! So, chicken and no turkey? Plus, those volcano cookies sound intriguing…we have all kinds of guests coming, and even some out of town friends, with pup, from Georgia.~Indy

  21. Jenn

    Wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving!
    We alreayd had our up here in Canada, so I hope you, Guy, Thing 1 & 2, & the pups all have a great weekend.
    A depressed Rachel, hm…going to have to keep that in mind as I go back & re-read the series before I pick up WWBC!

  22. Phil

    Happy Thanksgiving, Kim and Guy and the whole family!🙂 We’ll be having a traditional eastern Long Island Thanksgiving, which means turkey, but there will be grilled salmon or sushi for the vegetarians in the family, lol.
    🙂 Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!!

  23. Marsha

    I hope you and your family enjoy your time together. It’s just me and my mother this time as my sister has to work so all the people who can’t stand to watch football or talk to their relatives can shop at Wally World : )
    I took the easy route this year and let Publix cook my meal, I’m just doing the sweet potato casserole and a carrot cake so we have an excuse for cream cheese frosting! Don’t work too hard.

    • Thank you, Marsha. We had a fab day. Just four of us. Unlike NaNoWriMo, quality counts with people, not quanitity. I hope you and your mother had a great day. I bet she liked having you all to herself.

  24. mudepoz

    Absolutely nothing to say that applies to the Hollow’s other than I hope you, ‘Guy’ and your family have a peaceful and enjoyable holiday. I understand that a little white meat from chicken is quite tasty to Chi’s😉 After all, if it was for the Mastiff and Spaniels on the Mayflower, there wouldn’t have been any old world presence FOR Thanksgiving. And of course, the Chi’s were on the continent already, ready to show the ropes to their weird looking cousins.
    http://www.akc.org/news/index.cfm?article_id=4014

    Actually, English springers didn’t get that moniker until the late 1800’s. Guess the AKC didn’t read the history I wrote for our National Club🙂

    Me, I’ve got my girl clothes, boots, and the Tall Dude in tow to tear up San Francisco.🙂

    • Marsha

      I used to work down on Market Street before I moved back East to help with my dad. It’s a beautiful city, but make sure you take something warm to cover up with. We could always tell the tourists because they came to town in shorts and T shirts. The first thing they did was hit the street vendors for a sweatshirt! The fog keeps it very cool until around 3:00 in the afternoon. Oh, and watch the street food in Chinatown…it can be hazardous to your health!

    • mudepoz

      Trust me, I wear sweaters and jeans when it’s ninety, when the average temperature where you work is 85 plus🙂 But thanks for the tip, *Adds note: NO street food!*

    • Phil

      Hi Mud, I hope you and Tall Dude (if i may call him that, grin) have a great time in San Francisco!!🙂 Safe trip!!!

    • mudepoz

      Thank you. The Tall Dude is shy, and with different names, his web presence is nearly zilch. My footprint is sadly…huge. So he’s safer with The Tall Dude.🙂 And I’m really looking forward to this vacation. Though I suspect I’ll have fish and not turkey. Everyone enjoy this wonderful, shouldn’t be stressful, excuse to pig out…er, turkey er chicken er whatever!

    • I didn’t know that, Mud! Thanks! Have fun in San Francisco!

  25. Jeannie

    Kim and Family,
    Have a Great Thanksgiving!!!