Dude, it’s a pre-industrial babe!

If you’ve not heard, my annual Halloween Costume Contest is now running, and I’m taking submissions.  Just a few so far, but it’s early yet.  pictures

This week I’m sandwiching in the page proofs for BLACK MAGIC SANCTION between the graphic novel rewrite and the last chapter of book nine (which I’m still working on.  I finished it, but had an idea last night which I need to try out.)  Long story short, if I’m working on the page proofs, then the ARCs (Advanced Reader Copies) will be printed up soon.  I can’t wait.  This one seems to be taking some extra time, but it’s all in my head–we’re right on last-year’s schedule.

first truthI don’t have a cover picture to show you yet of BLACK MAGIC SANCTION as I’m not sure if there is going to be some final tweaking, but I do have the re-issue cover for FIRST TRUTH, which will be re-released just about the same time as BLACK MAGIC SANCTION.  (Coincidence?  I think not.  rolls eyes)

I really like this cover.  A lot.  I know there are a tremendous number of cover purists who want the cover to look exactly like the main character, and they will likely be disappointed that Alissa isn’t dressed in dirty traveling clothes with a nasty bag of dust around her neck, disheveled and torn, her hair pulled back, and looking cold and scared.  But I like it just as it is.  Her eyes are gray, and she looks eighteen and innocent.  Magic is in the air, and Talon is at her side.  Perfect.

64 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

64 responses to “Dude, it’s a pre-industrial babe!

  1. I love the cover! It’s gorgeous. Always funny how tho, a cover can sell a book.. I have a few copies of the SAME books on my shelves because I see a new cover and think “Oooh I don’t have that book!” only to find that yes, yes I do..

  2. SeattleRobin

    Nice cover. I like how the hands are posed. Looks magicky. I suppose they figured a drawing of someone all dirty and disheveled doesn’t help sell books. (grin)

  3. Marsha

    She is very pretty and does look very young. I love the pet costume photos. I would love to dress one of mine up, but they would help me with a gruesome costume by scratching half my skin off, and then give the camera one of those looks that that says “**** this” without words. Have a great weekend, although you will probably get our rain.

    • Hi, Marsha. Thanks! I’m really happy with the cover.

      I hear you on getting pets into clothes. Alex could really use a nice, lightweight shirt or something when it gets cold, but she just stands in the middle of the floor and stares at me everytime I put one on her. So not happy.

  4. Kneosha

    Hi Kim,
    I had looked at the Dawn Cook books a while back and didn’t make the connection with you *face plant* . Now I’m definitely going to have to check them out. *Goes to the local library website to see if the books are available*😀 They have a copy of First Truth! I still can’t believe I didn’t make the connection😛

    • Hi, Kneosha. Yup! That’s me, too. Or two . . . (ha!) Very cool on them being in the library. It’s amazing that the books are still in print after all this time, and I’m excited that they are being given a second chance. The story is one close to my soul, and you can see me developing as a writer, too, from book to book. Kind of cool all on its own.

  5. talia

    hey kim, got a question for you i just re read two ghosts for sister rachel and was wondering if pierce was the person buried under the angel in the church graveyard?

  6. Um Kim, will you be bringing any Hallows ARC’s to the book signing at the Book Rack????😀 Hmmm?😉

  7. Tiffany

    Hi Kim – Great new cover! I like the German edition covers for this series too. I’ll check these out after I finish Ley Line Drifter (I’m loving that we get to read from Jenks’ perspective for a while).

    How fun the Halloween costume contest is! Hmmm…it would be fun if I could convince my friends to dress up in a Hallows theme with me….

    Got a question for you: I was wondering at Takata writing a vamp track -whether he writes a track that only an undead vamp can hear out of some connection or empathy? Or whether it is more a symbol of what he had to say that was hidden to Rachel? But then there is the way the tracks strike an emotional cord with Ivy; and Trent with his special headphones… Or maybe something else entirely? Obviously, if there is upcoming meaning to it all then you can’t say – unless maybe the meaning of it was in what has already been revealed?

    • Hi, Tiffany. I LOVE the German covers for the Truth books, so very different from anything I’ve ever had before.

      That is a great question you bring up about the vamp track Takata puts in his music. I do believe that it comes from my wish to fully understand what any musician is trying to say with their music. Sort of a direct line to the artist’s brain. Everyone sees/experiences/takes-away something different from any given piece of music, and the vamp track is my wish to “get” what the _artist_ is saying, partake in an instant of perfect connection. If we can only listen hard enough, we will hear the sound of the divine human existence.

    • Tiffany

      OK, I am smiling hugely – loving your train of thought here.
      I know what you mean – it’s is something that is great about art in general, maybe music in particular -the way it can communicate and connect with people with both immeadiacy and such perminance (like the way songs are so interwoven with memories), which is amazing when you think about it in the terms you mentioned.
      Anyway, thanks for the good conversation🙂

  8. Tina WI

    Hey Kim! Wanted to wish you a Happy Halloween! Two of my fovorite days of the year, my birthday and Halloween!
    Looked at the spider link…yuck! I know I shouldn’t have looked, but the other postings almost dared me to!

  9. Phil

    I have to check out the Truth books. Re-release the same time as BMS? Yay! The end of February will be like Christmas and my birthday (December, too) all over again!🙂 Oh, are the Truth books for YA audiences or older? I think the cover is cool, too.😉

    • Hi, Phil. They are a coming of age story in a pre-industrial setting with magic–more traditional fantasy than urban fantasy. Which makes it sound really bland, but I’m awful at coming up with “What’s the book about” I’ve got lots of YA readers in this series, but it is being marketed as an adult book. That isn’t terribly helpful, is it? –Kim

    • Picture Renfaire clothes, villiages with English style cottages and farms for the setting. Then melt together extreme prejudice of two different symbiotic societies, and the ability to overcome both physical and mental injury. Add in a steep learning curve involving accepting and learning magic as well as deepening relationships and you have what I got out of the book without spoilers.

      Oh, and a small useful flying thing🙂

    • Thanks, Mud. That’s much better than anything I’ve come up with. 😉

    • High praise🙂 I can write an abstract. Just don’t ask me to do a synopsis.

  10. Kylie Ru

    Oooooo I like that cover! I have not read that book . . . I shall have to do so.

    These ARCs that you speak of . . . are they like sneak peaks?

    Oh, and some funniness. At the rate my life is going, I won’t need to use makeup for the dark circles under my eyes for my costume. Doncha just hate that?

    • Antonio Rich

      Australian Research Council__American Red Cross__Arthritis Research Compaign__Art Renewel Center__American River College__Association of Related Churches__American Refugee Committee__Antonio Rich Commission…

      OK OK, just messin’ with you– Advanced Reader’s Copy.

    • Thanks, Kylie! I like the cover a lot, too. Don’t expect it to be Rachel in a dress, although now that I think about it, both ladies have boots. . .

      ARCs are the entire book, bound and sometimes with cover art. They are made while I’m going over the page proofs, and so they have small errors in them. They are sort of like the first run to make sure everything is laying out properly, and they are sent off for early reviews. So yes, they are sneak peaks in a major way.

  11. Laura

    Not sure where to put this, but it said to put non-business correspondence here, I think. (At least, I hope I read that right. If not, I’m really sorry.)

    I am a huge fan of your Hollows series. (Sounds like I’m going to have to look for a copy of First Truth and/or Black Magic Sanction to tide me over until book 8 comes out…) The story is well-written, the characters are believable and for me personally, as a Wiccan, it’s always nice to read fiction that portrays witches as “ordinary folks” instead of something to be ashamed of. That, and I act like Rachel a bit more than I like to admit.😉

    I actually had a suggestion, since I saw where someone asked about a Hollows movie. Maybe a TV series or mini-series? It worked for the True Blood series of novels, and it would probably be easier to convince the TV execs than the Hollywood movie producers.

    • Hi, Laura. This is the right place! I’m so glad you’re enjoying the books. Thanks! I hear what you’re saying about the TV series and/or movie. My agent is being very careful with the rights so that we don’t sell them only to have the idea sit in a drawer. (A sure way to NOT get a movie/TV series) As soon as someone comes along with the right proposal, things will happen, but I’m kind of a “show me your plan/money” kind of a girl before I get excited about anything that relies on other people to follow up with anything. Meantime, I have the entire sandbox to play in by myself, and the castle is getting elaborate. (grin)

  12. Kat

    I love that cover!

    Can I have an ARC? Please, please please! I don’t really expect to get one…but you never know unless you ask right?

    The cookies looked awesome!

    As far as Halloween costumes…my son wants to dress up as Jon A…Garfields owner…LOL. I thought that was fairly original, although I am not sure if anyone will know who he is supposed to be.

    One last thing…Did I mention that when I grow up I want to be just like you? LOL I am hoping I might absorb some of your organizational skills.
    I am what you might call…scatter brained…:)

    • Hi, Kat. No, sorry, no ARC. I don’t even have mine yet. But you can always try for the on I’m giving away as Grand Prize in costume contest.

      I wasn’t always so organized. Now I have to be, or I spend too much time finding things.
      –Kim

  13. Suzanne

    What a lovely cover! Oh, the tot sugesstes that for renn faire you dress up as one of your characters (hey, we have everything from vikings to star trek guys at outs, lol). I don’t remember a bell guy…I’ll have to check it out. We never seem to catch many shows–to much to look at, lol. We usualy catch the celtic show, ride the ponies, play a few games, eat, play in the sandbox, and then, bing, she’s done, lol. But Queen Elizabeth *does* knight the children, and she will be the first to tell people that she’s a “real lady” knighted by the queen herself, lol. “What did you do this weekend?” is always an interesting question at our house, lol.

    ~Suzanne and the tot

    • Kylie Ru

      We have the bell guy! Our Renn Fest is late February to mid Marchish. All I know is it’s over by the time my birthday comes around, which is the end of March. Yeah, i saw a group of Trekkies last time. Kinda funny. I was a princess one year!

    • Oh, very cool, Kylie! That is the one show that I always try to find a way to see. You get Trekkies, too? Huh! Now I feel left out.

    • Hi, Suzanne. You get Star Trek guys at yours? Our fair seems to be a purists. No red-shirts here.

  14. Lurker

    Kim, I’m having trouble coming up with the movie name related to Black Magic Sanction. Is there one? It’s one of fav things your Hollows books.
    Also – wifey and I give 2 thumbs up on the cookies (especially the ghost). I predict cookie making this weekend, hehe.
    And since I only know you through your Hollows books (and the fab drama blog :)), what is this First Truth book? Is that a Dawn Cook, or a Kim book, or what.

    /confusered.

  15. Brian

    Will costume submissions be accepted through October 31st or should I get early pictures?

  16. Gothar

    Great another book to read, you are taking away from my iMac 27.5″ fund, it was a 17″ laptop until the latest refresh:) Kudos on the rerelease and those cookies from yesterday could turn into a side business.

  17. Linda (germany)

    Hi again…:-)

    I don’t understand the situation between Davin and Ivy. Does she want to scat him because of Rachel or does she really like him?

  18. Linda (germany)

    Do you hae red hair because Rachel has red hair?😉

    sooo, you in love with Halloween. Well, I can imagine that.

  19. Antonio Rich

    You know what would have been funny…You should have written an author reccomendation AS Kim Harrison:

    “A great talent! I’ve never been more impressed by a new author! I wish I would have written it – I’m jealous as hell. I’m keeping an eye on Dawn Cook, and so should you!”

    • Antonio Rich

      Oh, in SPIDER NEWS: (cover your eyes, Linda-Germany)Researcher’s have found what they believe to be the largest web-spinning spider in existence. It’s called Nephila Komaci and is almost as big as your hand!
      http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/8316720.stm

    • Tiffany

      Hey I think Indiana Jones might have run into one of these webs before. Too bad he was too busy searching for lost artifacts to realize he had a new species on his hands😉

    • Kylie Ru

      DEAR LORD IN HEAVEN!!! I looked! Why did I look?! That was a freakin huge spi-spi-spi-spi-SPIDER! Okay, I’m gonna go in the corner and twitch now. Curse my curiosity. It’s going to be the death of me someday.

    • Phil

      @Antonio, I looked at that pic, too… What is that spider eating?? No, never mind, don’t tell me, I don’t even want to think about it!!😉

    • Jeannie

      Now that is a spider. I just hope I never see one in person. Thanks, I think. haha

    • Marsha

      Ain’t no way I’m opening that link up! Thank you for warning those of us that are a wee bit spider phobic.

    • Susie

      Very, very cool. Can you imagine someone who reads books about vampires, witches, and werewolves freaking out about a picture of a spider????

    • Tiffany

      Hahaha! That would have been funny🙂

    • Phil

      THANKS for the tips about the mobile site, Tiffany! You’re right I will need an iPhone or Blackberry.😉

    • Antonio Rich

      Hey Tiffany(and KylieRue). Check out my movie picks on the Hallows Movie page…I’m anxious to see what you think(I just started by casted the vamps for now), especially of my Kisten pick.

    • Tiffany

      Wow – nice post Antonio! I’ll check out those links and post over there.

    • Actually, Antonio, that was an option, but I don’t think everyone would have appreciated the joke.

  20. I like it. Honestly, I wasn’t all that fond of the first cover, it was VERY busy. And she wasn’t in traveling clothes then either. Then again, the giant winged creature was pretty cool….

    Mud, back to bleaching floors. Poor Kim…I seldom leave her be.