Home Again . . .

And am I tired!  ;-)  The flight back was wonderfully bland and unexciting with no bad weather, no canceled flights, no crying babies, and no VIPs messing everyone’s schedule up.  (grr)

AARCANA1I had a great time at ARCANA this year, and I have the pictures to prove it, but as usual, I’m glad to be home and back at my desk.  The forced inactivity for the last five days has given me the time to think about how I want to handle the last chapter in book nine, and there will be some adjustments.  They won’t be as far-reaching as I had originally intended when I left for MN on Thursday, but hopefully they will have a bigger punch.  I’m thinking two days . . . and then I can move on to the graphic novel.

The “editorial rewrite letter” came in just before I left, and I’ll be immersing myself back into that for a week.  Gosh, I hope it doesn’t take more than a week.  This is my first race, so to speak, and I’m still trying to find my pace.  If I’ve misjudged, I’ll be working my weekends, and I don’t want to do that.  It’s faire month!!!

43 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

43 responses to “Home Again . . .

  1. linda (germany)

    Do you hae red hair because Rachel has red hair?😉

    sooo, you in love with Halloween. Well, I can imagine that.

    • Hi, Linda. I’ve had red hair for a long time. I honestly can’t remember who had red hair first. I can tell you that Rachel has red hair because I’d already written a main character with blond hair, and one with brown. I wanted something different to help me create an entirely new feel, so red it was. –Kim

  2. Mel

    Hi Kim,
    I am all the way over in little New Zealand and have just finished your latest book White Witch, Black Curse. I adore your books and am passing them around all my friends. Huge kudos to you as I have read many varying fantasy authors and think you totally rock!! I love all your characters especially Jenks, Al and unusually Trent. Trent is a real love him/hate him character but I really want Rachel to “get in on” with him, just to make him…..well I was going to say ‘more human’ but maybe more manly is apt? Is that likely to happen at all????? Also Jenks as human size is very sexy!! Gotta love it🙂

    • Hi, Mel. Cool! I’m so glad you liked it! And thank you so much for helping spread the word with your friends. I’ve had a lot of readers say that about Trent and Rachel, which is why I put them in a car in book nine and sent them on a road trip. I figure if something is going to happen between them, it will happen then. I’m not saying how it turned out. (grin) –Kim

  3. Ash

    Hi Kim, I was wondering if we will be seeing more Trent and Rachel moments in Black Magic Sanction! Because I love having those two together on the page. They’re so funny!

    Just a few things I was wondering: Will Trent and Rachel ever be civil towards one another in your future books, and will Trent ever get over his phobia of demons? – Ash

    • Hi, Ash. Yup, we’ll see Trent and Rachel together in BMS. Trent’s becoming more important as the books progress. Civil? Gosh, I hope so. They need to grow up. (grin) –Kim

  4. talia

    hey kim, love your books. ihave read and reread allbut the last 2. ican’t wait till you write anovella about rachel and ivy and when they were in the is together that would be cool. also if you did one from ivys point of view. that would be a treat. i know i am rambling on but have you ever thought about having a hallows ringtone or wallpaper?

    • Hi, Talia. Thank you! I’m so glad that you are enjoying the Hollows so much. As it happens, the graphic novel (due out fall 2010) takes place during that year that Rachel interned with Ivy. Whoo-hoo! And it’s from Ivy’s point of view. 😉

      Mmmm. Ringtone and wallpaper. I’ll ask. That’s something that should probably be publisher in origin.

      –Kim

  5. Kim J

    I don’t suppose you watched Dancing with the Stars tonight? They did a group tribute dance to Michael Jackson. When they all started doing the Thriller dance across the stage, my eyes teared up. I realized it made me remember Kisten, and the tears were for him. I could almost see him dancing with the vamps at the club. You probably don’t realize how strong the images are that leave ghosts in our memories. Thank you.

  6. Jemma

    Just had to say how goooorgeous you look in that picture.😉 Your smile is lovely. No wonder Guy’s a happy man.
    ~Jemma

    • Antonio Rich

      Jemma. Have to ask: what is your avatar?

    • Jemma

      Hi Antonio, oddly, I uploaded it when Kim first set up this new blog but it’s never shown up when I post until now.

      It’s an icon I made for LiveJournal years ago using the shot of Rachel’s ass with the handcuffs from the cover of DWW and I think I added the text “I was a harlot. I was a freaking vampire hussy.’😉

    • Thank you, Jemma! I have to admit that Guy took a really nice picture of me that day. –Kim

  7. Jeannie

    Kim,
    Glad you had fun-it looks fun. Thanks for sharing the pictures. I appreciate your connectedness with your fans. Enjoy your warmer weather. Here in Ohio, we are having a warm up this week too-the mid 60’s-uugghh. I guess it better than the 30’s we have already experienced.

    • It was fun, Jeannie! Conferences are always fun. 😉 I’m not so sure that we’re getting much warmer weather than you, actually. We got down to 35 last night. I’m bringing my plants in tonight.. –Kim

  8. Bob J

    Dear Kim,

    Glade to hear that you had a good time, and that you got your head rapped around the last chapter of book nine. I am looking forward to the new book.

    Best Regards,

    Bob J

  9. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    You wore something besides black? Where is the real Kim Harrison and what have you done with her?

    On a lighter note, I pre-ordered(prelicked?) Black Magic Sanction today, 22FEB2k10 is just around the corner.

    V^^^^V

  10. My colleague, sitting over —> has to take drugs to fly. Me, I love it! If it wasn’t for flight, how could I go to England to garden? Then again, I did a lot of it when I was a kid.

    So, I found some very old photo’s of a crazy dog and myself one Halloween.
    Sort of frizzy long red hair, brought back in a barrette. (Now that we have straight irons and Moroccan oil, who needs a charm😉 ) Not dressed Rachelly, it’s probably a year before you ever started writing, just me in a Crackerjack box and the dog dressed as a sailor.

    So, when do we get to do up Halloween?

  11. Kylie Ru

    OMGosh! I absolutely LOVE your shirt in that pic!!!

    Umm, yup, glad you had a boring flight home! Somethings are just better when their boring.

    Oh, random question. Sooooo, the other day I started thinking about all the Ravy fans, Trench fans, and the few (I’m assuming there are only a few of us. we’re the quietest at least) Alchel fans. Then I though “waitasec, does even _Kim_ know who Rachel’s gonna end up with?!” So my question: Do you know, ultimately, who she ends up with?

    • Thank you, Kylie! It’s one of my favorite shirts, too. Shiny. 😉

      You asked about who Rachel is going to end up with? Nope, I don’t know. I’ve got ideas, but they keep changing as the books progress. Sigh. That’s why I’ve got to end the books. That, and Rachel needs a break. 😉

    • Kylie Ru

      Yes, I thought that was the case ^^

  12. Chastity

    Glad all went well and that you are back home safe and sound. As for the working thing…you’ll be fine and you will find a pace that will have you coming out ahead. No problem!

    Much Love!

    • Thanks, Chastity. I’m sure I’ll get done what I want to, but there’s always something that crops up that needs to be done NOW whenever I schedule big blocks of time for what I want to do. sigh.

  13. Marsha

    It’s “farie month”? That’s a new one for me. Being half Italian I use this month as an excuse to eat too much Italian food because of Columbus Day! I always think of my Grandfather’s bracciola and my Grandmother’s lazagna when it starts to get cool. It’s a miracle that the anyone in the family can zip up their pants. I’m glad you enjoyed yourself…now get back to work so I can have my Hollows fix : )

  14. Jessica

    Hi Kim! I’m glad that the conference went well, I’m sure it was nice to distance yourself from your current projects for a few days😉.

    I just had to share this: yesterday I saw a commercial that started with, “She’s back! In her newest full-length film, Tinkerbell and the Lost Treasure…”. I definitely found myself laughing, while the boyfriend looked on with a resigned expression – he’s apparently used to my randomness. I couldn’t help the various Tink defamations that danced through my head. Jenks has seriously ruined Tinkerbell for me!🙂

  15. Suzanne

    Welcome back! I’m glad you had a fun and safe trip.
    Faire? Like Renn Faire?? The tot and I adore Renn Faire. It’s in April and May here. We got new (matching) costumes for this year. I hope you get your work done during the week so you can go. What do you usually wear for Faire (does Guy dress up too? The hubby always wants to go shirtles…hey, as long as he wears a kilt…) The tot and I have done everything from pirates to court garb…
    ~Suzanne and the tot

    • Hi, Suzanne! Thanks! It was a smooth trip back, and I slept like a rock. Ahhhhh.

      Yes, faire as in the Ren Fair. Whoo-hoo! Hey, do you have the bell guy preform at your fair? I love the bell guy. I never dress up, but Guy does. Maybe someday. –Kim

  16. Kristin

    Fun Times Kim!! Glad you got back ok and your trip was all well and good.
    Good luck with finishing the last chapter in book nine,glad you could get away and have some down time to think about the direction you would like it to go… I know that it’s important to have a clear head to make the right choices.. Anyhoo let me get back to work… Oh yea thanks for the pointers on my Rachel gear for halloween,i’m getting the pants this weekend…I’m thinking the leather will be fun…

    • It was a great weekend, Kristin. I hope yours was as exciting. 😉

      I can’t wait to see your costume. I’ll have all the details about the contest on Thursday. –Kim

  17. Antonio Rich

    I never liked flying. Especially on long flights. All that nasty, recycled cabin air. Blech! Makes me want to go and get a flu shot just talking about it…So, what was the damage? Did you guys make it back w/o any sniffles or sore throats?

    I read that Diana Gabaldon showed up at a bookstore for an appearance and refused to sign anything until the store moved her books from the romance section to the general fiction section. As somebody who worked in the book/magazine distribution business for awhile, I get why the store is stocking it in romance(high traffic,nice sales, MORE ROOM because of constant turnover vs crowded general fiction area) and i get why an author would want what she wants…Where would you prefer your books be stocked?

    • OMGosh, Antonio! I’m surprised to hear that, and I hope it’s not true but simply gossip. You asked where I’d prefer my books to be stocked? The bestseller shelf, but if that’s not to be, I like fiction. I’ve heard that some stores who have a horror section will put me there, and that’s cool. I found my anthologies showing up in the romance section, and I kind of scratch my head, but whatever. Sometimes stores will shelve books according to the publisher, and if I have a book coming out through AVON, I’d expect it to be in romance, no matter what I call it. 😉

  18. charmedwarrior

    glad u enjoyed yourself. sometimes doing something different, like ARCANA, can help the creative juices and provide a different spark of life. the pictures are sweet and the event looked like fun. if i ever get up that way i’ll make a note to attend.🙂

  19. Carmon

    This has absolutly nothing to do with ARCANA. But i absolutly had to leave a comment.
    I love your books! And Your my fave author. I just brought Once Dead Twice Shy and i’m about halfway through it at the moment ^-^ it’s realy good.
    I love the depth you give your characters, my fave from the hollows series is Al and i havent read enough of your new book to have a fave yet.
    Well, yeah, thats all. Bye *waves*

    • Hi, Carmon. Thank you! I’m so pleased that you’re enjoying ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY as well as the Hollows. 😉

      Al is my fav, too, but it changes from book to book, it seems. –Kim