ARCANA

I generally don’t update the blog on the weekend, but since it’s a workday for me, I thought I’d go ahead and bring you all up to speed. 😉

For those of you who don’t know, I’m spending the weekend in Minneapolis at a small convention called ARCANA, and I’m having a great time.  Yesterday was busy with panels, Q&A sessions, readings, pizza and a movie, and an auction.  (Where Guy and I gave up one of those signed, limited edition mugs and the last of the Outlaw Tour shirts.) I’ve got a shot here of the Q&A, but there are more pictures at the website.  Today is a panel on witches and another on urban fantasy (what is it and why is it different from other genres)  Can’t wait!

Q&A

34 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

34 responses to “ARCANA

  1. when publish madison avery in spanish ?

    (my english is very bad, sorry)

  2. Jeannie

    Kim,
    Glad you had a good time! It looked like fun. Your Mom seems great. Just wondering about the 52 stories, pretty sure I signed up, any guess when yours will be up? Thanks!

  3. Indy

    Hi Kim!!! Sounds like you had a great time in Minn. Well, I actually get a switch. I get to leave the chilly Indiana, and head to your neck of the woods. I’m off to Charleston. I have work meetings, and its actually in a fun place for a change.~Indy

  4. sarah

    hey kim,
    I’m supprised you weren’t one of the VIPs🙂
    I was wondering, how long did it take you to get your first book published? how many agents did you have to ask? I heard the harry potter book go rejected 11 times! thats crazy!

    • Hi, Sarah. How long to get my first book published? Ouch. You’re asking me to think. Okay . . . I think I started writing it in 1995, and it hit the shelf in 2002, so seven years?

  5. linda (germany)

    Good, I love your hair. Is it a real color?😉

  6. Kat

    Kim~You look fab!🙂 Thanks for posting the pictures!

  7. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    When I first saw that you had to circle the air port I thought “Damn you balloon boy!” but it was just the VP of the USA. 🙂

    Sounds like you all had a lot of fun. I wish I was able to go to all of your events. You and Guy are so much fun. Oh well, hopefully you’ll keep Charlotte on your list.

    V^^^^V

    • Hi, Vampy! OMGosh! Wouldn’t that have just taken the cake? Me circling because of a hox.

      I did have a lot of fun, but I’m glad to be back home where I can relax and just be me again. I don’t see Charlotte ever falling off the list. It’s just a half-hour drive.

      –Kim

  8. Tiffany

    On the subject of moms, I’ve really loved how we have gotten to know Rachel’s mom in the last few books. It really brings an extra layer and depth of understanding to Rachel’s character, not to mention how interesting she is in her own right. Her character has me wondering on the connection between memory and insanity as a theme in your writing… Also, I was wondering if we will get to know Ivy’s parents better?

    • Hi, Tiffany. I agree! It has been fun bringing Rachel’s mom and brother into the books for just the reason you mention. I can see why you’re thinking about memory and insanity. I think about that alot, which might be why I have characters that struggle wtih it.
      As for Ivy’s parents? Maybe? Not sure yet, and I don’t want to possibly give anything away.
      –Kim

  9. Tiffany

    I second the awesome Mom comments – and what a cutie with her gardening gravitar🙂 Seems maybe you got your gardening skills from her. I’m only
    now, belatedly, trying to pick up my mom’s gardening skills. But I’m more like Juliet with the dead ficus. I have a “Charlie Brown” ficus that my mom rescued, revived and returned to me alive, but sadly lacking much in the way of leaves. I joke that I must have a “black thumb”, as I once killed a cactus after all – it flopped over and died of mold (I guess I over watered it).
    Anyway…if you do make it to So Cal in the spring (on your book tour, right?) I’ll definitely make my way there.

    • Hi, Tiffany. Gardening gravitar? Nope. Not my mom, although she does garden. It’s hard to see, but it’s actually a golfing gravitar. I do a little of that myself, (very little) but my mom and dad are pros. 😉

  10. Kneosha

    Hi Kim,
    Man I wish I could have been there it looked like a great time topped off by a great movie and pizza. Ill be moving to Denver next year when I finish school and hopefully I’ll be able to make it to one of the bigger Q & A/Reading type events but in the mean time I hope to see you at another signing here in Amarillo. Looks like everyone had a great time and your mom rocks! Have a great rest of the weekend🙂

    • mudepoz

      I would Love to say I wish I had been able to stay thru today, but…

      Cera passed her tracking test, one of only two dog in the 6 dog test. The five hour drive flew by.

      But How did I end up with a bag of strange science fiction and fantasy, two cheesy horror movies🙂 (American Werewolf is awesome) Rudyard Kipling, Gorey Postcards (I had a signed copy of Amphigorey as a kid, I need to find another copy) and a poster of my Grandmother’s cousin?

      *Scratches head* If I can arrange it, I will definitely return or at least support Arcana. I haven’t laughed so much in years. Cera insists on returning anywhere where kids have popcorn in their hands.

      Awesome to meet up with you, thanks for signing my books, even with a REAL Nickname:) LOL

    • Tiffany

      I love “American Warewolf in London”! Havn’t seen it in forever though. Definitely time to rent that one and pop up sone popcorn.

    • I can tell I posted this after a six hour drive and an adrenalin high. Oh well, I write botanical Latin as my first language.

      You DIDN’T mention that the mug and Ivy charm picked up over 75.00, the most of all the objects (well, up to the time I headed for bed with Cera. I can blame her for MY bids, I think.)

      My travel funds didn’t let me force the bidding any higher. And I don’t see the Tall Dude wearing a Kist T shirt… flannel or a suit for him. I don’t know if wearing another man’s name across my chest when I went to bed would have gone over well either, so I held my bids.

      Though I would have liked to see the other panels, they sounded like fun! I need to convince them to pull together a list of the books recommended for those of us who don’t take notes anymore…

    • Congrats on Cera passing her tracking test, Mud! That is fantastic!

      Aren’t conferences great? For me, they have always been a reafirmation that the things that I treasure are shared and treasured by others. Makes me feel good.

      It was really great to see you again. 😉 Thank you for coming out. We had one of the highest attendance totals in the conferences’s history. Whoo-hoo!

    • Hi, Kneosha. I have been trying to get to Denver for a couple of years now, so maybe soon? But as you say, Amarillo is always a possibility. Once I’ve been somewhere, I tend to go back.

  11. Marsha

    I’m so jealous…it looks likes so much fun. Enjoy the rest of your time there. Oh, and your Mom sound terrific and wonderfully supportive.

  12. Awww, Kim. Sounds like a blast. Wish I could be there. Have fun and a safe return.

    Oh, and about your first comment above—your mom rocks!!😀

  13. Sounds like tons of fun! Travel safe on your return!

  14. Mom

    Hi Kim, We’re giving pups lots of attention, tending to household chores and keeping Thing “2” in line (grin) – in that order. Happy to be here so that Guy could be there! Mom

    • mudepoz

      🙂 Thanks for letting your kids play with us! That is an awesome gift within a family.
      Do you rent out? I have, um, well… I guess four dogs ranging in age 15 to 4

      Never mind. The tall dude and I have agreed that he can listen to Gregorian Chant and I can listen to The Offspring. Different strokes, he stays home and I go about… Mud

    • Sorry Mud. I get first dibs. (laugh)

    • Hi, Mom! That you were able to hold down the fort has let me relax. 😉 I say we go shopping today. (grin)