Yay! It’s Friday!

Happy Friday, guys.  I didn’t get done nearly the amount of work I wanted to get done this week, but there it is, which means I’ll be putting in a long, full day today instead of knocking out early.  (boo-hoo, listen to me . . . )  Guy is going to try to get a Hollows Gazette out this weekend, so if you’ve not signed up, here’s the link.   Hollows Gazette    If you’ve never gotten a Gazette, they are kind of fun newsletters that we put out about every quarter.  We will also send out fliers when something quick happens that I think you might be interested it. 

Have a great weekend!  I’m going to try to be outside.  I think the nice days are numbered now, though the hummers are still here.  The garden spider has laid her eggs and is all skinny again.  sigh  –Kim

64 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

64 responses to “Yay! It’s Friday!

  1. The Old Geezer

    Dear Ms. Kim. Thought I’d drop you a note, I told a story about my early pre-geezer hood in the section about sneaky snakiness. Since you’ve admitted you find my poor stories a bit amusing you might find it worth the time to go back and take a look. Fair warning, for once the old geezer aches and frailities were in remission so I was able to give it a fair try. Oh, I’m not responsible for tea soaked keyboards or tea flushed out sinuses neither!

    The Old Geezer

  2. I got my first Hallows Gazette and was chuckling to myself at my laptop. My family wonders what I’m laughing at. I love Mr. Crabby, and wish I could have that attitude with my kids. BAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Had to mention that I loved the new short story– Jenks ROCKS.

    • Hi, Moonsanity.

      Cool! I’m glad you liked it. (both the Gazette and the Jenks/Bis short) Guy loves writing Mr. Crabby. I’ll tell him you got a kick out of it. 😉 –Kim

  3. Julie

    My mom, sister and I started reading the Hollows series in June. We are now starting Outlaw Demon Wails, and we all LOVE every book so far!

    My question (and I searched all over your site for this answer, and couldn’t find it, so I hope it’s OK to ask it here), is where can I get a copy of the short story that was included with the paperback version (but not the hardcover) of For a Few Demons More? And were there any other short stories included in the paperback versions that are not in the anthologies?

    Thanks! And we can’t wait to keep reading!

    • Hi, Julie. Wow! I’m so glad that you and your family are enjoying the books so much! Thank you!

      You asked about the short story in the mass market of FDM.
      Go to my pages at Harper

      Hit the books tab at the top

      Scroll down to the FDM mass market, not the hardcover and click it to bring up the browse inside feature. If it doesn’t show on the first two pages of Kim Harrison’s books, do a search in the HarperCollins site to find it.

      Here’s where it gets tricky:

      Hit the orange “browse inside” tab (it might be white on some browsers)

      Once you’re “browsing” go to the table of contents at the top right hand corner and bring down the menu, scrolling to the bottom of it where “other back matter” is. Click on that. But you didn’t hear it from me. 😉

  4. Thursday

    I didn’t get any work done for like three whole days! omg! It’s mostly because I don’t like working while my son is awake. He is a year and a half and I love to give him attention! Then now I also am 3 months pregnant with my second on the way! So I sleep a lot more than usual! It takes a tole on the body. So I can’t push myself to hard but I feel bad when I don’t get anything done! So I’m going to try to get 5 pages done in the next few hours. If I do then great, if not then I’ll have even more to do tomorrow! I’m putting my alarm clock on early and hoping to get some done while my two guys are asleep. My hubby is the greatest and so is my son! So I try not to take any time from being with them out of my day! So hopefully I can get some work done on my next chapter in the next week! Ugh! I hate being slow!

    • Hi, Thursday. Get your sleep. I was just reminded of falling asleep in the woods running traplines while I was pregnant with Thing-One. (didn’t know it at the time) I actually napped in the woods between grids. Sheesh!

      Good luck with your schedule. It can be rough! –Kim

    • Thursday

      Thanks Kim! I’m trying to get back to being a day person! Right now I feel kind of feel like I’m on Inderland time! hehehe!

  5. tattoolady

    i hope that you have a wonderful weekend kim! today when i was in the grocery store i saw a bag of candy with the words “demon treats” on it and i had a mental picture of rachel giveing Al a bit of chocolate with a pat on the head. i laughed out loud in the middle of the isle and had some old lady looking at me as if i had 3 heads . it was a fantastic moment. i hope that you get done what you need to and take some time for yourself . i am with sarah. what was your second job before you wrote full time? -tattoolady.

    • Kylie Ru

      :blink blink: HAHAHAHA! That is one hilarious image, tattoolady. No worries, I would have laughed in the middle of the isle, too.

      Hmmmm, that image is just beggin’ to be drawn . . .

    • tattoolady

      i would love to see that! i giggle even now thinking about Al with his bit of chocolate..

    • Kylie Ru

      Really? Then I’ll try to get it done! ^^-

    • Thanks, Tattoolady! I hope you had a great weekend, too. Demon treats! I love it!

      I was a vet-tech before quitting, but I think my favorite job was running live-animal trap lines for two summers, tagging and releasing chipmunks and mice for a research project. I was so skinny. I’ll never be that thin again.

  6. Get to writing, Kim/ Have a great weekend!😉

  7. sarah

    Hey Kim, I just wanted to know what your second job was before you were able to drop it and work only on your writing. Do you mind sharing?

    • Hi, Sarah. I’d love to tell you.
      I was owner/operator of a liscensed family daycare when I started writing, and I worked as a vet-tech for a few years before I quit. We lived on Guy’s full-time and my part-time for a long time until I was able to quit and work full-time at writing. –Kim

  8. Phil

    Hi Kim, Friday is usually the most frenzied day trying to get things done so the weekend can be set aside for fun, so I hope you can enjoy your weekend once the work is done! Oh, and don’t forget to take the pups for an outdoor jaunt … (you mentioned the other day you need to take them out more.)😉

    • Hi, Phil. I was going to knock off at 5:30 or 6:00 this friday, and about 5:30, I get an email from my agent, wanting something, and I didn’t crawl out of my office until almost eight, I think it was. But I was happy and content that I was able to get him what he wanted so quickly. No complaints. Puppies didn’t get out much, but we played inside a bit. –Kim

  9. Kneosha

    In waiting for the new Hollows book to come out I found an author that peaked my interest. I had been looking for a werecat series for a very long time, werewolf books are a dime a dozen. Well as I was searching I found Rachel Vincent’s Werecat series and when I looked I saw a very good review from you and with that I had to pick it up. I went through the whole series in like a week and a half. The entire story is so well developed with so many twists and turns I couldn’t put it down. I think in one of the books she put you in her acknowledgments. Thank you for inadvertently leading the way to a book series that could tide me over until the new Hollow’s comes out, I’m so excited to see what you’ve got in store for Rachel and the whole gang in this next book. My luck I’ll get it on a weekend when I have nothing to do and I will read it in a day and then I’ll be whining for the next to come out already LOL

    Have a good weeked!

    • Hi, Kneosha. OMGosh! I’m so glad you brought up Rachel Vincent. She is an _excellent_ writer, and I don’t talk about her nearly as much as I’d like to. I’m really pleased that you like her work. She’s got a new YA coming out that I’ve not read yet, but I want to. –Kim

  10. Wishing you a productive day Kim! I’m not getting much done today so far, but I start a huge project on Monday and will be working crazy hours for the next couple months, so I’m sort of cleaning the desk, recharging the mind, (reading your blog🙂 ) etc today.

    • Thanks, Tiffany! I did have a very relaxing weekend, and I’m getting ready for a hellacious Monday. I have some catching up to do. Good luck with your schedule. –Kim

  11. suzannelazear

    Yesterday the tot and the hubby planted strawberries in the new back yard. Of course she was still wearing her school uniform. But she gets filthy anyway–aparently one of their games actually involves rolling in dirt, lol. Ah, the life of a tot!

    ~Suzanne and the tot

  12. Hey, don’t you know? Fall is the best time of the year! The days don’t really get interesting or nearly as fun ’til that crisp fresh air of change and color sweeps down and carries you off into nostalgia, harvest parties, hay bails, and cozy nights.

  13. Kylie Ru

    . . . . Huh, I guess it is Friday. It kinda snuck up on me, heh. Ninja Friday!

    Here in Arizona it’s finally cooled down. Looks like the highest it’ll be this week is 92 degrees. It’s like in the 70s when I get up and take Nero (my doggie) for his walk. Kinda chilly!

    Have a great weekend! I know I will ’cause I don’t have to work today or tomorrow, WOOHOO!

    • charmedwarrior

      ha…ha….ha…ninja friday…you had me rolling on that one! i love it! ha…ha…ha.

      enjoy your weekend…whatever that is weekend and weekdays are the same to me.😉

    • I hear you Kylie! The is a daytime high is supposed to be only 65 on Sunday here in LA. Brrrrrr.😉 That’s when we start busting out the wnter jackets and turning on the heater here in the Southwest! Am I right?

    • Kylie Ru

      Ninja Friday just kinda popped in my head, haha!

      Yes, Tiffany. At 65 we’re like “OMFG it’s soooo cold!” And people think we’re crazy when we think 80 is cool. Yeah, I can’t wait till it gets down to 65 here in Mesa ’cause then I can finally wear my trench coat! I’m sooo excited😄

    • Marsha

      Oh come on guys! You’re like the people in Panama City, FL who put on a parka when it’s 65 at the beach! Grow some cojones! Cool air kills the flies, ticks, and mosquitos. To quote Martha Stewart that’s “a good thing” I LOVE the Fall!

    • Kylie Ru

      Marsha, I love the fall and winter, too. I can wear so much more stuff in when it gets cold! I HATE wearing shorts, but I ain’t crazy enough to wear jeans when it 115. I may be slightly unstable, but I ain’t that far off the rocker😀

    • Gothar

      -40F to 104F is the typical rain here and lots of snow and windchill, then lost of humid moist air in the summer.

      To avoid the crappy weather outside I read some Tanya Huff, not bad at all.

    • mudepoz

      Gothar, you sound as though you live near me. I agree, when the weather turns to crap (and here, if you don’t like the weather, wait a minute), it’s time to read.

      I like Tanya Huff’s vampire series. It’s sad she ended it where she did, but her other writing is also good. The TV series should have been given another year.

    • Antonio Rich

      I spent my saturday in freezing rain at the Notre Dame campus watching football with my dad. It’s like a religious pilgrimmage for him so i had to go. I’m not a “big” ND fan(or, a particularly good Catholic for that matter), but as pilgrimmages go, it’s not normally so bad. I mean there’s beer, pretty coeds, and a marching band…did i mention the coeds?

      I would have rather stayed inside and read Tanya Huff(or the new Jocelynn Drake) or anyone else…

      PS the Notre Dame bookstore had a decent SCI FI section and did stock KIM HAMILTON books! including the anthology “Hotter Than Hell” which i thought was pretty cool…

    • Gothar

      Coeds and beer – who knew🙂

    • KIM HAMILTON books? Antonio? (grin)

    • Antonio Rich

      Oops! Must have been the beer!

    • Hi, Kylie. Ninja Friday. I like that. 😉
      We’re still hitting 80 here mid-day, and it feels wonderful! Hope your weekend was as good as mine! –Kim

  14. Chastity

    T.G.I.F…but it does seem as though it came too soon this week. (Shrug) Oh well…hope you have a great weekend!!!

  15. Antonio Rich

    Oh BOO HOO!

    What do you want princess, singing birds to dress you in the morning as well?

    JUST KIDDING

    You know, if you need to take a few days off from your internet fan stuff from time to time, we’ll be here when you get back…would that help?

  16. So, Trent and Rachel it is?? Hmmm, do you know the book Misery??
    Little joke, wish you a great WE😉

    • Chastity

      He…he…I like it!!! Would make a great Novella, don’t ya think! JK! Well wishes to you!

    • Misery! Hahaha. Wait…a relationship between hate and sex…(scratches head, considering) 😉

    • I think the relationship between hate and sex is being married😉

    • LOL – nicely done😀 Reminds me of a recent post from a friend of mine: “I am” is reportedly the shortest sentence in the English language. Could it be that “I do” is the longest?

    • *shakes head at Julia*

    • Phil

      Trent/Rachel ?? Did I miss something!? They say opposites attract, but … Really??😉

    • Wasn´t my idea😉

    • Phil

      If Rachel and Trent take that road trip … endless possibilities!😉

    • Antonio Rich

      I still think of Trent as the politician/villain who hasn’t paid for his past sins, but who DOES seem to have a conscience. I don’t know if redemption is even a possibility(he would have to make a Kisten-like sacrifice to satisfy me), but Rachel is going to have to become a power broker/politician herself if she is going to survive. It is an interesting dynamic – they may have to meet somewhere in the moral middle ground on some issues, take on more of each other’s characteristics, to become better at what they do(or become a better person, in Trent’s case)…

    • OMGosh, Juliet. I just can’t see Rachel and Trent together romantically. Wow! I hope you had a great weekend!

    • good author, good!!!!🙂

  17. Linda (germany)

    Gooood god. Mor sipders.😮

    Right now, I won’t say anything about nature and anything. Never ever again. Nope.😉

    Here in germany is just freezy and rainy weather. It’s all cold and my family and I are walking with blankets and tee through our flat. Even my hamster comes just out, when her cage is under the radiator.

    Yes she’s still alife. I’m really amazed of her. I didn’t know how strong thoose tiny beasties could be.🙂

    Have a great weekend.😉

    • tattoolady

      my hamster seems to enjoy the snow for whatever reason. when i come in from outside he will find the snow stuck in the creases of my jacket and start to eat it or roll in it. he lived for almost 3 years before he passed away. my current hammy is more of the lay in the sun sort so i understand about how your hamster feels.

      to keep them a bit warmer in the winter i will add a layer 4 sheets thick of paper towels on top of the carefresh bedding. he will drag it into/on top of his nest and it seems to help a lot.

    • Linda (germany)

      Yeah. I have hamsterwool (special thing) for her. She got it warm in her cluster. That’s why she woun’t come out. But if it’s really warm in our flat, than it’s okay for her.
      She’s a real diva😉

      And it’s not my fault.

      Hey Ki. Do you know Joan Jett? God, she’s too cool.😉

    • Antonio Rich

      Linda. you like Joan Jett? Did you know there is a Hollywood movie in the works – a Joan Jett bio starring Kristen Stewart(Twilight) that Ms Jett is producing? It’s going to be called The Runaways…

    • Thanks, Linda! You have a great weekend, too. I started mine off with pizza, and ended it with hamburger. Mmmmmm. It’s not that cold here. We have finally been able to have the windows open at night. –Kim

  18. Other than a ‘Prairie Fire’ malus, I have given up on the yard. Cobbler’s kids have no shoes.
    I did write over on Faith Hunter’s blog, and reserved her books at the library. I haven’t tasted her writing yet. I am impressed she works a 17n hour shift and lives to talk about it. Her jewelry is pretty too.
    You and others have succumbed to the lure of the blog…
    And yes, I did post the Heinlein quote earlier. It was just too…apropos🙂
    (Now, have to go remove the do not enter signs from the greenhouse…hopefully I knocked back the mealy.)

    • Hi, Mud. Yup, Faith impresses the heck out of me, too. Some of the jewerly I wear on tour she has made me, and it makes me feel like I’m still at home. –Kim