Young Adult Author Kaleb Nation . . .

Bran Hambric Farfield Curse

. . . has his debut this week, and if you have kids that are resisting reading, this might be the one to yank them into the fold.  (grin)  I read this ages ago in manuscript form, loved it, and it’s finally out! 

Bran Hambric and the Farfield Curse is a fun, fast, quirky read, that has a tension-filled ending, so don’t think you’re getting fluff because of the light start.  I’m not sure if a sequel is planned, but I hope so. 

If you’re curious, there’s more at my agent’s blog E-reads, or you could go right to the authors website, Kaleb Nation.

Also, Eos is doing somthing fun today if you have access to a computer around 2:oo pm EST. SandmanSlim Richard Kadrey is going to be on The Beyond answering your questions and chatting with readers.  This is one of those call in and talk or just listen through your computer shows.  I’ll be doing one myself later this month with the authors of the anthology UNBOUND, so if you’ve tuned in before, you know exactly what you’re getting.  I read Richard’s SANDMAN SLIM and loved it, so if you’re looking for a hard-boiled fantasy with bite and humor, you might want to tune in and see if it’s for you.  Click to get to The Beyond.

As for me?  I’m working on the Hollows world book this week.  OMGosh, it’s going to be fun.  I don’t want to say too much and be a tease, because in all honesty, it’s going to be two years before this hits the shelves.  Sheesh!  –Kim

22 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

22 responses to “Young Adult Author Kaleb Nation . . .

  1. Dee

    Kim,
    You have recommended so many writers and their books. One writer that has kepted me company while waiting for your next book is Mercedes Lackey. Her Valdemar series is awesome. After reading a vampire series that was very ho-hum I realized exactly what makes you two such good writers. You both have an amazing way of juggling people, places and things. Your books are multi-dimentional instead of being one dimetion. I have spent many a sleepless night starting and finishing one of your books because I couldn’t put them down. You made a comment in one of your blogs about “page count”, if I could change anything about your books it would be to double or even tripple the “page count”. Thank you for sharing your stories with the world. Dee

    • Thank you, Dee! I’m so glad that you’re enjoying my work so much. I don’t read enough of other authors work, but Mercedes Lacky is wonderful. As for the page count? Mmmmmm, I hear what you’re saying, but I like my page count right where it is. Actually, I’d like to shorten them just a wee bit, make the story tighter. But more Hollows books on the shelf? Yeah, that would be nice. 😉 Time and balance. It’s all about time and balance. –Kim

    • Dee

      Okay Kim, (not that you need permission-grin), you can shorten your books but only if you write 20 or 30 more. We will read as long as you write.

  2. Teresa

    Hi Kim,
    I just read Ley Line Drifter and I have to ask—-was Jenk’s daughter named Jolivia a shout-out to Vicki Pettersson, or just a great coincidence?? My son and I both thought it was wonderful!

  3. mudepoz

    Tease. Worse, a TWO YEAR CLIFFHANGER.
    You might as well have shot JR😉
    *Sighs* My age is showing again.

  4. Mandy

    Hey, there. What do you mean by the Hollows “world” book?

    • Hi, Mandy. It’s going to be a good size accumulation of old facts and new material, sort of a guide book to the Hollows. I can’t wait to get started on it, and I’m doing the preliminary work right now. If I hussle, I can get most of it done before my copy edit gets here later this month. Whoo-hoo! I’m burning the midnight oil! (grin) –Kim

  5. Phil

    😀 Wow Kim, those books sound enticing, the YA, too, if its more YA than tweens. And i’m excited about the Hollows World! Did i miss something ’cause i thought you said it was only a possible project?
    I’ve mentioned this before but i love that you give us insights into your creativity like how you shape and develop characters. Like you said Al is your favorite right now because he’s growing as a character. And your wonderful, complex characters are what first got me hooked back when DWW debuted. Right now Ivy and Trent are faves for me since both seen to be struggling with their feelings…maybe not so much in Trent’s case, lol, but i think there’s hope for him.
    Sorry if that’s too long for one post! ~Phil

    • Hi, Phil. I’m thinking THE FARFIELD CURSE is targeting tweens, but I’m kind of clueless sometimes about stuff like that. The Hollows world book has been in the works, but it wasn’t until recently that I signed the contracts, and _that’s_ when it became real to me.

      I’ve recently decided that Al is my favorite character in more ways than one. OMGosh, he makes me smile. –Kim

  6. SeattleRobin

    Congrats on being asked to submit to the 52 stories! Though I wish you’d been asked sooner so that I’d have known about the site sooner. Now I’ve got nine months of reading to catch up on. Yikes!

  7. Roxanne

    Hi Kim, just had a quick ??. Is the next book the one with Rachel and Trent on a roadtrip, or was that gonna be book nine? Im so excited ! Oh and congrats on the stories! cant wait to see what you will write! Will it be Hollows related?? roxanne

    • Hi, Roxanne. Ah, the next Hollows book is Rachel in trouble, and then next year is the roadtrip. (I write the rough draft 8-12 months before it’s due, and then add another year for it in production.) The 52-story short story is going to be one already out. I’m thinking the Mia short. –Kim

    • Roger

      Kim, NOT MIA – – In this opportunity to show outsides some of the Hollows give them Rachel “Two Ghosts for Sister Rachel” or Ivy “Undead in the Garden of Good and Evil”. Sorry, the choice is yours, guess I’m not much of a Mia fan and think both the Rachel and Ivy shorts were the best of the shorts.
      Roger – Illinois

    • It’s not the characters that I’m showcasing here, Roger, it’s my story telling, and Mia is a top-notch, crackerjack short story in 20 pages with that ending that sort of throws you. You don’t need to know the world to understand motivations or tragedies in this one. Mia is perfect.

    • mudepoz

      That short is what drove me over here to get more information. There was more packed into that little gem that didn’t come out until so much later. The driving forces behind Ivy’s character shown.

      *As I wait for my mechanic to open so I can find out about the check engine light and wondering if I can teach a class on dissecting popular lit instead of Shakespeare. Then again, I think he WAS pop lit. Ack, more coffee*

  8. Suzi Lazear

    All sorts of good stuff! Yay! Hollows world. How cool!
    Well, both yesterday and today the tot got off to school with no tears. She’d discovered the school has neat things like music and PE — and the computers have games on them! (to which I got, Mommy, why don’t you have games on your computer? LOL)
    Have a great day!
    ~Suzanne and the tot

  9. Elaine

    Ack! I am in raptures over all of the reading that I’m going to be doing in the future! A graphic novel, two new novels, and a Hollows world book (which just sounds awesome!). I’m all bouncy and I can hardly wait!