So I says to Guy . . .

Let’s go get a cup of coffee.   And your entire life changes. 

That’s one of the reasons I’m addicted to writing, and it is an addiction.  I’m in a rather introspective mood this morning as I get ready to send off my brand-new, shiny graphic novel to my new editor, both confident and not.   And I’m sorry, but your going to bear the brunt of my mood, which is a conglomeration of about a months worth of unrelated experiences.  But back to the coffee and how it relates to my work/life. 

Let’s go get a cup of coffee . . . and your entire life changes.  That’s what I like about writing.   It’s that unexpected cup of coffee that pops onto the page and adds a love interest, puts a character in the path of an oncoming taxi, or out of the way of one.  An unplanned shift of fate that turns ones face from the west to the east, and from that shift, an entire bag of sparkly jewels of choice and thought come pouring out.  As a writer, I can pick up which ones I want to string upon my beaded chain of story.  As a person, I can do the same, though it takes a lot more guts.   Trust, almost, that whatever happens, there will be more jewels to choose from, be they polished or rough.

So go for a cup of coffee,  look for the jewels, the diamonds in the rough, and pick out the ones that call to you for their beauty or their ugly misshapen glory, and string them on your thread.

But first . . . you have to go for a cup of coffee.

  –Kim

93 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

93 responses to “So I says to Guy . . .

  1. SeattleRobin

    Beautifully written post, Kim. And I think it helped me discover something. My life gets screwed up because I don’t like coffee. (grin)

    I finally got my copy of Unbound and read all the stories! Ley Line Drifter brought up two questions. Unfortunately I don’t have the exact quote handy, but there was something about…as stupid as a fairie’s third birthday party…or something to that effect. Why would that be stupid (or whatever the word used was)?

    Second question is, why is Vixen’s Guide so huge and does Ivy think she needs that much help? (grin)

    • Hi, Robin. Tea makes a good substitute. (grin) I’m so glad you got the anthology and that you enjoyed LEY LINE DRIFTER. Thank you! You asked about a the fairies third birthday party? I’ve no idea. Sometimes, Jenks’s phrases just pop in, and I use them, not knowing just what they mean. As for the Vixen’s Guide? Again, I’ve no idea, but I though it was cool. 😉 –Kim

  2. Nicole

    I agree with Ezgi though i think that you should come up with an end that isn’t as fast as that. I hope Nick get’s what’s coming to him! If it was slow, i would love it. That way he suffers.

  3. michelle

    okay i posted before about whether or not there will be more books to the madison series and i went thru most of the earlier blogs that are still up and found that kin is indeed making a third installment…. enter confusion here isnt there only one out in the series? Once Dead Twice Shy? Isn’t that the first one in the series? If there are more already out what are the titles because I cant find them and is Once Dead Twice Shy really the first one? Any answer would be greatly appreciated thank you.

    • Hi, Michelle. I did a novella that introduced the series in the anthology PROM DATES FROM HELL. My story was titled THE DIM REAPER, and it is well worth picking up if you liked ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY. It explains everything. Enjoy! –Kim

    • michelle

      thank you so much kim i will definately be picking it up real soon as well as all the books in the hollow series ur a great writer and i loved once dead twice shy. enjoy your holiday

  4. Heya Kim! Just finished Ley Line Drifter and really liked it. Wrote down 11 names of Jenks’ kids. Will we ever get to know all 54 or don’t you have enough Js? And let me guess: Sylvan will come back, right? So looking forward to Black magic sanction! Oh and when I sorted out old publishing programs earlier today I found a Dawn Cook picture above the Alyssa Series. Nice! Although blonde and short hair was a bit unfamiliar, but nice.
    Hope you had a great weekend and a wonderful monday😛
    Aimée

    • Hi, Amy. Oh, cool. You wrote them down? I’ve got a list of them, actually, so maybe we’ll get all in print someday. I’m hoping to get Sylvan back, and Daryl. There’s too much potential there to just let it die. OMGosh, is my Dawn Cook picture out? I’ve got to go see. Is it the one with the jeans jacket? (laugh) That’s a wig.

      I’m glad you liked LEY LINE DRIFTER. It felt good to get into Jenks’s head a little. –Kim

    • mudepoz

      Good, then maybe I won’t Misspell Jamoke/Jumoke…
      Next litter will be early for me, but will have my keeper… More J’s (Dang, my matrilineal lines all start with C…

  5. michelle

    ok i have the same question as julia seeing as i just finished the Once Dead Twice Shy book and saw that it was the beginning of a series and i was wondering the same thing ” are there going to be more books?” Because I totally agree that there should be more and I definately have every intention of reading all of kims books now because I loved her writing… I hope this gets read and answered cuz i’m a little confused about this blogging style as well… even though ive never blogged but still kinda confused…. thank you guys for reading or listening…

    • Phil

      Kim absolutely reads and answers all the posts Michelle, tho’ might be after the weekend.

    • Hi, Michelle. More books? You bet! The second one will be out next spring after the main Hollows book, (EARLY TO DEATH, EARLY TO RISE) and then a third is planned. I’m so glad you’re enjoying my work. Thank you! –Kim

    • mudepoz

      IS THIS THE TITLE! You have a name to give us that someone else didn’t ferret out.
      YOU ROCK! (do they still use this phrase..I have one more day away from the Ivory Tower.)

    • Grin. Yup, that’s the title, and I don’t think it’s been released yet, so I was the first. Whoo-hoo! –Kim

  6. shauna

    Hi Kim, I wasnt gonna put another comment here this weekend but after the one I left yesterday……Some days your the bug, some days your the windshield- I was a bug yesterday. Having a better day today though.
    It is pretty cool how somthing so simple as having a coffee, can change somthing so much. Thats one of the things I like about writing, introducing somthing new and finding all the new places it can take a story, all the new situations that can be created from that one thing being brought into it. Its one of my favorite things about reading too.
    May you have a good weekend, hopefully without being a bug or a windshield.

    • mudepoz

      Some days you’re the dog, some days you’re the hydrant…
      Ducking and running. I’ve wrecked Kim’s wonderful Friday Musings…

    • shauna

      Not really what I meant, but true so, im sorry.
      What I meant by the bug and windshield thing was that (yesterday) I was a bug, got splattered on a windshield, had a bad day, wrote a stupid comment and woke up this morning thinking ‘yes, I am an idiot.’
      then got up, apologized to friends and family and left a new comment. sorry about yesterday, wont happen again.

    • Thank you, Shauna. That’s one of the reasons I write, too, the shifts of fate. I hope you have a better day today. What I do when I’m the bug is I find one good thing that made me smile that day before I go to bed. It might just be the way the light hits the leaves, or that there was milk still in the fridge, but I say “that was good.” –Kim

  7. Julia_W

    This has noting to do with your post, but i didn’t know any other way to ask you this. I have just finished “Once Dead, Twice Shy” and i loved it, and on the home page to this website it said it is a start of a new series, so my question is, are there going to be more books following the “Once Dead, Twice Shy”? I think you should definatly continue the story. I dont know how this works, but if someone coud answer my question I would greatly appriciate it.
    -Julia

    • Phil

      Kim always replies to these Julia, so hang in there.🙂

    • Hi, Julia. Yes! This is exactly the place to ask me. There is a sequel in the works, and it’s titled EARLY TO DEATH, EARLY TO RISE. It’s scheduled for about the same time next spring as ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY, so not so long of a wait now. I’ll be turning in the third book next month. 😉 I’m so glad you enjoyed the first. Thank you! –Kim

  8. Everett

    Life can be a not-so-simple series of serendipitous events, if you have the werewithal to endure it. Mine has been such for over 16 years now, and I am continually amazed at whatever comes down the pike. I have come to the conclusion that this is the best way to live, never-ending, wonderful, and completely scary. Take care,
    Everett

  9. mudepoz

    *Note: I take the third way…but I like it rough

    Road Not Taken
    Robert Frost

    Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

    Then took the other, as just as fair
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
    Though as for that, the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black
    Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

    Robert Frost on his own poetry:
    “One stanza of ‘The Road Not Taken’ was written while I was sitting on a sofa in the middle of England: Was found three or four years later, and I couldn’t bear not to finish it. I wasn’t thinking about myself there, but about a friend who had gone off to war, a person who, whichever road he went, would be sorry he didn’t go the other. He was hard on himself that way.”
    Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, 23 Aug. 1953

    • See, Robert can put it so much better than me. Coffee, roads, he wins! –Kim

    • mudepoz

      No, he was just so much older. Besides…prose versus poetry… just different.

      I take the road that I get when the Garmin confuses me. It actually will give up on the humor, and post a finish line flag and refuse to put the pink line up…

  10. Niki

    Drat, I read this post to late, but I know what I’m doing first thing tomorrow *grin*.
    Have a wonderful three day weekend Kim!

  11. Tom Gallier

    But…I have a coffee machine. And the nearest coffee shop is 45 minutes away. I live way out in the country.

  12. Judi in NJ

    Kim…I loved your post today…you are just awesome.

  13. Phil

    Kim, it is so totally understandable as you turn in the Graphic that you are introspective and kinda philosophical tho’ i have to say i truly believe the GN will be very well received!

    And i share your “unexpected cup of coffee” view… it can lead to amazing ideas and experiences, and in your case awesome books, too!🙂 As other readers have said, you were born to write! ~Phil

    • Hi, Phil. I hope so. I really do. (sigh) And thank you. I feel like this writing thing is working out really well. With all the choices that I could have made, this one fills the soul, and lets me give something of myself back. –Kim

  14. James Fox

    Hi Kim-It’s Jim from Youngstown. After reading this post and Takata’s songs, I have to say that I was stricken between the eyes by a request that is probably way in left field. Would it be possible to do a prose poem like this about Rachel and Ivy? I know that ideas don’t fall out of the sky or anything, but I think your readers would snap it up. And I am getting Unbound soon, Just feeling alittle poor as my 17-yr old cat ran up a pile of vet bills,(Granuloma and diabetes),then had to be put to sleep and buried at Angels Rest Pet Memorialas I don’t let my pets suffer or lie unremembered.Finally,what I originally ment to say before you smacked me between the eyes, is it me or is Ivy getting physically stronger along with the other changes from drinking Piscary’s blood (sensitivity to light and loud noise,so on)

    • Phil

      James, I just read your post and had to say I’m so sorry about your cat. I know words are completely inadequate, especially since we’re strangers, but I hope you’ll accept my sympathies.

    • Niki

      I second those sympathies, though Phil said all that could be said.

    • Jeannie

      HI James Fox! Sorry to hear about you cat. Went through something similar last year with a dog(Ginger), she was 16. Rough to lose a member of family. Noticed you said your in Youngstown, I’m in Canfield. How ironic is that.

    • SeattleRobin

      Jim, you have my sympathies on the loss of your cat also. I lost my dog (his pic is my avatar) last year and know how hard it is to lose a faithful companion.

    • Hi, James. You mean me compose a poem about Rachel and Ivy? OMGosh, you’re right about ideas falling out of the sky. I am so not the poet that I usually only write one a year, if that. Takata has seemed to have left the building, and no one has come in to bring music back to the Hollows. It’s a shift I’m not entirely comfortable with, but we’ll see what happens. As for Ivy? I don’t think so, but maybe?

      I’m so sorry to hear about your cat. I recently put down my border collie, and it was hard, but now I smile when I think about her. She was a good dog.

  15. shauna

    Wow Kim that was nice. And its true, so true.
    But what do you do if nobody if nobody ever ‘asks’ if you want a coffee?
    What if you just get told to drink it, no matter how bitter it tasts, and to act like you like it, and when the jewels come you find that theyre only rocks, painted to look pretty? But now i find myself in better surroundings with better people, and suddenly im looking at all these coffee places that im free to walk into and have any drink of my choosing….and im terrified. I know its not as bad as think it is, but i cant seem to get this bitter taste out of my mouth. Perhaps its time i wash it down with some better tasting coffee, all I have to do is stop being such a baby and walk into the shop. *sigh* sorry for bieng so sooky……..Oh hey I just finished A Fistful Of Charms, very, very good read, i loved it! Now I just have to wait for the bookshop to ring me to pick up the next book , its been about a week now so it should be there any day! Cant wait. Thank you for writing such bloody good books.

    • Hi, Shauna. I don’t know your situation, but it sounds like you’re coming out of a hard place. Being brave with one’s own spirit is often as hard if not harder than being brave any other way. To risk reaching out and being rebuffed is hard, but once you give it a try, it gets easier. Just listen to your gut so you don’t get hurt. Preditors suck. (grin)

      I’m glad you enjoyed FOC. That is my favorite so far. –Kim

  16. Jessi

    So true. I had my own “epiphany” if you will over a cup of coffee. I decided I would go back to college and finish my degree. You inspired me. I read your books from the time I was in High School to a now mother of a 6 month old. Thank You. I see your dedication through your books. You write when things are rough and when things are “normal.” You didn’t stop when your earlier works were not bestsellars. Thank You for being my inspiration. BTW: I like the above comment of Ivy pinning down “shit-for-brains”, and Rachel Running him over in a cab while Jenks pixes him. Take care, Kim. Sincerly, Jessi

    • Hi, Jessi. Wow, I wish you all the success at college. Truly that is a momentous decision that is going to take all your determination and resolve, but going to be so worth it, something to be proud of. Your bag of jewels just got a hundred times bigger. (grin) You take care. –Kim

  17. So that’s why we’re so much more evolved in Seattle🙂
    Coffee is life, life is coffee.

  18. mudepoz

    Or tea, in your case. My life is a series of choices…quite quickly. Stupid things happen to me, but as a small microcosm…I do dog agility. Good dogs, bad handler. So for me, not getting lost on a course is a BIG deal. Make the wrong decision, and the dog can end up in China. There is a lesson in all things. No matter what the decision (in my case today…run and make time and take out about five jumps and killing myself, or take the long way, and go over time. (Grin) since I’m not a hurt old lady… THEN I went out for coffee. And still managed to take a first for one of our three ones. LOL…Have a wonderful weekend.

    I have the JOY of getting an Overdrive audio book from the library. Listening in the car to EWWBD🙂 It’s amazing how much more I get when I can listen instead of read. Ceri’s release and then helping Keasley…sigh.
    I loved it. Again. One of my fav scenes…

  19. chromatophore

    Hi Kim!

    I’m posting under a different nym today because I don’t want to be easily connected to my usual online persona, for I’ve arrived at my own coffee shop moment.

    I’ve been thinking for many months of turning my back on my chosen career in order to enter another field, the products of which I’ve been greedily consuming for as long as I can remember — in a tech support role.

    I have no formal training. I don’t have the technical toolset and can’t use the jargon. All I have going for me is a kind of pattern recognition, an eye for detail and the ability to do research. I can fix things but can’t easily articulate why they should be this way and not that. I have a few reservations about the tools and conventions used by the majority of professionals in the field; reservations that have a lot to do with regional variations in usage — and I don’t know how well I’ll be able to conform to the prevailing standard.

    A coffee shop has appeared. The proprietor seems interested. Do I go in, or do I return to what I know best? What if — and this is the most probable scenario — I cross the threshold and am firmly and quickly ushered out again with a “sorry, you’re not good enough”?

    In a few days I will find the courage to do something about it, but right now I’m standing out on the pavement, looking through the glass door at the mysterious happenings inside. And I am afraid.

    • Hi, Chromatophore. Mmmm, you certainly are on the sidewalk looking in. That you’re still there is a good indication that you know it might be a life changing cup of coffee and it’s important to you. I can’t give any advice, but being afraid isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Letting fear cloud your judgment is. If it were me, I’d go for a real cup of coffee with a friend and get their opinion, but not necessarily take it. (grin) Just try it on, see if it fits. Good luck.

      It’s a lot easier to find a way to make money doing what you love (which is hard), then finding a way to love what makes you money (which you can’t). –Kim

    • chromatophore

      Hi Kim!

      Thanks for the kind words. I’m a bit red-faced now😛.

      That thing above was the unholy product of the stuff that roils around in one’s head at four ack emma, when you just can’t get back to sleep and you’re messing around on the internet and you come across a post that makes the stuff you’ve been wibbling about explode from the compartment you’ve stuffed it into. And then you unload in an inappropriate place.

      Funny how the morning light brings perspective back, doesn’t it?😉

      You’re so right about the impossibility of trying to love something you got into just to make money. Given enough time, even the things you’ve enjoyed about a career you chose for pragmatic reasons get buried in drudgery.

      I’m still afraid of failure but I reckon that if I don’t try I’ll fail by default. So I’m off to open that door.🙂

      p.s. still wish I could retract comments on WordPress, though.😛

    • No worries, Chromatophore. None whatsoever. –Kim

  20. Tiffany

    Ah serendipity and revelations stirring in the east – what a cup of coffee indeed! And what a beautiful post – thanks for sharing and inspiring. Truly, your writing means a lot to me.

    PS – Trust it. It’s the thing that makes the stringing together worthwhile.

  21. Thursday

    the way you can make a small blog about coffee uplifting and warm shows just how amazing you really are as a writer! You have profound talent as a writer we all know this that have read any of your books! But you just keep feeding us our amazing fixes we need from your writing with your awesome blogs! Love it! I think I will go order one of your Demon Lattes! Hahaha

    • Thanks, Thursday. I really appreciate that. I love stringing things together, and coffee and pearls and life-shifts just . . . merged. I appreciate you guys letting me get philosophical somedays. –Kim

  22. Thursday

    You should be a spokes person for Starbucks! hahaha

  23. Alicia

    Very deep. Your an awesome writer. You just gave me goosebumps!!

  24. mari campbell

    its only september and people are already putting halloween things out……

    • trish

      I’m in Australia so we don’t really have Halloween but it’s the Christmas lights I saw going up that freaked me! Still something like 17 weeks away! But I shouldn’t be surprised as I know of at least one department store that began their Xmas flogging about a month ago! My kids get so confused and by Xmas it is all a bit blase! Maybe Halloween would be good as a distraction for them as we don’t have any holidays until Xmas, now. Bah! Humbug!😉 Also gotta say that his year I saw first Easter eggs the week after Xmas. Boy, they sure know how to flog holidays!!

    • I saw that, Mari! And yesterday, I was in a store that was playing Christmas music. Guy asked him about it, and they changed it. (That’s my Guy for you. laugh)

  25. Lee

    Oh Kim, that was wonderful! I read your blog everyday, have never posted but needed to today. I’ve had a crummy week, feel like I’ve been lashed about thirty times, but your comment lifted my spirits today. I think I’m gonna get myself a LARGE cup of coffee🙂

    Have a great holiday weekend!

    • Thank you, Lee! I’m glad you posted. I like hearing from the lurkers. 😉 I’m so glad my words shifted your mood. That’s what it’s all about. You have a great holiday, too! –Kim

  26. Thomas McNeill

    There ya go,,,,back to the coffee and off the tea like a good little “itchy witch” (I thought you were getting too much like Ceri,Grin,Not that theres anything wrong with that) Through an intensive search,I found a series called NightWorld by L J Smith,the author of The Vampire Diarys,
    and it at least gives me something to do while I wait for your next book to come out.It’s not bad,but its not much of a substitute for the Hollows books. I miss Racheal,Ivy and Jenks and “NO” other book is going to take their place.I’m even thinking of re-reading them,and I “NEVER” re-read,my memorys too good,I remember everything and there are no surprises,nothngs “fresh”
    When do you think the grafic novel will be released and where can we pre-order it?I hope its soon because I feel like a junkie jonesing for my next fix (big grin) I’m just sayin.
    Thomas

    • Hi, Thomas. Thank you. (grin) I’m honored that you’ve put my work up there in your ranking. I really am. 😉 You should try a re-read of DEAD WITCH WALKING to see the tiny beginnings of threads that don’t explode for a couple of books. It’s kind of cool. The GN won’t be out until next fall, which is really fast for this media. Hope you like it! –Kim

  27. candace

    Beautiful post! I love going for coffee- never know who you might run into! At home, our apartments have this coffee place and they give away free coffee to all the residents in the morning. I make a point to get up and walk over to get a cup of coffee. A nice chance to stretch my legs, see what the day is going to be like, and see the people.

    It is interesting how one seemingly innocuous action can lead to a strange turn of events. Coffee houses are one of the best places ever- I love the small, independently owned ones, or the ones that are not huge chains. They have a different atmosphere. It’s nice.

    • That’s perfect, Candace, and how lovely that your local place is fostering a feeling of community. Guy and I were in one of the coffee independents just a few weeks ago, making big shifts. (grin) –Kim

  28. tattoolady

    I knew it!!! coffee fixes eveything!
    i did not go for coffee today but i did go to breakfast with the Hubby and the cutest little girl was helping out. she was so careful as she brought me my juice! i loved your post today. i think that you are a wonderful writer and it is nice to hear that you truely love what you are doing .you like the rest of us, have moments of inspiration that change the story for the better. i am with gother. throw nick in front of the taxi. with my luck the rat bastard would live to see another day,or worse he is in good with the vampires,lol. i hope you are enjoying the day.-tattoolady

    • Hi, Tattoolady. It’s not really the coffee, it’s putting yourself in a place where new things can happen, so hey, you’re good! (grin) And thank you. I do love to write, and that others enjoy what I do is the biggest high there is. (sigh) You have a great day, too. –Kim

  29. Suzi Lazear

    What a great post. Simply beautiful. Just what I needed after leaving the tot at kindergarten where she proceeded to scream and shreik. Sigh. I got to be *that* mom this morning. So, yeah, I went for that coffee (I could use something stronger than milk and sugar in it tho). We’ll see what happenens during the rest of the day.

    Happy Holiday Weekend.

    ~Suzanne and the tot

    • Hi, Suzanne. OMGosh, it’s going to be okay. She’s just seeing what she can get away with, and will settle down soon. You’ve raised a smart girl, and she’s finding out her limits. Calm and sure of yourself will get through it. 😉

  30. AWere

    HA! I was wondering if I should walk down to the coffee shop before I read this. Wonder no more. I am often stunned how fate can turn on the simplest action. About six years ago, I randomly (or was it random) decided to go to this club. I met some very interesting people, and one very irritating guy, so I went back a couple of times. This irritating guy kept following me around. I enjoyed going, but sheesh this guy was too much. Fast Forward six months and I was married to this guy. Five and 1/2 years later still in love with the irritator. We are probably the only two people on the face of the earth who could put up with one another. And I wouldn’t have found him if I hadn’t “randomly” decided to go the club that day. ***or would I***

    • Hi, AWere. That’s it exactly! I’m facinated myself in how one little thought or notion can explode into an entirely new direction in life, and playing with that in my work is one of the reasons that I write. –Kim

  31. Chrisy

    This was beautiful… ö.ö
    Thanks for making me smile and feel warm inside ^__^

  32. CLJ

    well crap, does this mean I have to start drinking coffee??🙂

  33. Linda (germany)

    That’s one of the proofes that you are a absolutly great writer. It was very depp and yes, I did go for a cup of coffee after I read it.🙂

  34. Gothar

    That was deep. I just hope you put Nick in front of a moving taxi. Yes, am still bitter… On the bright side we have a long weekend and I get a new office chair showing up tomorrow afternoon!

    • tattoolady

      I second the Throwing of The Rat Bastard under the taxt.😀

    • I’d have third that but i don’t think (hope) Kim will pick an easy end for him. Not before he is told a couple of things. Now, if Ivy drove that taxi and Rachel pushed him in front of it while Jenks was pixing him, i wouldn’t object.

    • tattoolady

      ivy driving the taxi? no i think she would be the one holding him down as he was run over repeatedly by rachel.

    • Gothar

      And I thought I was bitter.

    • SeattleRobin

      Count me in as a member of the Throw Nick In Front Of A Moving Taxi club. Though seeing him rent into little itty bitty pieces by a demon might be more satisfying. I never liked him from the first.

    • Thanks, Gothar. Somedays, things fall into place. Nick, eh? You’ll be glad to know he does come back so Rachel can settle a few things. As for the taxi? (grin) I’ll do my best. –Kim