What a Graphic Novel Rewrite Looks Like

. . . or at least what my desk looks like as I’m doing one.  ;-)  Post-it notes.  (grin)  If you’ve never used post-it notes in your rewrites, you might want to give it a try.  I collect them as I write the rough draft, jotting down notes, ideas, motivations, and reminders to include something again or not forget something else. (like a purse or that her pants are torn)  And then, when I go back and rewrite, I stick the note on the hard copy of the manuscript where I need the reminder.  It’s saved my butt too many times to dismiss.  Writing it down helps cement it in my thoughts, but because it’s “real” and tangible, I stop worrying about remembering it.  (shrug)

Kim's desk

To be honest, this is what my desk looks like after I clean up.  The reality is a few more stacks of paper, a pencil sharpener, a couple of pencils, paperclips, (lots of paperclips) and a cup of tea.  I’m hoping to push through the rest of the rewrite this week.  It’s been interesting comparing the two different writing styles.  The rewriting, though, feels exactly the same.  Ivy’s motivations areclearer, and it’s a lot tighter overall.  I’ve pulled out about four pages so far, two of which are gone forever, (the page count is strict) but the other two are going to go right back in again at the end where I kind of crunched during the action.   It’s looking good.  I’m happy with it. –Kim

52 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

52 responses to “What a Graphic Novel Rewrite Looks Like

  1. Jenn

    Hi Kim,

    I’m happy that you are happy with your GN. It is always great to feel like you are accomplishing something (grin).

    Oh, btw, I am sooooo jealous of your desk location. My home office is in the basement (yuk) cause that’s where my hubby’s workspace is. I would love a window with a view…talk about inspiration & I’m sure a distraction too!

    • Oh, the basement? I don’t think I could EVER work in a basement. I like the sun too much. But I also understand about taking space where you can get it, so . . . . Whatever works! 😉 –Kim

  2. Jenna

    So… What are Dirty Harry movie are you going to use for the title moniker? Don’t think I didn’t notice. Well, my husband noticed, but that is besides the point. He particularly liked The Outlaw Demon Wails as a title, he got a good chuckle.

    However, the question still stands. What is the new title going to be, and if you don’t know that, which Dirty Harry movie are you going to draw inspiration from?

  3. Setsuna

    What an awesome workspace!!! Sunshine on your desk!! Sao Paulo has been cold and rainy. (So was Rio!) I can’t wait to feel some sun on my face!

    • Hi, Setsuna. It is a nice office. The best room in the house, but since I’m in there 6-10 hours a day, I don’t begrudge myself having it. Have fun in the sun! –Kim

  4. JaylanPHNX

    Have you checked out the Microsoft Office program OneNote? I’m just now discovering it and it may just be better than stickies. You can jot down all kinds of notes and then rearrange them later into different notebooks or pages in notebooks with subject tabs and all kinds of useful stuff. You can also capture pics and screenshots and stick them into your notes on the fly. Could be the next best thing since fresh bread.

    • Hi, Jaylen. OneNote? Sounds good, but it’s all on the compter, right? Sounds like a great way to organize one’s thoughs, like for long-term planning. –Kim

  5. luvsvampyrs

    This is the first I heard of Unbound-so naturally, heading out to find myself a copy!! Just love the Hollow’s series. I have read Once Dead Twice Shy. It is a good story and looks like there could possibly be more???? Thanks for keeping me entertained Kim! And yes-Ivy is my favorite.

    • Hi, LuvsVampyrs. Oh, you have to go give it a try! You get a really fantastic taste of not just my Hollows, but Jeaniene Frost’s Bones, Vicki Pettersson’s Signs of the Zodiac, and Jocelynn Drake’s Dark days, all well established urban fantasy worlds. Melissa Marr introduces some new characters, too. –Kim

  6. Candace

    I absolutely LOVE sticky notes. They are a lifesaver. That and mini legal pads in fun colors. I just scribble all over these things, and I used to stick the stickies on my laptop keyboard before bed because the first thing I do when i wake up is almost always to open and turn on my laptop.

    I think I should start saving all the stickies, and paper my room with them. That’d be a different way to decorate a college apt room lol.

    • Hi, Candace.

      You and me both! I don’t know what I’d do without my stickies. It would be a mess, that’s for sure. Mmmm, I like the idea of papering a wall with them. If only they would stay up forever. 😉 –Kim

  7. kiraglade

    Thought I would share with you the surprise I got yesterday on the train. We were leaving a station and this guy was staring at me, kinda thought it was creepy until I got a vampire “Kiss Kiss”.
    Totally forgot I had my burning bunny pin on LOL

  8. Kim,
    I got Unbound in the mail today from Books-A-Million. I can’t wait to read it. I’ll say it again, I just LOVE my 6 mini-mugs. The cups fit perfect in my mini “coffee/tea/hot cocoa” brewer. :o)

    • Valinda! That’s fabulous! It shipped right on time for you! Yay!

      I’m glad you’re enjoying your mini-mugs. That’s what I’m drinking my tea out of this very moment. FDM mug to be exact. 😉 –Kim

  9. Robin

    I love post-it notes. It keeps me somewhat organized and are fun to use. I use different colors to represent different things.

    So, when can we expect the new Rachel Morgan book?

    • Robin, I’m right there with you. I color code mine as to which book they are for. (grin) –Kim
      The next Rachel Morgan book is due out late Feb, 2010. BLACK MAGIC SANCTION. Whoo-hoo! –Kim

  10. Jo

    Hello Kim.

    I love the post it notes idea. I’m going to try that one. Congrats on release of Once Dead Twice Shy tomorrow, but I’ll have to wait a bit to buy – unfortunately bills must come first (or maybe that’s good). And I am looking forward to the graphic novel. Your desk looks clean, how do you do that? I can’t keep my organized – well it’s an organized mess. I’m glad that I have the hard cover editions of the hollows series – my paperbacks are showing signs of wear. I like the new look for the website. It may not be that new anymore but I have not been online for the last three months.

    Jo – Cinicnnati

    • Hi, Jo.

      Oh, yes. Use the post-its. I love them. As for my clean desk? It looks like that about four times a year is all. I have to be organized, though, or it would take me twice as long to do anything. (laugh) Good to see you back at the drama box! –Kim

    • Jo

      Yeah I messed up it was supposed to say congrats about Unbound being released… That’ll teach me to look at books to buy list while I am typing.

  11. Stephenie

    I’m so excited for the graphic novel. It’s so interesting seeing how you work and the way the Hollows comes to be. If I ever manage to find a job now that I’m in college I’ll actually be able to buy Once Dead, Twice Shy. I don’t know how many more readings my poor Hollows novels can take.

    • Grin. Hi, Stephenie. You remind me of me when I was in college, rereading the books I had. I hope you get a chance to find a copy of ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY. The library should have it! –Kim

  12. Angela

    Kim: Gosh it has been forever sense I have been able to stop and say hi. This is the first posting sense you switched over to this. Which, by the way this is nice. Life has been crazy busy, I haven’t even had time to read some books that came out. I usually am right on top of em. Anyways, something happened that I just had to take the time to stop and tell you about it. I carpool with my pre-schooler, and the other mom reads a lot too. She has a girlfriend who reads the same genera (sp) as I do. So I told her to tell her friend to read Kim Harrison, she would fall in love. Well wouldn’t you know a while later I get a phone call. It is her friend. Kristeen is her name, and she was hoping she could meet me, and if I would be nice enouph to lend her the other books. Well, of course i lent them and she is totally addicted. We are going to get coffee and talk hollows when she is done(grin). I just thought it was kinda cool, that two people who have never met connected through your books. Well have fun with your re-write. Blessed Be, Angela, Billings, MT

  13. Indy

    Hi Kim!!! I too am a sticky note junkie. They’ve weened me off at work, and now all my ‘to do’s go on a list. However, they still run wild at home. 🙂 Are we going to get a sneak peek at the graphic novel, maybe a scene or a cover? I wanted to let you know that B&N let my know that Unbound shipped. I can’t wait for it to get here!!!~Indy

    • Hi, Indy. Sneak peek? You bet! I don’t have anything to share yet. We’re still looking at artists and colorists. I turn my script in early September. Very cool your copy shipped! I hope you like it! –Kim

  14. Sticky notes are a must. As a creative professional myself, I can’t even stress how those little sticky yellows save time and my sanity.

    An insight of your creative processes is thrilling.🙂

    • Hi, Sharelle. I have to laugh when I read your last comment. I’ve been watching my creative process change over the last ten years or so, facinated at how it shifts, myself. –Kim

  15. Elaine

    My feel is going to look much like yours all too soon, now that school is starting today. On mybway there now!

  16. Kneosha

    I’m glad to see that the GN is still goin good even with all the stickys! I really liked the Jinx and Bis story in Unbound. The anticipation is killing me waiting to see what happens in the next Hollows novel and the graphic novel XP

    Kneosha

  17. Phil

    Hi Kim, thanks for the organizing tips … I can really use them. Wow, you and Ivy are both really organizers! Grin.

    Yay! I found the perfect puppy at the rescue shelter and i’m set to adopt her … A blond Golden Retriever named Bailey. Playful and sweet!😀
    Good luck with the rewrite, Kim.
    ~Phil

  18. mudepoz

    Kim: In all the books you’ve written, both as Kim or Dawn, who was the easiest character for you to get into the mind of? Who was the most complex (betting on Ivy, but not sure since I still haven’t gotten to the Truth book…)
    Mud, whose bups are gone. And laughing because even cleaned up, my desks will never be that organized…I believe in the stack method of organization. The newest crap on the top, oldest on the bottom, then toss EVERYTHING at the end of the school year. *Shrug* works for me…So much for the paperless university.

    • Hi, Mud. The easiest to get into the mind of? I really don’t know. Each of my protagonists is so different, each of them having a different area that is easy or hard for me. I’m sorry I don’t have an answer for you. Congrats on the new, empty house! –Kim

  19. Joy

    Toooomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya tomorrow, you’re only a day awaaaay!! YAY!! Unbound comes out tomorrow! I am PUMPED! I am glad to hear that your rewrite is going well. Post-its are a fantastic invention! Have a wonderful week.
    Joy