Yep. It’s Fall

I think I heard an owl clacking its beak at me last night when I put the puppies out.  Needless to say I hooted aggressively at him and cut the night “walk” shorter than usual.  That’s all I need–the nightmare of a young, nervous owl thinking that my dog is a night-running squirrel.  I don’t think bared owls take prey as big as my dogs, but adolescents of any species are kind of . . . awkward.  (grin) 

The young squirrels, too, have been chased off by their parents and are trying to build nests nearby.  It’s an awful time for them as they figure it out, snipping branches, dropping them, and then if they somehow miraculously get them all together in the crook of a tree, they might fall apart anyway, and all that’s left is a pile of green leaves on the ground and they have to start over.

It’s going to be a quiet day today as thing-two goes back to school.  Mmmm.  I did the mom thing and took his picture.  I like seeing what the first-day-of-school clothes were and how they change with time and his perception of himself.  This year was very casual with a T bearing a thought-provoking statement.  It appears he’s comfortable with who he is–and that makes me feel good, too, bill clacking and twig dropping aside.  –Kim

32 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

32 responses to “Yep. It’s Fall

  1. Marsha

    I so know what you mean about the dogs. I have a small Pomeranian who looks like a very tasty squirl with that gorgeous tail. We have a barn owl that comes back every fall with her one baby. Needless to say my pretty boy does not go out alone at night…oh so much fun when the urge hits at 3:00 am!

    • Marsha, one of my dear writer friends just lost her Pom to a fox last month. It was horrible. Just horrible. Her husband fought that fox with his bare hands. He was a hero and saved him, but the stress was too much for the dog, and he finished his affairs with grace and passed on. –Kim

  2. SeattleRobin

    I got a big chuckle out of the aggressive hooting. And I think there’s something really wrong with school starting in August, especially only half way through August! Gotta love those first day of school pics though. My mom always took them too and they’re fun to go back and look at as an adult.

    I was reading a reader’s and Kim’s comment under a previous entry about finding Kisten’s killer in WWBC. I agree with that reader that I was left with a bit of a hollow feeling too, but then really enjoyed Rachel’s little flame fest to help release her emotions. I know you took a lot of flack for it, Kim, but I liked how you decided to go with that whole thing.

    But what I’m wondering is if I’m the only one who was also actually relieved when they found the vampire already dead? I was freaked out that Rachel, so beat up and just a few steps up from dead, took off with Ivy after an undead vampire, and with no preparation! So among all the other emotions I was also feeling extreme relief that they didn’t end up in a fight that would have likely killed them both.

    • Hi, Robin.

      If Art had been alive, then it would have gone a lot differently, that’s for sure. Thank you for understanding why I did what I did. I know what I want to see and what the reader want to see are not always the same thing, and I appreciate the trust you have put in me to deliver a good story, even if it doesn’t have the ending you want. –Kim

  3. Kat

    Hey Kim~Wow! school starts early for you. We have 2 1/2 more weeks of summer vacation out here. That’s a great idea about the first day picture. I think I will do that too!
    ~Kat

    • Kat, one year, they started us the first week of August. The nearby theme-park and other touristy stuff raised such an uproar that they started to move it back to the end of August. I’ve no idea why they moved it in the first place.

      You don’t take pictures the first day of school? Really? Maybe it’s a Michigan thing. (grin) I need to start a poll.

  4. Phil

    Hi Kim, i actually watched a documentary once about animal behavior where squirrels were “stealing” yellow ribbons that people hung around trees but the squirrels would only take the cotton ribbons and leave the synthetic ones alone! My favorite was the woman who said that when her dog was in the park playing with other dogs, if another dog took her dog’s toy, her dog would run to her and bark until she went to get the toy back! Honest, true story!!😀

    Enjoy fall/summer! here it’s still HOT!!! ~Phil

  5. There is no way that writers can be tamed and rendered civilized or even cured. the only solution known to science is to provide the patient with an isolation room, where he can endure the acute stages in private and where food can be poked in to him with a stick.
    Robert A. Heinlein

    Writing is not necessarily something to be ashamed of, but do it in private and wash your hands afterwards.
    Robert A. Heinlein
    :p

  6. Candace

    Oooh, school. I’ve been in school all summer- summer session. I wanted to take some classes to get some additional credits out of the way. I’ll be done with that next week, and then three glorious weeks of nothing before heading back here for the fall quarter.

    T-shirt’s that have thought-provoking statements are always awesome. I also like the ones from Threadless that have the witty, sarcastic tees. One of my favorites says “Stop destroying our planet, it’s where I keep all my stuff.”

  7. suzannelazear

    Hi Kim! Jr. cookbook. I can deal with that, lol. I would *love* the carmel corn recipie (and so would the tot.) How do you shake off a “bad writing day?” Yesterday I got contradictory comments from contest judges and I’m ready to pull my hair out. Maybe I should stop ebntering contests, lol. They make me crazy. Now I just can’t get back in the goove. Sigh.
    ~Suzanne and the tot

    • I hear you, Suzanne. I think the best way to handle constructive comments is to keep in mind what the judges write themselves. If you’re writing an Urban Fantasy, and have a body in the first chapter, a romance writer might tell you to put it in the second half of the book. For a romance, that might be the perfect spot. Good luck!

  8. Jade/Third Coast

    Hey Kim, I don’t know what an encap is, but this was a table display (among several) as you entered the store. It was not in the YA section but it wasn’t really in any specific section as far as I could see. It was easy to spot as you walked in the door. I think they are trying to cash in the Sookie Stackhouse series because of the HBO show. Sookie is the most prominent name on the sign.

    In any event, I doubt I will complain again. In trying to find Borders website on the web I ran across another site of Borders employees blogging about the store and the problems they have experienced since a reorganization. I got the distinct impression it would do no good to continue to complain and what I saw is a symptom of the problems.

  9. Sara

    Ugh…we’ve only had a week or two’s reprieve from the mid 90s-100s this summer. It sucks. Luckily a mighty storm rolled through here last night and it’s actually cool enough for me open the windows, yay! The weekend is forecasted to be a heavenly high 80s – no, that’s not even sarcasm. After 95-103, 88 feels damn nice.

    I envy you and your noticeable seasonal change. Usually we experience one too, but this year has been so damn hot that I can’t feel the relief yet…..hopefully by September.

    Anyway, popped in to say “hi” mostly, check out what’s going on in your world (yay for going back to school! I always enjoyed it for the first few weeks :p after that, not so much), and say “damn, you’re busy!” I’ll be checking up to see what you hve to say about the graphic novel. 🙂

    • Hi, Sara.

      We don’t have much of a relief from the heat yet, either, and my window is open unless it’s oppressively hot and in the 90’s, but yeah, the slight cool down feels good. –Kim

  10. Fall. The students return, the halls are crowded, and I have to get the last minute touches on my labs I’ve been developing. Bups go to their homes this weekend. Getting used to crates now. *Sigh*
    Probably no longer have to worry about the Great Horned owl or the red tail hawks. Why do they always know when I have a litter. The ornithologists here claim they can hear them in my office. Amazing creatures, even if they keep me awake. I hear a raptor scream and I move VERY VERY VERY fast for an old lady. (OK, I am not as ancient as I write, but YOU spend every day with teen and twenty year olds. My fav music is their classics or elevator music. Although they do keep me up to date. Freaks me out Nirvana is 20 years old.

    *Note to self, get SASE out to Guy for Flaming Bunny Stickies*
    *Another Note to self*
    ‘Page 15,000. Hot sauce, diluted, bitter apple and snappy traps, along with judicious use of crates and tethers make ones walls much happier.’
    Dog Training in 100,000 days.

    Hmm, me too verbose?

  11. Shawna

    For some reason, I can imagine someone hooting back at owls. “Hoo Hoo Who are you Hooting at? Hoo Hoo Who do you think you are?” Ok. bad bad bad me. (flinches) I’m going to stop.

    On the note of going back to school, I hope your son’s day was a good one. I remember those pictures. Mother doesn’t let me forget them.

    Michigan is still going into the high 80 F then stretching past the 90 F. I just spent a week helping my friends show their various animals at the county fair. I finally got my unintentional sun tan for the year. For some reason it doesn’t feel like school should be starting this soon.

  12. tattoolady

    We are at about 95 degrees uphere right now so my hint of fall that was in the air has go away only to leave me with full blown summer.ugh. i am uber excited about your graphic novel comming out! when is the big day or don’t you know yet? i am excited to see if how i see ivy, rachel and the others are like how you see them. a kong toy helped my pups get through the teething stage without my walls (or chairs,shoes etc) bareing the brunt of it. -tattoolady.
    p.s.-the first day of fall is sept 22.

    • Gothar

      Lies! We have trees changing colour already so autumn is upon us

    • tattoolady

      i live in southern conn. so where ever you are you a lucky person! i love fall so i look forward to it like a kid on christmas morning. i hate the heat but i take it as an excuse to swim and play in the gardens.

    • Hi, Tattoolady. For me, it’s less about the temps and more about the sun’s angle. And it’s definitely shifted. It feels like fall.

      I’m excited about the graphic novel, too. (grin) I’ve got a date of Fall 2010, which is pretty fast. –Kim