Music as the Muse

As most of you already know, I’ve been working this month on the first Hollows graphic novel.  I’m writing the script myself so as to try to keep the feel of what the books are and the emotions that flow between Ivy and Rachel as they move through the story and solve the crime.  Stretching different creative muscles has been wonderful.

It’s been an interesting month–getting back into Ivy’s head.  I’ve been avoiding her and Piscary, and I can’t do that.  I figure I have today and Monday until I finish the rough draft, and I’m hoping I have a few extra pages to go back and add a page or two with Piscary so that I can really bring out the mental and physical abuse that Ivy is trying to overcome.  She is so unbelievably strong . . . and yet so broken.  I love her character.

I have no idea how this expression of a woman fighting an emotional battle she can’t win is going to fly in a world of comic-book heroes.  I don’t care.  All I have is what I see, what is gripping my mind.  And that’s what’s going on the page. 

How does music as my muse enter into all of this?  It took me almost a week, but I rediscovered Ivy’s music, and I’ve been listening to Garbage and Evanescence a lot.  I’ll get into the savage side of Ivy when I go back and clean the script up, but for now it’s all about . . . the stuff that they sing about.  Those two artists are almost perfect fits.  I don’t always listen to music when I write.  Sometimes, I work better in silence.  But for now, it’s Amy and Shirley.

–Kim

98 Comments

Filed under Drama Box, Graphic Novel

98 responses to “Music as the Muse

  1. Shondrea

    I realy am enjoying ur hollows bppks they are so interesting. I have to congrats to u for the graphic novel(grins).Ivy is my favorite character along with Rachel and i can’t wait till the GN comes out. But what i realy cant wait for is the new Rachel Morgan book. I have a very then patience and spring 10′ isnt coming fast enough (its bad enough i have to wait till novmber for New Moon to come out). But overall u are my favorite author and ALL of your books are amazing. Im only 13 and i never liked reading but when i read DWW i fell in love and for my 13th birthday i yelled at my mom to take me to hastings to get the whole series.Since it was my b-day she bought all of the books for me an i was so happpy. Im wondering if the new rachel morhan bk has a month it will come out besides spring 10′ just so i can mark my calender (laughs). You are an AMAZING author an thanks for getting me hooked on reading.LOve your books!!!
    —-Shondrea

    • Hi, Shondrea! Wow, I think you are one of my youngest readers out there. I’m honored that the Hollows has gotten you interested in reading. Thank you. That means a lot to me. It won’t be until Feb 2010 that the next Hollows book will be out, but . . . there is a novella coming out on Tuesday in the anthology UNBOUND. It is about Jenks and Bis, and I had a lot of fun writing it. That might help you with the wait. Keep on reading! –Kim

  2. Heya Kim, check out Zoe Keating for some dark instrumental mood music. The slick, rich cello melodies definitely remind me of Ivy’s turmoil. Also, Zoe Keating just looks like she could be a character in your books!

    http://www.poptech.org/popcasts/popcasts.aspx?lang=&viewcastid=169

  3. Marianne

    Do you know PJ Harvey? Down by the water is a song that I think it’s very Ivy.

  4. Stephenie

    Kim! I’m really excited for the Hollows novel. I think the publishers and artists should just go ahead and put a rushorder on that so it can come out… oh… soon!

    I love Ivy, and I love every chance you give me to see further into her relationship with Rachel. One of my best friends is an Ivy, fighting some of those same battles in herself and overcoming the strange mix of sexuality and vulnerability that Ivy fights in herself. Like Ivy she’s attached herself to me in ways I’m not really comfortable with. I feel as lost as Rachel most of the time. I find myself wishing I could give her blood, just so I could give her something. I cried the first time I read through the series because I was realizing just how much I had forced myself to be unaware of. Now with Ivy, Rachel, (and Jenks’) help I’m rebuilding a friendship with her, and we’re finding a way to be friends. It’s hard and I always look forward to your books, hoping they’ll give me a little more guidance. Seeing as there isn’t a “Your best friend is a and emotionally turmoiled, troubled, bisexual, who sometimes erupts in violence and is possibly in love with you,” guides. Mostly because the title is too long.

    And as if I couldn’t make this comment long enough…
    I love that there is an artist who shares my taste in music. Evanescence, Garbage, A Perfect Circle (I sit and listen to Imagine and shiver!)… I love how open you are about your music, and I love your music page because music is a huge influence on my characters as well. It makes me so happy to see that others out there work the way I do, and are so successful at it!

    Thanks for reading my super-long brain blurb!

    • Hi, Stephenie. Oh, they are kind of rushing it, actually. (grin) Apparently these take longer than a year to come out after deliverly, most times. I just signed the contract last month. (Wheee! It’s like the big hill on the coaster!)

      And thank you for your words on how Ivy has helped you think about your own relationships. I hear what you are saying, and I’m humbled. Thank you. And good luck figuring it out. (smile) –Kim

  5. Mud

    Kim, I have several dear friends around the world who are neophyte writers. It’s my goal to keep everyone’s spirits high, but I’m not sure how to handle this:
    ***
    .243 left this message 2 hours ago:
    I spent yesterday evening reading publishing blogs. They are enough to make you hang up your pencil and hide in a cupboard, weeping.

    Short stories for token payments and the warm fuzzy feeling of seeing my name in print feel like the way to go right now. That is assuming that I ever manage to finish a story without stalling, of course.
    ****
    Any ideas to at least raise the moral of my little group? It seems most of my young friends are running into this more and more. (Since I don’t write fiction, my support isn’t well…supported sometimes)
    Mud. Who realized these youngsters are in their ’30’s:)

    • Hi, Mud. I was in my 30s when I started to write. (Just as they are.) I focused on novel-length fiction mostly, going to weekly writer meetings for the better part of four years. (Just as they are?) I took a year off of writing novel-length fiction to try to break into print with the SS market, (just as they are thinking of doing,) and didn’t get very far, but started getting nicer rejection letters by the end of it. So I took one of the short stories I wrote (while still unpublished) and developed it into DEAD WITCH WALKING, which sold, and sold, and sold. I guess what I’m saying is that –they are right on track. There is no sure way to become published, but if you don’t write to begin with, then you surely won’t be. You simply make writing part of your life, like brushing your teeth and going to work. And then . . . it happens, and you can’t say how. It’s a hard market right now. If it was me trying to break in, I would concentrate on making my work as professional as possible. Luck, luck, luck to all of them. –Kim

  6. Linda (germany)

    Oh Kim.
    Tha’s so great. Really. I read the text and it sounds just perfekt. Ivy is really so unbeliveable strong. I read many books with many different characters and many strong women, but she’s special. Congratulation:-)
    I always enjoy, reading something about her, understanding her past better, she’s incredible. And I hope so badly, tha’t she’s going to find a way, live with herself and her life.

    Yeah yeah yeah. You did something with me Kim.😉

    • Linda, one of a writer’s goals is to touch their reader’s thoughts, to get them to think about their own life. If I’ve done that with you, then I am honored. Thank you. –Kim

  7. Kat

    Oh Kim! I made a Gravatar! I am so excited…I’m a nerd I know…what can I say.😉 I’m a sea turtle! I was going to put a picture of my son surfing…but I guess I don’t need to put his picture on the internet. Thanks so much for the Gravatar link. ~Kat from California

  8. Karen Feldman

    Hi Kim –
    I cant wait to read the graphic novel. Ivy scares the crap out of me…
    Don’t know if you’ve seen this yet, but I was surfing Deviant art & came across this: http://renin001.deviantart.com/art/Hollow-scene-84309863

  9. A.N.

    Saludos Ms. Kim! I think this song is great for Ivy.
    “Bad Things” by Jace Everett,
    When you came in the air went out.
    And every shadow filled up with doubt.
    I don’t know who you think you are,
    But before the night is through,
    I wanna do bad things with you

    Maybe Kisten sang it to her. I can’t wait for the graphic novel.
    Ms. Kim, I read that you have lunch with Ms. Faith today, cool! I like her book Skinwalker a lot. There were Salsa music and Jane dance. What can I tell you?, the little things…
    Be Happy! A.N.

    • Hi, A.N. Oh, I like that! Thanks!

      Yup, I had sushi with Ms. Faith on Friday. She is doing good, and she reminded me to take it easy. I tried. I don’t know how successful I was. (grin) –Kim

  10. Shawna

    The fact that you’re going back and telling more of Ivy’s story makes me very excited. For various reasons, there are times that I connect a lot with Ivy.

    As far as portraying emotions in a graphic novel, you’ll be counting on the graphics. I can’t wait to see what is done with the illustrations. The style. The color. The inking. It will be especially interesting to see how close my own visual interpretations, in my head, (And really light pencil sketches) are to the artists.

    • Hi, Shawna. Oh, me too. I can’t wait to see this thing come alive. I’ve realized that I’m a face person, recently. That it’s the expressions on the face that move me more than anything else. And light. I saw some examples of light that blew me away. And then there’s perspective . . . I’ve never worked on anything with this many people involved, and it’s kind of scary. –Kim

    • Shawna

      I can imagine. In college, I had a few assignments where I was paired up with people from other classes. Business, and creative writing. My assignments were to design and illustrate various pages, covers and pamphlets, to go with there assignments and presentations.

  11. SoNotYourShadow

    Hey kim,
    You know I read your drama every day (it just one of my internet rituals EX. check email, check youtube, check drama box) and I have never posted any thing before. But in the vein of music I have this whole scene in my head the one where Rache (played by Nicole Kidmann in here) is Whereing in the pit and She Wolf by Shikera is playing softly in the background it would continue throught he fight and end with Arethas first howl. Anyway good luck whith the gn and try to have some fun this weekend.
    ooVV

  12. Amanda

    Hi Kim! I am so very excited for this graphic novel, especially since it’s from Ivy’s point of view! Not gonna lie, I’ve got quite the crush on Ivy, hehe. So I’m super excited for the graphic novel🙂

    And wonderful taste in music! Two of mt favorite bands, especially Garbage. Wonderful fits for Ivy!

  13. Jenn

    Hi Kim

    Yay!!! I am so excited to see things from Ivy’s point of view. She has always been my favorite character (but I love them all). I’m really rooting for her & Rachel to make a go of it, no matter what IT is.

    As for seeing how it all began, I think that is always great. I’ve been trying to imagine it ever since I read DWW.

    Well, I hope you have a great weekend, I’m off to a group birthday party on Saturday. Can you say drunk fest? I think I’ll stay sober & use the camera a lot! (grin)

    Jenn in Canada

    • Hi, Jenn. Cool! I hope you like it when it finally comes out. 😉 I hope you had fun at the party. I’d be the one with the camera in the corner. –Kim

  14. Kaala

    Just have to say that I love your books! I got Outlaw Demon Wails on audio for a birthday gift, and now my fiance and I are going back and ordering all the audio books for our daily commute🙂 It’s quite a suprise to find a book we BOTH like, and a pleasant one at that.

    I’ve been wondering though, and can’t really seem to find it in the FAQ – what’s the difference between fairies and pixies in your book, exactly? Maybe the first book explained and I forgot, but I’m dying of curiousity!

    • Niki

      Just thought I’d mention it, though you probably know if You’ve frequented the previous drama box, the Outlaw Demon Wales audio book has a different narrator then the rest. It might be a little offputting, but you should fall in to the cadence of a different voice by the end.
      Happy listening.
      Niki

    • Antonio Rich

      Niki, i don’t know if you know this, but Ms. Gavin(Spelling?) will be doing the audio for Carrie Vaughn’s series Kitty series.

    • Thanks, Kaala! I’m so glad you’re enjoying them! Mmm, the difference between fairies and pixies. I’ve got an essay that Rachel wrote at the website. http://www.kimharrison.net/Extras.htm#Pixies Hope that helps! –Kim

  15. Phil

    I’ve totally resisted having a favorite character, how do you even choose when they are all so unique and interesting in their own way!? Rachel and Ivy are both so incredibly strong and complicated in such different ways and, of course, that’s part of what drives the story, and every one of your characters brings so much to the series!

    Having said that … of course I’m crazy about Rachel and Ivy and Jenks and on and on and …

    ~Phil

    • Phil

      …Kim, sooooo great that you’re hearing Ivy’s music while you work!! and her savage side, I can’t wait to see how that comes out in the Graphic!!!

      have a great weekend! ~Phil

    • mudepoz

      See, now my favorite characters are Bis (who will be getting Rachael in the end…) and the stuffed rat. Different strokes (TIC!!!!)

    • Phil

      Guess i weaseled out on the faves, can’t decide, okay, Rachel, wait, Ivy, wait yeah Ivy, no Rachel AND Ivy, and Jenks!!!

    • Gothar

      A deceased Nick in rat form – now that’s perfect!

    • Thanks, Phil! I have a hard time chosing my favorite, too, so I usually go with who ever is changing the most. Right now, it’s Al. (grin) Or maybe Trent. . . . -Kim

  16. Chrisy

    Music and Ivy! Yeah my two fav subjects! How can you do this? I couldn’t write about such a tragic person if my butt dependet on it. I would cry or give her a happy ending way to soon. You’re a cold cold lady Mrs. H. (grin) Thank you.
    Music! Yay! You have such a good taste. Garbage! NIN! (dances)
    Have a great weekend! – Chrisy

    • Hi, Chrisy. It’s been a rough week. I forgot how draining Ivy is. No happy ending for her this go around, but in the end . . . I hope to have it there for her. If she will accept it. –Kim

  17. Indy

    Hi Kim!!! I think there is no need to worry how Ivy will fit in comic book world. She’s a very interesting and complex person. I’m a comic book fan, and have been for awhile. I love my Spidey, X-men, and Buffy. Honestly, the action isn’t the biggest draw for me. Its the way the characters deal with who they are and their environment. That’s what makes a great comic book or story. You need to care what happens, just like in a regular book. Although, you do need good art as well. 🙂 I know it will be amazing. Happy Friday!!!~Indy

  18. Sabrina

    Hey, Kim! Long time, no post, but I’ve been too busy watching my life going down the drain lately. First, I split up with my boyfriend after nearly eight years of relationship. My decision, but it hurts nonetheless. A few days later, I get involved in a car accident. Wasn’t my fault, but my car was a mess as well as my neck, which got me signed off work and bought me some time with my parents. Now it’s back to work and I’m sitting in this goddamn flat of ours, not being able to cope with the memories that keep flooding into my brain. You see, I’m really having the time of my life… At least I was able to include the letters “IV” in the number plates of my new car, so my favourite vamp will hopefully protect me from further harm. Congrats on the GN project! I’m not really into them but I’ll certainly give this one a try. Take care!
    Sabrina

    • Antonio Rich

      Hey Sabrina. I know i’m a stranger to you, but this is a public forum and i couldn’t help reading your post. I just wanted to say that the one thing everyone – and i mean EVERYONE! – has in common, is that if you love deeply, your eventually going to have your heart broken. I know it sucks, but we all have to go thru it eventually. Hope you feel better soon.

    • Sabrina

      Thanks, Antonio. I really appreciate your words. I’m having a hard time at the moment but I know it will get better in a while. Thanks for your concern. It really made me feel better.
      Sabrina

    • Mud

      *Kof*. I’ve broken a lot of bits of my body (did you know that the warranty expires when you get old?) but I have not, knock on wood, had my heart broken. Whether I’ve done so I don’t know, but the Tall Dude and I have been married 24 years, and dated for 5. Of course, my next litter theme may be grounds for divorce.

      There are wonderful guys out there, the trick is to not look🙂

    • Ain’t that the truth, Mud? –Kim

    • OMGosh, Sabrina. That’s a big emotional move. I know it will be a positive one in time. I hope your neck feels better soon, too. You take care. –Kim

  19. Lucie

    But that’s what’s so great about it! Of course, it’s only natural to want a happy ending and promises that everything will all work out somehow, but realistically, that just isn’t the case all the time. In a fantastical world such as The Hollows, it’s refreshing to still be able to identify with the characters because their problems are as real as our own. (Spoiler) It’s like the final reveal of Kisten’s killer; I thought it was great! My first thought was: that’s life. It left me feeling a bit hollow, but that, to me, is the mark of a great writer. Like disliking/loving an actor or actress because they betray a certain hateful/loveable character so well.

    In any case, I’m really looking forward to the graphic novels. I try not to think about it, actually, because then I get excited all over again! And I love those two artists. Temptation Waits and Bleed Like Me are probably my fav. Garbage songs (at least off the top of my head!). Good luck with your writing!

    • Hi, Lucie. I’m so glad you understood the ending. A lot of people were expecting the Hollywood happy ending where they shoot-em-up and hang-em-high with totally satisfaction, and that’s not what I wanted.

      Ooooh, I’ve got some Temptation Waits, I think. Must go look. Thanks! –Kim

  20. Kat

    Yikes…I just read it’s not exactly your birthday…but you are a Leo…so at least I got that right!🙂 ~Kat

  21. Juliet

    Evanescence is not my sort of music, but garbage is great (at least the few songs I know).
    Imo the song that fits Ivy the most perfect is Play Dead by Björk (thanks for adding it to the Playlist btw😉 )
    I´ve loved Björk and the song long before I got to know your books…but now, when I here the song, I always think: Yay, that suits….:-)

    I´m really looking forward to the GN. Ivy was my fav charakter (next to Jenks) from the beginning of the series…and after WWBC she is it even more. Thanks for your books, I´ve such a great time with them!!!

    Wish you a great Weekend…Greetzs from Hamburg, Germany🙂

  22. Kat

    Hi Kim~I have not posted in a while. First: a huge congratulations on the graphic novel thing! I am really happy for you and for myself too because I will have more Ivy (she’s my favorite female–strong and broken), Kisten (fav male), and Rachel! Yay!!! Second: A big happy birthday to you. I am not surprised that you are a Leo…all of my favorite women friends have been Leos even though I am the opposite sign…Pisces. I have questions for you, but I think I will post them at a later date. Have a great weekend!~Kat

    • Thanks, Kat! I’m still really excited about this opportunity, and I’m working hard on it the next couple of weeks.

      And thanks for the birthday wishes. (grin) I have a lot of Leos in my life. We get along just fine. 😉

  23. Leigh

    I think graphic novel readers will love Ivy as a heroine, there’s a reason she’s so popular as a character in the Hollows world. Her emotional battles are what make her so damn interesting. And as for those who are already a fan of the Hollows, I think everyone is curious to know what happened to Rachel and Ivy during their I.S. days. =)

    I was wondering, is this graphic novel going to be a one time thing for this prologue story, or is it likely to go on to further volumes which will cover the events in the novels?

    Enjoy your weekend!

  24. Antonio Rich

    JENKS TRIVIA #2(Who can answer first?): When out with Rachel, Jenks likes to order his coffee:
    A) Espresso-Black-Domestic
    B) Espresso-Turkish
    C) Latte Grande, Double Espresso
    D) Coffee-Black

    Extra credit if you know why he doesn’t like one of the other choices(grin)

    • Phil

      that one has me stumped, but do you remember which candy Jenks begged Rachel to put in her bag for him to munch on while she was waiting to pay for Ivy’s Christmas present in EWWBD?

    • Antonio Rich

      A big bag of M&M’s apparently overpriced, but being sold to raise $ for…? Oh! to rebuild fire-damaged city shelters(I had to look that one up)

    • Kaala

      I’m going with A, because “that turkish crap gives me the runs!”

    • Antonio Rich

      YES!!! He’s not shy about what he likes, is he?

    • Phil

      can i still guess on Jenks Trivia? Jenks is kind of a coffee, black, no sugar kinda guy, i think?

    • Antonio Rich

      Phil! (GRIN)No, before Al introduced Rachel to more exotic fare Rachel was more of a Coffee – Black kind of girl.

    • Jenks dear doesn’t have any idea what he’s missing with Turkish blend, and he likes his espresso black, the domestic way. His loss, really.

    • Antonio Rich

      I had a friend who was from Kuwait and he brewed me some Turkish blend one time and, i don’t know Ezgi, it is certainly an “acquired” taste (grin)

    • A.N.

      Helloouuu!
      The answer is (A). In ‘The outlaw Demon Wails’, page 25, Jenks asked for it and then said “That Turkish crap gives me the runs for a week”. In ‘A Fistful of Charms’, page 283, Ivy asked for coffee and Jenks asked for “sugar and cream”.
      Answer (C) is part of Minias coffee and (D) is Rachel.
      I want to know in what book and page it said that Ivy gave the owls to Erica. I suspect it was in ‘The Good, the Bad and the Undead’, but I’m not sure. Can you give me the answer?
      Be Happy! A.N.

    • Antonio Rich

      A.N.! Your a trivia machine! Ivy giving Erica her owls isn’t in any of the books, it’s just Kim’s unwritten thoughts on what happened to them. B good!

    • Sue, Chicago

      Sorry Antonio, but Ivy giving away her owls IS in the books. In The Good, The Bad & The Undead, Chapter 15, Pg. 213. When Rachel was about to turn Bob, the fish, into her familiar, it is mentioned that Ivy gave away her owls to her sister after one almost killed Jenks’s youngest daughter, Jezebel.

    • Antonio Rich

      DOH! Sue is right and I am wrong: It IS mentioned at the beginning of ch.15 that Ivy gave her owls to her sister.

    • Phil

      i really stink at trivia!!

    • Antonio Rich

      You’ve got me laughing now, Phil!(Grin)

  25. I guess you are also aiming to get new readers with this GN, not just writing a prequel-short story with your characters. I’m not denying the marketing aspect of it. You should rest assured that GN readers will be blown away with your characters, Ivy and Rachel both. Piscary may come off like your typical villian for those readers, polished and polite on the outside, utterly twisted inside. Still though, the good thing about your GN is that there is a whole series of books to read afterwards. That is not the case for many GNs, and exactly the reason i stop myself getting into them lest i get involved with it, find them too short or unfulfilling and want to read more but can not because there is none. I prefer prose to GN anyday, but having a GN to any book is just icing on cake; simply irresistible.

    What i’m trying to say is, you have nothing to worry about.

    Once again i want to tell you that i love Ivy to pieces. Her flaws and her struggling to be a better person inspite of them are what makes her perfect. One song that comes to my mind is Alanis’s Everything, though your choices are better matchs.

    I’m really looking forward to read it. Is there a chance for us to see a glimpse of it before it’s released? Is that too much to ask?

    • Hi, Ezgi. Thank you for the words of confidence. I’m not terrified, just worried that the new market is not going to “get” Ivy, and see her for what she is. And if they don’t, then I missed the ball. I don’t want to miss the ball. I want to smack it out of the park. (sigh) I want them to understand the tragedy of Ivy, not sticka label on her. –Kim

    • That’s what i meant, there are no precedents to Ivy. Those labels in the market are inadequate to describe her. She is no wronged heroine, no retired/sworn-off warrior willingly or unwillingly seeking revenge. There are so many examples of those, personally it is getting boring. Ivy, though, is so fragile under that breathtaking front. Now, one may say that is how most vampires are represented, but i disagree. What other vamps i got see are oh-so-perfect, so very resourceful, and have human companions who are just more than willing. What does Ivy have? An obstinate, unpredictable, indecisive, suicidal witch with a golden heart. You know all this and more better than i can explain. Just wanted to point it out to you. Let the general GN reader to see that about Ivy.

      Just now, another song came to my mind. Ever heard Sway by The Kooks? Sounds like something someone would say to Ivy, maybe Rachel when she is trying so desperately to help her.

    • Thanks, Ezgi. You understand Ivy, and I hope I can translate that to the page. I really hope I can. Ivy deserves it.

      I’ve not heard of that one, but I’ll try to find it. –Kim

  26. Antonio Rich

    There are aspects of Ivy’s past and present that hit a little close to the mark personally, so i guess i’ve been guilty in the past of caring too much. I’ve avoided reading the short in Dates From Hell, but i will eventually. A turning point for me was the last book, WWBC, when i stopped glorifying her as a victim and started seeing her as a person, someone who has had a rough past but is in the process of re-making herself. And, sometimes she is going to make mistakes, avoid confronting problems, choosing the wrong person(s) or actions…But, she has become more of a person, more “real” to me. I’m glad your going to show all aspects of her past, including Piscarry’s influence. I mean if your going to challenge yourself, you may as well go all the way. I’ve always trusted your vision and your ability to tell this aspect of the Hallows story, but i’m even more interested with your recent comments.

  27. Chastity

    I agree that Ivy is a great character and those of us that know of her are itching at the opportunity to truly get to know and understand her and I think that the people that are already into the whole GN scene will be blown away when they get a look inside the world that your fans already know, love and crave.

    As far as the music goes, I couldn’t agree more…those bands really fit her…Have you ever heard of Kerli, she’s new here in the states but she’s been making waves across the big blue…she’s from Estonia. Anyway, she has a song called Bullet Proof that I think of when I think of Ivy…check it out if you get a chance.

    Much love and positive energy coming your way today!

  28. Just finished the first Madison book and I really liked it! I am going to give it to my tween niece Katie to read. I know she will like it. Take Care!

  29. Billy in the sticks

    Hi Kim,

    Kudos on the graphic novel! I can’t wait for it to come out. You shouldn’t worry about how people will take Ivy. I think Ivy’s emotional struggles will fly in the comic universe just fine. You have a wonderful world created in the Hollows books. So don’t worry. Have an awsome weekend!

    • Thanks, Billy. I got to thinking about it, and the original comics usually had the hero going through an emotional wringer about something, so maybe Ivy will fit in there. –Kim

  30. V^^^^V

    Happy Friday!

    I know you’re a little worried about how new people may feel about Ivy but you don’t need to. She is a great character and you have a very rich setting in which to tell her story. The GN’s will sell faster than Piscary pizzas!

    I’m also looking forward to seeing an artist’s rendition of what you world looks like.

    V^^^^V

    • I hope so, Vampy. It usually takes me a couple of tries of anything to get close to what is actually expected. I’m always just a little bit off. –Kim

  31. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim! We are on the same wave length here! Spent the day listening to Garbage yesterday while I cleaned. “Never Be Free” is a really good fit for Ivy. I need to revisit my Hollows play list and add some new stuff! Have a great weekend, here I hope to get out and take some photos. *VV*

  32. Bob J

    Dear Kim,

    Glade to hear that the GN is going so well. Ivy must be a tough personality to write. At the end of the day how do you turn her off? I can just see you out in the kitchen separating the recycling, and cleaning your sword. I hope that you do not wake up in Ivy mode. That would really be a fun morning for the Harrison family.

    Have a good weekend and best regards,

    Bob J.

    • Hi, Bob. She is hard, and that’s probably one of the reason’s I feel so tired right now. And, uh, the organization thing? Yeah, I’m just as bad as Ivy, sometimes. That’s where she gets it. Minus the sword part. –Kim

  33. mudepoz

    That which does not kill us makes us stronger.
    Friedrich Nietzsche