No, it’s not my birthday.

If you’ve been over to my MySpace, you’ll probably see a few Happy Birthday! messages.  It’s not my birthday.  (grin)  But I am a Leo, so I told MySpace my birthday was on the 13th so my age will click over in roughly the middle of the right astrological sign.  That’s all it is.

Not much going on here this week.  We finally got some rain, which is a relief.  I know the weather has been wonky everywhere.  No need to get into the reason’s why, but I’ve been trying to reduce my carbon footprint when I can as a matter of principle.  Good karma, I suppose.

Richard Curtis, my agent, has a priceless blog that revolves around the industry, and I want to link to it today.  There have been a few articles that have popped up this last week that might be of interest to the established and hopeful writer.  Truly, if you want to be informed in this industry, you might want to bookmark e-reads blog and check it out.  It changes fast.  One thing I was really disturbed about was Publishers Weekly being dropped as a in-you-hands magazine.  Dude–it’s Publishers Weekly.

As for me?  I’m working intently, making good progress on the GN. 😉

 –Kim

56 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

56 responses to “No, it’s not my birthday.

  1. Nicole

    Thanks for the advice on my new book Kim! My friend and I are trying to come up with new things that can happen. The only problem is the order sequence and timing everything perfectly. So far we’ve got chapters 1-7 done (not edited yet though) and a little of chapter 8. Now i’m just writing bits and peices and fitting them together. Chosing the scenes i want to go in it. Sometimes i’ll just sit at my computer for four hours writing the same scene over and over again until i’m satisfied.

  2. A.N.

    Hola Ms. Kim! I got news (but maybe you know already), the movie “Alice in Wonderland” (2010) features Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter. I saw the trailer and I liked it. Johnny as the Hatter is very cool, I love all the weird and crazy characters he does (or maybe I just love weird and crazy) (wink). At the beginning of our “conversations” I told you that I ask questions about you because I wanted to know you. I wanted to know if Kim was a short for Kimberly and if Harrison was your maiden name. Now I know it is a pseudonym. My questions now are; why you choose Kim? why Harrison? why the combination?
    Have a great weekend! Be Happy! A.N.

    • Hi, A.N.! How you doing? I did see the trailer, yes! Johnny looks great as always. 😉

      And now I’m grinning. Yup, the cat’s out of the bag, and it’s public knowledge that I write under a pseudonym. My editor actually chose my name for me for optimum shelf placement. (rolls eyes) But I like it. I feel like a “Kim”

      It’s funny, but names don’t mean as much to me as they clearly mean to some people. I think it’s because I’ve had so many. You get a name when you’re born, and then you’re called sister or brother, daughter. You get married and then you change it legally, and if you’re lucky, someone starts calling you Mom. No one flakes out when people start calling you Mom. What’s one more name? It’s just a new job title. (grin) –Kim

    • A.N.

      Ahhhh, Ms. Kim, I’m a little disappointed. Since you told me that you use a gold ink pen for a reason (do you remember?) I was expecting a “little” story about how you choose the name. To me you are still Ms. Kim, and please, please don’t include me with the people that have an issue with “the name”. I appreciate the person I communicate with (not lying). I like to play with names, in good nature of course. The secretary and I call each other Minga, Mingi, Petraca, all for fun. Be Happy! A.N.

    • Thanks, A.N. That’s how I feel about it, too. -Kim

  3. Dominik

    Hi Kim,
    I´ve a question.
    Dou you like to come to Austria once too?
    That would be very very great.
    Domi

  4. Talyn

    Happy approximate Birthday Kim.

    I have a question about demon reproduction. Why just don’t some of the demons alter their DNA to become female? If Rachel can turn into a wolf and have pups then that should work as well.

    ~Thanks Talyn

    • That’s a good question, Talyn. I’m guessing that if the elves were smart enough to create a spell that divided the demon genome, then I imagine they had a secondary spell to prevent the demons from circumventing it. –Kim

    • Antonio Rich

      That question is so good i’m jealous i never thought of it! I can’t imagine Al as Alice though(grin)be good.

  5. Malinda

    Hi Kim,

    Just wanted to say that I think you are an awesome woman. I just love your books. They make me laugh at times and cry at others but most of all I can just lose myself in them and forget about my illnesses and forget the world. I found your books by accident after becoming unemployed (bummer) and then finding out I have OA and Fibromyalgia (double bummer). So I read to try and perk up my spirit. I cannot wait till the next book. I am desperatlely trying to find the entire series (cheap cuz I’m a poor person now😦 ) for my collection. You are definately up there in the top 2 favorite authors of mine. Keep up the great work and thanks for the great reading entertainment. Love

    • Wow, thank you, Malinda. I’m honored that my work has given you an escape. Escpaism is one of the reasons that I write, so if you’re finding that there, it makes me feel good. I know that Amazon often has the books used for a very reduced rate, and if you time it right, you can get a remaindered hard cover cheap there too. (remaindered means it has sat on a shelf but was never sold.) –Kim

  6. Shawna

    Well then. I didn’t know it was your “very happy merry un-birthday.” I know. I’m a dork.

  7. Bob J.

    Dear Kim,

    Happy birthday anyway. We know that it is +/- 30 days from today. By the way 26 was a great age to be. I had a great time when I was 26. So have a happy 26th birthday.

    Best Regards,

    Bob J.

    • mudepoz

      I d o n o t remember my 26th birthday. I’m not sure I was ever 26. Perhaps I arose fully mature. Sigh. *Hangs sign on neck* *In second childhood, reads YA*

    • Hi, Mud. I feel the same age as I’ve always have. Which made it really weird when someone started calling me Mom. –Kim

    • Thanks, Bob. 😉 mmmmm, 26? Dude, you’re my best friend. (laugh) I was carded last month, and I almost hugged the guy. –Kim

    • mudepoz

      *envious* other than foster, and the dogs…no kids. Well, unless you consider high schoolers and college students who camp here🙂 My mother says she thinks she’s 17. Which makes me her great grandmother.

      Mud, Day two of being off…to clean dog closet, organinze dog van, and clean up the garden destroyed by bups. Spending weekend chasing dog in agility. I have indeed gone to the dogs.

  8. Rock

    Kim,

    Fell in love with The Hollows when a friend tipped me off to the audiobooks. With the exception of The Outlaw Demon Wails, I’m loving them all! Do you pick who does the audiobook reading, though? This new person is… ugh. I hope she’s not back for White Witch, Black Curse.

    I’ve gotta admit, however, as a guy, I tend not to tear up during a book. However, when Ivy and Rachel found Kisten… man, I had to park the car. Oddly enough, Seether’s “Rise Above This” came into my head when they found him.

    One serious question. How do you handle people who write fan fiction? I’m getting the itch to write in your universe; it’s so intriguing and there’s so much room for play!

    Thanks for writing what is rapidly becoming my favorite series!

    • Hi, Rock.

      Wow, thanks! I’m glad you’re enjoying the audio books. We got a lot of complaints about the change in reader, and we managed to get Ms. Gavin back. And no, the author generally doesn’t get a say.

      I like your music pic.

      You asked about fan fiction? What fan fiction? There is no fan fiction, otherwise I’d have to rigorously defend my intellectual rights. As long as I don’t see it, I don’t have to do anything about it.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the books. Thanks! 😉 –Kim

    • Rock

      Kim,

      I’m glad you liked the music pic!

      The song was written for the lead singer’s brother, who ended up killing himself days after it was written. If you watch the video, the lead singer looks like he’s going to start sobbing at nearly every point.

      I had this image in my head of Ivy and Rachel, leaning against each other and not trying to do the same. Powerful stuff, and yet another reason I love your books; they paint quite the picture!

      When I got around to looking things up online, I saw a lot of what I felt for Maurgerite Gavin (spelling’s probably way off) and her renditions of the books. Good to know I’m not alone, there.

      Blissfully hoping Matalina recovers,

      Rock

  9. lemonade

    Hey! It’s not my birthday either! But since it’s on Tuesday, I will celebrate an almost birthday with you! It’s great being a leo, isn’t it! Everyone else gets scorpions, crabs, virgins, a kid toting around water, two fish…. we get majestic lions! 😀

  10. Gothar

    Happy un-birthday Kim!

    At least you don’t get hosed with a Christmas birthday.

    Regarding the video from yesterday, who was doing the interviewing in that segment?
    Thanks

  11. candace

    just want to know the name of second book to one shy twice shy… I read it i love it. My sister bri love she mad. that its not out. lol) I was like to know it will hit book store. so i can tell her. she turning 14 in four day. i think she could read rachel books. right know she read Gone with Wind. my favorite book

    • Hi, Candace. The title hasn’t been released yet. It’s too soon! But it’s on the way with probably a late spring release. 😉 I’m so glad you and your sister liked the first one. Thanks! –Kim

  12. Phil

    thanks for the new link, Kim! I’m going to check it out since i have all these story ideas spinning in my head and can’t get the pen/keyboard to bring them out for some reason. I’m kinda just having fun with it, not expecting to actually submit anything anytime soon.

    happy (Leo) birthday, btw!! ~Phil

    • Hi, Phil Excellent! Do check out Richard’s blog. He’s an icon on the industry. 😉 And if you don’t have fun with writing, then you shouldn’t be doing it. It’s too hard, otherwise. –Kim

  13. V^^^^V

    Happy notyerbirthday ma’am! I am sure I’ll love Unbound most of the contributors are some of my favorite authors.

    V^^^^V

  14. mudepoz

    http://mudepoz.wordpress.com/2009/08/13/9-weeks-old-where-did-the-time-go/
    They grow up too fast.

    And there is NO way PW is dropping it’s paper version. Sigh. Yeah, way. Newspapers are nearly there. Do you know how hard it is to keep ring necked doves (An’d and D’na of course) and bups WITHOUT newsprint? Kindle will make my library outdated quite soon. Yet, how does one autograph a Kindle?

    Mud. Who remembers the feel of a book snuggled in bed with dogs and the Tall Dude and doesn’t want it to go the way of my curses…No more Ink Stained wretches or wenches unless they get into the toner…

    • Hi, Mud. Yes, I’m afraid they are. It’s awful, but I suppose they will still have their electronic version. (Ooooh, sweet!) –Kim

    • SeattleRobin

      Hi Mud,

      Kim autographed my Kindle cover for me when she was doing her WWBC tour.😉

      I know this sounds like a sacrilege to book lovers, but snuggling up in bed with my Kindle is actually better. It’s soooo much easier to hold and read than a paper book, especially for those of us with aging eyes and arthritic fingers. And it’s easier to pet the kitties or doggies reading that way too. (grin)

    • mudepoz

      My eyes are beyond aging, and my fingers are twisted with time.
      MAYBE because I am a luddite, or because my earliest days were surrounded with stacks of books and mags and comics all going somewhere, I just can’t do it. Audio? No probs. But I love the smell of paper. I like the feel of it. I collect books, botanicals and dog, some of the earliest to the 1700’s. I’ve lost a lot, the ones from the 60’s and 70’s are foxed and falling apart (I guess that’s one reason that publishing house went bankrupt), but I still love them.

      I’ll get a Kindle. I’ve heard textbooks are going the way of the dinosaur, and already the lab manuals are downloadable. Sigh. I don’t have to like it. I guess we’ll be going back to autograph books? How much room on a kindle for autographs.

      Mud. Who looks at the scraps of ‘puter’s here and shakes head over our ‘paperless’ society. She’s in deep boys.

  15. I received my 6 mini-mugs yesterday. They are super cool! Thanks Kim. :o)

  16. Antonio Rich

    You know, your little movie trivia quiz the other day got me thinking that we could probably do some Hallows trivia from time to time. In honor of the upcoming Unbound maybe you could test us on our JENKS trivia? I was re-reading some Hallows the other day and came across this Jenks quote(can anybody name the book?): “I’m a back-drafted, crumpled-winged, dust-caked, dew-assed excuse of a backup. Worthless as a pixy condom. Taken down by my own partner. Just tape my ass shut and let me fart out my mouth.” Classic. You know, some day your kids are going to start quoting your work(grin)

    • Hi, Antonio. OMGosh, Antonio, you’re asking me to think! Do you know how brain-dead I am by the time I turn my computer off at the end of the day? (grin) –Kim

    • A.N.

      Hi!
      It is from “A Fiistful of Charms”, page 415.

    • Antonio Rich

      Your good A.N. Let me try again to stump you: Jenks has been known to order coffee when out with Rachel. How does he order it:
      A) Espresso-Black-Domestic
      B) Espresso-Turkish
      C) Latte Grande, Double Espresso
      D) Coffee-Black

      Extra credit if you know why he stays away from one of the other choices. (grin)

  17. Linda (germany)

    Hey Kim.
    Okaaay…so when is your real birthday?

    Uhm…first of all, it’s great to hear that everything is going well with the GV.

    IVY HAD OWLS??? I really need to read Unbound…

    Than, thanks for your ‘good luck’ that my dream become true, aaaand….I talked to Oxana Kalemie again.
    Please, can’t you read the book? I want so badly to help her that it makes feel guilty. I’m not famous, you know. (Not yet😉 )
    And you have a lot more influence than I have. I wrote an article, talked to my teachers at school and to my parents, what we can do to help her. But I think it’s not enough.

    I really don’t want to bother you!

    Well, have a nice day.🙂

  18. Chastity

    Just wanted to swing by and say hello…I’ve had a crazy week. Alas…thanks for the link by the way, I need the help.

    Glad to hear things are going well with the graphic novel….hope you have a great day!

  19. Leigh Lyons

    I just realized that we haven’t heard about Ivy’s owls. What happened to them?