Urban Fantasy “Unbound” Video

To help celebrate the upcoming anthology release, Harper has made available a video that we made at Comic Con NY, last year.  I have the one of Jocelynn Drake and myself here, but if I can snag it, I’ll put up the one that Vicki Pettersson and Jeaniene Frost made as well.  Melissa Marr couldn’t make it to the convention, or she’d be in here too!  Enjoy! 

(Kim doing the happy dance for figuring out how to embed the video here) 

Unbound is due out August 25th.  My novella is from Jenks’s point of view.  He was too much fun to work with!  –Kim

59 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

59 responses to “Urban Fantasy “Unbound” Video

  1. Nicole

    Hi Kim, It’s Nicole again! I was wondering if you would be able to give me a couple of writing tips. I aspire to be an author and it would really help. Right now i’m just writing bits and peices here and there to try to see what i can come up with and fit them together later but i’m running into a little writer’s block! HELP! Lol.
    I also wanted to ask you if you could please, please, PLEASE come to Yakima for one of your book signings because i would love to meet you in person. Most of the time all the places that my favorite authors go are way too far away😦 can’t wait until your next hollows book comes out!

    • Hi, Nicole. Yakima? Oh, that sounds doubtful! 😉 The publishers have a regular tour circuit of stores that are good at putting on events, and they don’t stray much from them.

      Writing tips . . . Well, it sound to me like you are very enthusiastic, but need to spend a little more time planning the journey out so that you don’t get distracted. I used to write by the seat of my pants, but by my third manuscript, I fell in love with plotting. You might try taking a week or so and writing a very short version of your book where you figure out who wins, who lives, and how they get from point A to point B. Good luck! –Kim

  2. mudepoz

    I love the shorts and bits from the anthologies. I’d think it might help your readers to get a time line. We know, for example, that Ivy gave Mia her wish in a short. The Graphic novels will be pre first hollow, Ceri and Al and the butterflies WAY before the whole kit and kaboodle…

    Maybe it’s already on your website?
    Mud

    Love. Fall in love and stay in love. Write only what you love, and love what you write. The key word is love. You have to get up in the morning and write something you love, something to live for.
    Ray Bradbury

  3. mudepoz

    “The best scientist is open to experience and begins with romance – the idea that anything is possible.”

    Ray Bradbury quote

  4. JaylanPHNX

    I feel like a real writer now; I’ve gotten my first rejection letter!😉 It was fairly gentle, saying that she was not enthusiastic enough about the premise to feel she’d be right to represent the book. She’s Jim Butcher’s agent, so it’s not like there’s shame in being turned down by someone who handles top tier stuff.

  5. KC

    Hi Kim, can we have a brief synopsis of Black Magic Sanction? If not, when will it be released? Also, can werewolves reproduce with humans naturally or can they only have children with their own species like witches?

    • Hi, KC. You’ve got it right. Witches can only have kids with witches, and Weres can only have children with other Weres. Try to mix, and the couple is infertle. A brief synopsis of BLACK MAGIC SANCTION?

    • Sorry, I hit return too fast.

      BMS synopsis? Rachel gets smacked in the face with her past as the coven of moral and ethical standards gets tired of her flaunting the system. 😉 That’s all you’re going to get. (grin) –Kim

  6. Juliet

    Olà,
    I´ve almost finished WWBC now (it´s great yet🙂 ) and I´m wondering: Where is the difference between Kisten and Ivy. Why was he able to control himself so well, when he was with Rachel and Ivy can´t??
    Maybe you´ve given the answer before in the books, but then I´ve missed it😉

    Wish you a great day!!

    • Hi, Juliet.

      Why can Kisten control himself better? Piscary. Piscary played with Ivy more, making her more savage, more out of control. Kisten worked managing a vampire bar. He had to learn control. Hope that helps. –Kim

  7. Jade/Third Coast

    Hi Kim, nice new home for your drama. I do wish the font was a little larger for my poor eyes, but otherwise it looks great.

    I have noticed a rather disturbing display at Borders. They have a sign put up that says something about “If you are a Sookie, Zoey or Bella fan . . .” (the best I can remember) and most of the table has Twilight on it and other YA books, but also Skin Trade by Laurell Hamilton and one of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books by JR Ward. Both of those books have explicit sex scenes in them and would never be considered YA (especially LKH). Skin Trade was right next to one of Kelley Armstrong’s YA books and that gave me the creeps.

    I couldn’t believe they had mixed Adult and YA on a prominent display like that. Can you imagine a 12 or 13 year old girl being drawn to that display because of the sign and thumbing through Skin Trade? What are they thinking? At the store I saw your book was not included in this mess, but it occured to me it could be at other stores in the chain. This has actually been commented upon on Amazon with posters expressing shock. Actually, I don’t consider Sookie Stackhouse YA either, but I guess I am old fashioned. I complained, but you know how that goes in a huge corporation where the shots are called high up in the pecking order.

    When I go back if they haven’t removed LKH and JRW (I enjoy her books) I am going to do it myself and substitute your book and other YA they don’t have on the table to fill the space. I hope they see me and we will see what happens then.

    • Jade, that’s awful. To mix YA with Anita Blake and the brotherhood books is totally irresponsible. Young readers find the more explicit books on their own when they are ready. Just ask any adult who grew up with books. Promoting YA and explicit sex as if-you-like-this-you’ll-like-that is a mistake, especially on bookstore shelves.

      I don’t think Sookie Stackhouse is YA, and to market it as such might turn off a few adult readers. Her main character lives on her own and works in a bar. That’s not a coming-of-age story. If an author wants to reach out to a new, younger audience, then he or she should make the effort to write an age-appropriate book, not mis market an existing one. I’d be willing to bet that Hamilton, Harris, and Ward have no idea their work is being marketed with YA, and I’d also be willing to bet that if they knew, they’d be as outraged as I am. –Kim

    • Jade/Third Coast

      I am going to email Borders customer service, again. The first time didn’t do any good but I will try again. I know my complaining in person, as I did the other day, won’t help since this was evidently a system wide marketing decision.

      I believe whoever thought this up has never read any of these books or even knows the synopsis of them. The clerk I complained to seemed to think Sookie was YA, didn’t understand why it shouldn’t be on the same sign as Bella and Zoey. I have read the SS series and the earlier books had some pretty hot love scenes in them, which was fine by me, but I am not YA.

      I was wondering if it would be OK to quote you in my email, I am thinking about the part about the other writers would be upset if they knew how their books were being marketed. I am nobody, but maybe they would listen if they felt they would anger the very people they are marketing. Something like that would certainly make them look incompetent, which they are IMO. I don’t know anything about the publishing industry so I don’t even know if it would upset the publishing houses or were they a part of it.

    • Jade, I don’t quite know how to answer you. I would rather you not quote me in your letter. If I saw the endcap myself and could evaluate their marketing, I might feel differently. There are a lot of adult readers who read YA, and if the intent of the endcap was to pull adult readers into YA, then I have no problem with it. Where was the endcap? The adult section, or the YA section? –Kim

  8. Shawna

    Frankly, I can see how some people would complain about the shorter stories, but I don’t care. I like them. Finding them, and reading the characters, is sort of like finding Easter eggs. I say that if the creative process works for you, stick with it.

    • Shawna, they did. I was brought to task because I put them in the mass market release when the hard cover didn’t have them. They weren’t that long. . . –Kim

  9. jeremy

    i would just like to say that im very happy for you. your book ads are all over myspace, meaning that u are doing very well.

    PS isnt it your birthday tomorrow?

    • Hi, Jeremy. Really? I hadn’t known that they were advertising on MySpace! Cool!

      Uh, no. My birthday isn’t tomorrow. I just put the 13th on MySpace so that my age would click over sometime in the middle of the Leo sign. I’m a Leo, but I’ve never claimed which day is my day. (grin) Leave a woman a little mystery! –Kim

  10. Valerie

    Kim, I have really been looking forward to this one. Jenks , of course , is one of my favorite characters. I was soooo mad at him when he got mad at Rachel for that Trent business, but he redeemed himself later. Can’t wait to hear more Tink references, and see inside his head. Loved the video, can’t wait to read it.

    xo val

  11. Bob J

    Dear Kim,

    The video’s for the new book are a lot of fun. I am looking forward to the 25th. I am also glad to hear the new project is going so well. The more fun you have with the projects the better the end product. By the way, what are you going to do next?

    Best Regards,

    Bob J.

    • Hi, Bob. That’s what my editor says, too: If the author is having fun, it’s going to be good.

      What am I going to do next? Funny you should ask. I just spent half an hour going over my schedule. It goes to 2014. (grin) I’m busy. –Kim

  12. Kneosha

    I can’t wait to read the Jenks short story I’ve always wanted to learn more about him, and it will also give me a chance to check out the other authors🙂

  13. hawk

    congrats on getting the vid thing to work

  14. Phil

    Thanks for the video, Kim, I didn’t get to see the last one so this was cool!! I would ask how the UNBOUND novella relates to the Hollows series, like do the others make an appearance? I guess I can wait for Aug. 25th to find out but feel free to hint!! (grin)

    I actually remember that scene now from the movie the Jerk … a little late. LOL … and that Shakespeare quote i mentioned … Lady Macbeth! sorry, my really lame attempt at humor! I’d be in real trouble if I’d forgotten that one!!!

    Have a great week, Kim!! ~Phil

    • Hi, Phil. Oh, I tried to make a stand-alone novella, but alas, I like two of the characters that I introduced, and we’ll likely see them again. sigh

      –Kim

  15. Chrisy

    Interesting video again. I like getting glimpses of authors thinking… And I love the last line of the video (grin). I couldn’t help but laugh like 5 minutes. Now I feel like I must read Unbound… weird…

  16. Regine

    Hey Kim😉 …I am there again. My holiday comes to an end. How are you? What was your holiday like? Have you made insecure of the street? Anyway a demon has not caught you.😉 *hehe*
    I have just watched your video. It is nice to see you. I knew you only from photos till now. You smile a little shyly. It is safe not simply to speak into a camera. This would be horrifying for me. Was the video a success?
    My holiday was exciting. We have done much. But…I have missed Rachel! I have not come to paint much to this therefore. It is starting again now, however.

    Greetings from germany…Your Regine V..V

    • Hi, Regine. Welcome back from your holiday! Mine was too fast, and I’m back at work already.

      Making the video makes me nervous, but I’m getting better. Everytime I do, I find something to do different so I feel more confident. I hope your work keeps going well.

      –Kim

    • Regine

      Hello Kim😉 ..thank you!

      Yes, i know this. I can understand you well. I find something at my pictures every time, too. These are often small things so. I always find a thing which disturbs me. Sometimes i paint my pictures twice, then i learn from my faults. If i have a look at my old pictures, i see first, this i have got better. I think you also feel so similar. All the more you gain experience, all the better you get.
      You yourself be simple.😉

      Look on my home page again. I am happy. *grin*

      Your Regine V..V

  17. Jessica Trujillo

    Hey Kim!! This is unrelated to the video, but I just had a question. I just ran across a book by you that releases Oct. 2nd ( my son’s b-day :)) called Black Magic Sanction. Is this the next Hollows book? I can’t seem to get any info as to what it’s about. Please say it is!!

    • Hi, Jessica. I’m not sure where you heard that. BLACK MAGIC SANCTION isn’t coming out until late February. I don’t have any releases this October at all. Sorry. –Kim

  18. Linda (germany)

    Totally cool video. Oh and thanks for your last answer. Maybe we’re going to see each other in a few years. ^^
    If acting go’s as good as I hope.😉 (everyone can dream^^)

    I hope I get unbound as a birthday present. It sounds really great.

  19. Chele

    Hey Kim! I am very much looking forward to Unbound. It also comes out the same day as Patricia Briggs new one.. !! They are going to be my early birthday presents from my husband.😉 Anyway.. I had not read Faith Hunter yet until this weekend. I got Strange Brew, which is several short stories by different authors. I am really liking all the writers in there, though not as much as I love yours. BUT anyway I liked Faith’s. She is very good and it had her character in the short from Skinwalker. So now I think I might have to get that too. Anyway.. thank you for your writing and thank you for telling us about other authors that weave a good story.

  20. Ahhh i saw this video on Jocelynn’s boards!
    I can’t wait to read Unbound =)

  21. UK Kate

    Hiya Kim, You know I just twigged something and I just had to tell you! (Please don’t think I’m crazy btw…) Since I read about Kisten giving his ‘girls’ black gold, I’ve been wearing a haematite ring. It broke a while back for no good reason. I went to the crystal shop to get another one and they didn’t have one in my size and they weren’t going to get any more in until they sold every last haematite ring they had. I was miffed and the girl behind the counter tried to make me feel better by telling me that maybe it broke for a reason. Now that I’ve digested it I wondered if maybe it broke because Kisten is coming back? In the graphic novel. Am I nuts? Is it stupid of me to feel like my ring was a link to a fictional person I never met and who really only ever existed in my head?? Well, I hope you’re having a good day. Take care, UK Kate🙂

    • Hi, Kate. I’ve heard of the saying that hematite rings break when they need to as well. Guy wears them when he can find them. It’s very near to what I envisioned black gold looking like. I hope you get a new ring soon. 😉 –Kim

  22. Meg

    Hi, Kim! =] Yikes, it’s been a while. I’m sort of confused right now. See, I went to Scotland for four days and somehow managed to come home with severe sunburn on just one arm. And you can really see the line where it ends on my arm. I’m possibly the only person in the history of the world to go to Scotland and come back with sunburn. Typical😛
    Okay, we hear you say that you’re not telling us what happened (if anything happened) between Trent and Rachel in book 9… but does that imply that SOMETHING happened? You can at least tell us that, right?😀 Or can you at least tell us if there’s a definite NO! on the whole Rachel/Trent fling-wishes? I’ll stop pestering you about that now. Can’t wait for Unbound!! Having Hollows withdrawals…Your work is like crack on paper, I swear. Thanks! ~ Meg VV

    • Ouch! That’s awful, Meg! I don’t generally burn, but I try very hard to stay out of the sun.

      You asked about Trent and Rachel? You’re just going to have to wait. It might be that nothing happens, which is something in itself. –Kim

  23. V^^^^V

    Howdy ma’am

    Vicki is so wrong. It’d make my day if you all came after me!. 🙂 I’ve seen her video with Showgirl and Snowgirl and it is so funny.

    Here is the YouTube link

    Showgirl is Vicki Pettersson, author of the Signs of the Zodiac series.

    Snowgirl is Jeaniene Frost of the Night Huntress series.

    I’m really looking forward to Unbound. It really looks good.

    V^^^^V

  24. Sue, Chicago

    Hey Kim! I was thinking today about Kisten and the graphic novel. Since this is taking place before Ivy and Rachel move in together, Kisten will not even know Rachel. Also, this should be while Kisten is still totally enamored with Piscary and willing to do anything that he asks. He hasn’t had his “Ah-Ha” moment yet and hasn’t started to pull away from Piscary. I don’t know if I’ll like him as much without the softness that Rachel seemed to bring out in him. But we’ll see!

    “Unbound” comes out the day after my birthday and I’m hoping for a whole lot of gift cards to book stores with which to get it. I can’t wait!!!!!

    • Hi, Sue. You’re absolutely right. Kisten and Rachel will NOT meet in the graphic novels, but Ivy and Kisten are, um, friendly. (grin) Happy early birthday! –Kim

  25. Quote:

    Mr. Krempe

    -“You fool, Victor Frankenstein of Geneva, how could you know what you had unleashed? How was it pieced together? Bits of thieves? It’s of murderers? Evil stitched to evil stitched it evil. God help your loved ones.”

    Author, Name of novel and date…
    (this is the easiest one)

    • Dang you are cute, and why would a reader complain about getting other stories? *Kof*. It will be important to update and timeline your stories with your shorts not always appearing in the all the versions.

      Who were the other two women at the end?
      Mud, not trying to push the date, it just makes me older, but looking forward to my Amazon pkg. And cleaning out old mudepozmobile before getting new one!

    • OMGosh, Mud. I did get complaints about putting shorts at the end of the mass markets. The other two women at the end are Vicki Pettersson and Jeaniene Frost. They have a video, too. –Kim

    • You got me, Mud. I’ve no clue. (grin)

    • Frankenstein, or the Modern Prometheus.
      Mary Shelley, 1818
      This could be argued as early gothic horror, but it also fits the concept of early science fiction.

      I’m thinking my peers would have preferred the more modern version of Frankenstein. Thats FRANKENSTEIN🙂