No Drama . . .

. . . but I’m working on it.  Yes.  It’s true.  It might be a no-drama day today.  I’m working very intently on the graphic novel rough draft.  I want a couple of weeks to play with it before I turn it in, so I’m crunching on the hard stuff. 

What that means for me is I’ve no time for drama.  Save your drama for your mama, put your issues in your tissues,  and send your bother to your father.  I’m too busy right now.  (grin)  My only other goal right now besides my twenty pages is to get suet in the bird feeder.  And maybe the humingbird feeders full.  Oh, and the dogs out at the right time.  I probably should eat today . . .  But that’s all I need.

And maybe this lamp.  (ten points if you know what movie that come from)

–Kim

52 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

52 responses to “No Drama . . .

  1. Shawna

    I know I’m wrong, but when I read about lamb, my mind jumped to Alfred Hitchcock. There was a seen where a wife had just killed her husband with a frozen leg of lamb, then when the cops came, she fed it to them. I couldn’t think of anything else once that jumped in my mind.

    anyways, no Drama. Yeah. I do like the sound of that. Oh, and dogs being let out side at the right times… Eating, well… I suppose that is important.

  2. SeattleRobin

    I had ordered some trinkets from Vampiric Charms a while back, some of them for my best friend. Yesterday was the first chance we’ve had to get together in quite a while, so I met her at the theatre telling her I’d come bearing Geek Gifts. She had a lot of fun opening her little gift pack with a Don’t Touch the Baby button, a bus token, and the best of all, her runner license. I’d ordered a license for each of us and had provided the photos for them and we sat there and laughed and laughed over them. So thanks for offering them! Fun times.🙂

    • Robin, I’m so glad to hear that. Guy has been having a hard time getting some of the merchandise out lately. Stuff has been happening at the Harrison household that has been pulling him away from his usual duties. But knowing that you guys got a kick out of it makes it worth while. Thank you. 😉 –Kim

  3. Jason

    Hey Kim,

    Sorry for being off topic, but I just started reading Dead Witch Walking (hopefully I will finish it by Sunday). I have a quick question. What exactly does it mean when a vampire pulls an aura? Sorry if it sounds like a silly question, I just want to make sure I’m clear on the meaning.

    Thanks!

    • Hi, Jason. Cool! I hope you enjoy the rest of the books. I’ve had people ask your question before, so it is not a silly question at all. When a vampire pulls an aura, it’s not physically tugging on a person’s aura, but rather them changing their body posture, attitude, and state of mind. Ivy becomes more of a sexual predator. Pheromones are sent out to strike fear into their victim, compliance, and sexual arousal sometimes. Hope that helps! –Kim

  4. Tim Poole

    The Jerk! Thanks for the 10 points. That’s all I need.

  5. Ms. Kim,

    Knowing your a music fan.. The new Breaking Benjamin single just dropped called “I will not bow”.. I think you may like it… for Rachel.

  6. Carolyn

    “I was born a poor, black child”…The Jerk…great movie. My husband knew the answer right away! I have a question about the graphic novel. Is Del Ray the publisher of the graphic novel and another comic book company actually producing it? For instance, I read Mercy Thompson in the Dable Brothers comic books, but Del Ray is the publisher that is combining all the issues into one book. Can’t wait to see the characters illustrated! Thanks Kim!

    • Hi, Carolyn. That’s it! (grin) Your husband got it right.

      You asked about the GN? Del Rey is publshing it, and yes, they contract some of the work out. The Dabel Brothers is not doing mine. It looks like it’s going to be about 190 pages, full color, and because it’s coming out all at once instead of three issues combined, it will have a more continous feel to it. I think . . . (grin) –Kim

  7. Phil

    a no-drama day!? I hate when that happens! grin

    i’ve no idea which movie that’s from, Kim… I’m really bad at those! … I’m still trying to figure out which play of Shakespeare’s that quote from my final came from! damn [um, spot] !

    hope your week is drama free, Kim! ~Phil

    • Hi, Phil. It was a no-drama day, all the way to the end.

      It’s from THE JERK. I’ve not seen it for years, but Guy and I will sometimes still wander around the house, quoting that line. 😉 –Kim

  8. Dana

    Might not be good timing but i just discovered that you are Dawn Cook and I love all 6 of her/your books. When I finished the princess books I was dying for another in that series. Is there any hope that you will add any more.

    • Hi, Dana. It’s good timing! It’s only been official for a few months, but some people figured it out a long time ago. I wasn’t really pleased with how the Princess books ended, but going back now and writing a new ending likely isn’t going to happen any time soon. I am booked out to 2015! (grin) Sorry. Kim/Dawn

  9. Kneosha

    *wiggles with excitment over the graphic novel* Man i can’t wait, ivy and rachel are going to be gorgeous!

  10. Jen

    The Jerk.🙂 Steve Martin.

  11. Kenny G

    WELL DONE Mudepoz!! Classic movie!

  12. hapalochlaena

    It’s always marvellous when your Muse is working for you. Keep her nose to the grindstone.🙂

    I have a question: a character (Keasley?) in DWW mentioned that the herbs Ivy chucked in Rachel’s bath were often used to mask something. Which suggests (to me, that is) that the something might be Brimstone, which has a distinct odour that Rachel can normally detect. Can Brimstone be absorbed through the skin?

    • Hi, Hapalochlaena. My muse was on today, and I was sitting at my keyboard, waiting for her. (grin)

      You asked about Keasley and the bath. I don’t think that Brimstone was in it, but since I never did say . . . 😉 Brimstone can’t be absorbed through the skin, no, but perhaps a mucus membrane. –Kim

  13. proudfit

    make the graphic novel better cut all with Kristen in them😉

  14. Elaine

    A no drama day? Those happen? I’ve never heard of such a thing!

    I hope you enjoy your day of planning and writing. It sounds nice to be able to have ideas just pour out of your brain.

  15. jeremy

    hi kim, the maddison books are labeled as young adult. what exactly is the reading range for young adult?

  16. Navin R. Johnson: Well I’m gonna to go then. And I don’t need any of this. I don’t need this stuff, and I don’t need you. I don’t need anything except this.
    [picks up an ashtray]
    Navin R. Johnson: And that’s it and that’s the only thing I need, is this. I don’t need this or this. Just this ashtray. And this paddle game, the ashtray and the paddle game and that’s all I need. And this remote control. The ashtray, the paddle game, and the remote control, and that’s all I need. And these matches. The ashtray, and these matches, and the remote control and the paddle ball. And this lamp. The ashtray, this paddle game and the remote control and the lamp and that’s all I need. And that’s all I need too. I don’t need one other thing, not one – I need this. The paddle game, and the chair, and the remote control, and the matches, for sure. And this. And that’s all I need. The ashtray, the remote control, the paddle game, this magazine and the chair.
    [walking outside]

  17. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15731586
    Well this explains a lot. Damn mutation:
    CONCLUSION: Red hair is the phenotype for mutations of the melanocortin-1 receptor. Results indicate that redheads are more sensitive to thermal pain and are resistant to the analgesic effects of subcutaneous lidocaine. Mutations of the melanocortin-1 receptor, or a consequence thereof, thus modulate pain sensitivity.

  18. Roger

    Kim, “A Christmas Story” Leg lamp?
    Roger – Illinois

  19. It sounds like something out of National Lampoon, and the leg lamp. And darn it, I was going to ask you a question about something similiar. Is it a redhead thing?

    Is there room somewhere for a game. You mentioned (and I’ve always agreed) that there is a past with genres. The pedigree of urban fantasy from fantasy from sci fi…add steampunk, and blah blah blah blah blah…
    My background is systematics. Some of my background is history and anthropology (yes, it does fit).

    So now that I’ve blah blah, the game.
    I’d like to put a quote and character who said it. From that, name the author. Maybe cut it off at the ’80’s, start in the Victorian era, Granted there are Vamp stories, Were stories, and witches throughout recorded history (some of the best tales are from Wisconsin, probably due to the confluence of Plains and Algonquin NA’s sharing stories, Few would know those, so I’ll stick to popular literature.

    For example: Author and title if you can:

    Most “scientists” are bottle washer and button
    sorters. –Lazurus

    Nursing does not diminish the beauty of a woman’s
    breasts; it enhances their charm by making them look
    lived in and happy. –Lazurus

    If it’s interesting, I have a lot of these books and a few Amazing mags, many of them signed. I am sort of limited to Simon and Schuster, Lancer and Magnum Easy Eye reprints, Berkely, Kensington, and whereever else the old guy worked… Although the library is always there. I love research.

  20. Linda (germany)

    No damn idea. But I have no time at the moment, watching any films. Well, okay. I watched Public Enemys but…come on. Johnny Depp!!!
    I needed to.😉
    No, I’m very busy, too. Because…I told you I wanna be an actress, right? Well, I’m on the best way. I’m not doing any films but I’m working at the theater from ten to sixteen. Hard job but I love it. And after that, I write some article for the News Letter and on my book, which I hope I will finish some day.
    School will starts soon and I need to do my job so I get the money for my Laptop.🙂

    But I love my work as much as you do. Okay….school is bullshit in that case Pink is absolutly right.
    Have a great day😉

    • I hear you about Johnny Depp, Linda. I swear, he could make a great Al. That is fantastic that you’re working at the theater. That is one of the best ways to get in, I would think. You have a great day! –Kim

  21. charley

    I am thinking its a line from Aladdin
    I could be wrong but…. 🙂
    I can not wait til I get to peek at the graphic novel you are working on
    I have only read the Hollows, but I am bouncing
    waiting for the next, so at the end of this month I am getting my Unbound fix then I shall wait for more with Rachel and Ivy!
    I love your work! I am so glad I found this — the net is yet awesome again!🙂

    • Hi, Charley.

      Close, but nope! It’s from THE JERK.

      The GN is going great! Just over half way through the rough draft, and wow, is it rough. –Kim

    • charley

      i will have to go find that and watch it
      im sure that its rough now- but soon u will have it perfect!

      that is great that u replied- thanks!!

      of course after i read about it today- i have told all my book-reading – buddies
      and they are sitting on their hands waiting.
      i did tell them that it would be a bit but – idk- they are silly anyway !
      don’t work too hard- we cant have u burnt out ! we need u happy and not stressed🙂
      take care!
      -charley

  22. trisha

    i have no idea but its going to drive me nuts till i figure it out

    sounds like you are going to have a great day i just hope my day is as good

  23. Mendi in STL

    Hehe, “The Jerk!”

    Sounds like a good day you have on tap today. I’m feeling good cause we got the garage cleaned out and new cabinets and blinds installed! Organization is good! Have a great one Kim. *VV*

    • Antonio Rich

      And – “Don’t trust whitey!” Ding!Ding!Ding! I think you got it Mendi. Be good…

    • Hi, Mindi. You got it! I’ve not seen the movie in years, but Guy and I still wander around the house quoting a few lines.

      Congrats on the clean garage! Whoo-hoo! –Kim