Dog Days of Summer

Xander and Aleix, chillin

Xander and Aleix, chillin

There is absolutely nothing going on at the Harrison household, and I love it.  Puppies are content watching me work, and the summer has fallen back into a pleasant pattern after having returned from vacation.  You can almost hear the Om sound rising up from the woods like a collective meditation, washing over the house.  Balance.  It feels good.

And then someone comes and pushes you over.  (grin)  Wait for it . . . wait for it! You know it’s coming!  ;-)  But I’m enjoying my summer until the next drama.

I think I’ll go see a movie this weekend.  What’s good out there?

–Kim

73 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

73 responses to “Dog Days of Summer

  1. if the proposal with sandra bullock is still playing, i’d recommend seeing that. everyone says it’s super good. or the one with gerard butler and the grey’s anatomy chick – katherine whatshername.

    i’m from mississippi and we really haven’t had a normal summer until now. it’s rained so much and the temperature has been so much lower than usual, a friend and i have decided that mother nature switched washington and mississippi for the summer.

    thank you sooo much for the news that kisten is alive. that made my day!!

    and one last thing…i know y’all don’t make up your touring and book signing schedules, but do you think you could put in a good word about doing a signing somewhere in northern mississippi? like tupelo or jackson or Mississippi State University? nobody ever comes here but john grisham. and while he’s a great writer, i’d like someone new, please.

    • Hi, Pink. Mississippi? I really doubt it, and that’s a shame. I might get down there for a conference someday, though. Fingers crossed.

      I love Sandra Bullock, so I might make some time to go see that. Thanks! –Kim

  2. Jen

    Kim, I didn’t know where to post this but since you check regularly I thought you might find it. I was just rereading fist full of charms and I was at the part where Jenks gets turned big. I nearly died when I realized that HIS body got reset too!!! OMG!! Won’t Jenks live longer because everything was reset and he doesn’t have any more scars or anything, just like with Rach and the were curse?!?!?!?! I am so on the edge right now, can’t Rach make Matelina turn big and then have everything reset? Does she have to die? Jenks won’t be the same and I don’t want to see the slow depression and and and….I constantly have to remind myself that these are just books. Your world though has been what has kept me sane during this depression since my guy lost his job and we had to move back in with the inlaws with a kid and me in school ( don’t ever take Statistics in the Summer…ever). I read your books all the time and Jenks has always been my favorite character, he makes me remember how to laugh. I realize why you ended Kistens’ story the way you did, and I am thankful you felt everyone could put on their big panties and deal with his death just like Rach and Ivy, because death isn’t ever complete for those left behind. But if Rach could save Jenks, she just doesn’t realize it, then can’t she figure out a way to save Mattie? Or are you going to give us another lesson. This was longer and a bit more scattered than what I intended, I am sorry. Just know that in Arkansas you have one fan that you and your series mean the world too.
    Jennifer

    • Hi, Jennifer. You have hit on one of the ways to find a happy ending here. What happens . . . will happen. Just as you feel they are real people and you don’t want anything bad to happen to them, I feel they are real and that bad things will. sigh

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the series as much as me. Thanks. 😉 –Kim

  3. Jwocky

    I don’t know, I heard that Orphan was really horrible, and only people that really loved the genre would like it.
    I know from taking my son that Transformers 2 has got to be one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen (and I saw Buckaroo Bonzaii in the theater). My 11 year old loved it though.
    500 days of summer and Julie and Julia look awesome. And I have to go see how bad GI Joe is, because I grew up with a crush on Snake Eyes.
    But I have to agree with whoever said this was not a great summer for movies.

    • Hi, Jwoky. I didn’t go see Orphan. It looked too scary for me. (really) Oooh, I loved Buckaroo Bonzaii! Loved it for all it was. (grin) I think I was 11, though. Mmmm, I was disappointed in GI Joe. sigh –Kim

  4. SeattleRobin

    I feel like this summer has been a real dud as far as good movies go. I saw a couple early on and I couldn’t even tell you what they were now. During the horrible heat the last couple weeks a friend and I wanted to go to movies to get some air conditioning and we couldn’t find anything we wanted to see! I think we’re going to see A Perfect Getaway this weekend. It’s a thriller with Mila Jilanovich (sp?). Why couldn’t it have come out a couple weeks earlier when it was in the upper 90s though?!

  5. Nick

    Too cute, their lack of survival instinct is only outweighed by their adorableness.

    Thanks for a Jenks short being released on my birthday, I got what I wished for😀

    As for movies… GI Joe! because knowledge is power. Now you know, and knowing is half the battle.

    • Hi, Nick. I don’t know if it’s a lack of survival instinct as much as feeling secure in the “den.” They here EVERYTHING. And EVERYTHING gets barked at. Happy early birthday!

  6. Elaine

    My dogs sleep just like that! Obi is always sleeping on his back, whilst Luke just loves sleeping with his legs sticking out like he’s in a stiff man routine. Honestly, puppy nap time is the best part of my day! Peaceful and quiet.

  7. Niki

    Hi kim,
    The Time Traveler’s Wife was surprisingly a very good book; both elements are balanced well, with one lending depth to the other–I won’t say which. It looks like the movie captures that subtlety, if the trailers are anything to go by.
    Hope the drama stays away and your dog days continue for a while!

  8. Kira

    I guess this isn’t really related to your post, but I just wanted to say how much I LOVED the Princess series. I showed it to my cousin and we both fell in love with them. I know it’s been a long time and you’re not really writing anything for Dawn Cook anymore, but have you ever considered writing a third book for that? It seems…I don’t want to say incomplete because it definitely stands as it is, but I would love to see what happens with her training and how she and Jek end up together, you know?

    I know this is a long shot, but I just wanted to throw in my support for a third book in that series😀 Thanks a lot! You’re an AMAZING author!

    • Hi, Kira. Thank you! I’m really glad you enjoyed it! i’ve always thought that the Princess books had one of the best magic systems. I’m not really happy with how the series ended, myself, but I don’t see myself going back to write another any time soon. Sorry. –Kim/Dawn

  9. Kenny G

    500 days of summer…

  10. Melanie

    The Hangover and The Ugly Truth were both really funny!

  11. mudepoz

    I love pics of puppies that I don’t have to clean up after🙂 I think the bups are now larger than your chi’s at 11-12 lbs a piece. Lucky Jax is flying to Canada by way of Reno in a few weeks. He gets to do more traveling than I do.😉

    Movies? What on EARTH is a movie? Sigh. Have fun, I’m helping at a doggy agility trial. I’m an old lady and have gone to the dogs. I should have been a soccer mom! Then when they all growed up I could have had a sports car.

    There is something very ominous when you precurse yourself. I know such things, I do it all the time. My latest was having the van lock itself with Tru in it, no windows open, keys inside and sunny out. AAA forgot me, thank goodness for small town police. Who apparently misheard daughter for dog. Honestly officer I said DOG!

    Mud smiling, thinking fawn pup is saying please put down the camera and PET my BELLY silly human.

    • Mud, your puppies at birth were bigger than my dogs. (grin) Aleix is 5.5 and Xander is pushing 8.5 pounds.

      Mmmm, I don’t get out as much as I should, but every so often . . . Movie! –Kim

  12. Phil

    The Time Traveler’s Wife? SF + romance? May be worth a try.

    the pups are cute, Kim!

    … So who is this “someone” coming to push you over? *grin* Are you saying you attract drama!? Lol. ~Phil

    • Hi, Phil.

      I’m really not one for romance in my movies, but it does sound intriguing.

      Golly, I hope no one comes to push me over, but I’ve noticed that when I get complacent, there is no growth. Can I just say that my guardian angel seems to want me to grow a lot? (laugh)

  13. Antonio Rich

    A couple of weeks ago, a friend said he had an extra ticket to see a “double header” of truck racing AND stock car racing at the Kentucky Speedway. I’m not a racing fan. I’ve never even seen a race on tv. I went. LOUD is the operative word. Unbelievably loud. Have you ever been? I notice the cars have alot of advertisement stickers on their cars. Wouldn’t it be cool to have a Burning Rabbit logo on Jeff Gordon’s car? Or, a Vampiric Charms sticker on Tony Stewart’s automobile? Look at me, talkin’ the talk. Movie? Why don’t you go see some live local music with some friends and your hubby?

    • OMGosh, Antonio, that would be too cool. (grin) It would be a real burning bunny tearing up the track. NASCAR is big in this area, but I’ve never gone. Live music? That would be great! –Kim

  14. Brittany

    I love your Books Kim….The Orphan was A great movie with a definite plot twist at the end

  15. Linda, Ireland

    Ohh Harry Potter! Though another good film if ya feel like renting is In Bruges. Watched it again recently. Brilliant.

    • Antonio Rich

      Linda. Since this new Drama Page allows us to say hi to familiar posters, i just wanted to say hi. I’ve always loved your passion, especially for my girl, Ivy. See – your not the only one who loves Ivy. (Grin). Be good…

    • Antonio Rich

      Oops!!! I got the wrond Linda! Duh. Well, anyways, hi Linda(bigger grin)

    • Linda, Ireland

      Haha, no worries, Hi to you too! 🙂

    • Guy is a HP freak, so you can bet we’ve seen it already. (grin) I’ve not heard of Bruges. Gotta go google. 😉

  16. Thomas McNeill

    Well kimbers,,,,LOL,,,,Theres allways “Harry Potter and the half blood
    Prince” LOL,I’m dying to see it myself.I was just reading your FAQs page
    and I came accross the Question s to whether you were born pagan,and your responce.Now,I told you in my snail mail that as a practiceing Wiccan
    I loved the fact that you realised that witches & warlocks are different,and
    unlike bewitched where they tell us witches are female and warlocks are
    male.There are both male&female witches And warlocks.Now I can’t speak for he entire pagan community,but for me,you seem to at least have
    accepted us without judging us”EVIL”so even though things don’t work for
    witches like they do in your books (GODS I wish,LOL) I myself applaude
    you and once again,I love,love,love,your books.
    Blessed Be

    • Thanks, Thomas! I appreciate that. And no, I don’t judge any group of people as evil. It just doesn’t work that way. 😉 Thank you again for your letter. –Kim

  17. V^^^^V

    Howdy ma’am,

    “I think I’ll go see a movie this weekend. What’s good out there?

    –Kim”

    Lots of good suggestions up there. No one mentioned Adam Sandler and Funny People. I’ve heard it does a good job at peeking behind the scenes of the world of stand up comedians.

    If you want something creepier, try the Orphan.

    I’ll probably go see G.I. Joe Monday.

    V^^^^V

    • Hi, Vampy. Sandler! I like some of his movies. 50 FIRST DATES with Drew Barrymore is my favorite, but I love Drew Barrymore. Orphan? Isn’t that horror? I can watch horror. We don’t get along AT ALL! (shiver) –Kim

    • Trish

      It’s not really Horror kim, lol… it’s more like suspense🙂

    • Cool. I might go see it, then. Thanks!

    • "Guy"

      Say Kimmie, I really don’t think “Orphan” is a good fit. Remember the last time we saw a creepy movie, I was checking the closets and under the bed for a month (ha, ha). Okay Okay, we’ll go to the movies twist my arm will ya’? NO CHICK FLICS.

  18. Candace

    I absolutely love it when you share pictures of your pets and your house and such! It’s nice to get a peek into the everyday life of our fav authors- makes them feel real and human instead of God-like. The puppies are adorable as always. My mom wants a couple of puppies as soon as she finds a place she likes- I think we’re gonna go for one large and one small dog, but we shall see who is available for adoption!

    • Thanks, Candace! I like sharing what I can. 😉 As for authors being real? Some are real, and some are a real pain in the butt. (laugh) –Kim

    • Candace

      Lol! Thanks for responding- it always warms my heart that you take the time to read all the comments AND leave a response for each of them! It’s great that you converse with your readers like this.

  19. Chastity

    LOVE the puppies! Such a cute pic! Wish I could laze around the house like that! LOL!

    As for the movies, I am a Harry Potter fan, so of course I have to recommend that one! But I also loved The Ugly Truth, so funny and too true!

  20. suzannelazear

    Nice picture. I really want to see “The Time Traveler’s Wife” and “Julie & Julia.” (Chick movies, as the hubby calls them). “Transformers,” “GI Joe” and “D-9” look good too (movies the Hubby will actually take me to, lol). I recently saw Harry Potter in IMAX 3D (very good). The tot adored G-Force (it’s a tot movie about talking animals who save the world. Fave line “don’t you wish your blowtorch was hot like mine.”) I could have lived without seeing it, but it was infinately better than Veggietales, lol.
    Happy Thursday. ~Suzanne and the tot

    • Hi, Suzanne. I had no idea that THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE was a fantasy/sf book until I saw the trailer. I might look into that one. But talking guinea pigs has it’s own appeal. (grin)

      Tell the tot thank you for the sparklies and the tiara. That was so sweet. Give her a hug for me. 😉 –Kim

    • suzannelazear

      I am so glad it made it to you safe and sound. She picked them out herself. I forgot to write in the note that it was your “care package” so you can “write more sparkly” (Don’t we all need to write more sparkly sometimes?) She is glad you like them and she wants to know if you liked the pictiure she drew for you (you know, the important thing, lol).
      ~Suzanne and the tot

    • Tell the Tot that it’s on my bulletin board. 😉 –Kim

  21. Joy

    Kim,
    Fantastic picture. Sometimes I wish that I could relax as easily as my pupper or be so obvious about how happy I am. They truly are woman’s best friend. I have seen a lot of movies this summer and have been disappointed by almost every one of them. For nostaligic reasons I am looking forward to G.I. Joe tomorrow. I am also quite intrigued by Peter Jackson’s District 9. Since you are a Sci-Fi girl that might be a good option. Did your family see Harry Potter yet? It was a very good movie but did not hold a candle to how amazing the book was. Good Luck finding a good movie! Joy

  22. Kate Bee

    My favorite movie this summer was “The Hangover”. Very funny!

  23. People are telling me 500 days of summer is a must see. I might check that out. I need a break from work, too.🙂 I really should get out and enjoy the theater screen.

    Also, oh my goodness, the puppies are gosh darn adorable. *squee*

    It makes me so happy that Xander is one of the pup’s names. Why? Because I’m the biggest Buffy the Vampire Slayer nerd. (I’ve got a BtVS tattoo to prove it, shhh)

  24. Jenn

    Ah…the dog days of summer…those were my favourite as a kid. We had a cottage & spent most of the summer there. But in August, the water was always calm, sometimes like glass. We would take the HobyCat/boat out on the lake and listen to the waves lap & the ciccada’s sing. Then when we got too hot we’d just slip over the side & cool off in the water.

    Sorry, took a trip down memory lane.

    I hope that no one comes to push you over for a while…but I do have a question for you…do you have an image yet of Rachel pack tattoo? I’ve been thinking about getting a tat & thought that was a great image.

    Well, I’m going to finish my work day (ugh only half done) & then enjoy my walk home…

    Hope you have fun at the movies!

    • Hi, Jenn. Mmmm, sounds like you had a great childhood. I grew up by a lake, too. I fished a lot.

      I still don’t have a tattoo image per say, but there is one that a reader did for me up at the website under Extras, I think. –Kim

  25. Linda (germany)

    Hey Kim
    Your dogs are just too cute.
    Well, there is a Fil with Johnny Depp out there. Public Enemies.
    I’ll watch it on the weekend.

  26. Klaus Fischer

    Hey Kim,

    so your two office assistants have the day off? Early weekend?
    Well these are definately some chilly Chihis🙂

    Enjoy the Om feeling while it lasts, past issues of the Drama Box show, that this will be short *grin*
    Cheers and a wonderful weekend from sunny Germany

  27. Mary

    Hey Kim,

    The picture is so cute. I luv dogs. I have a Saint Bernard and your dog is about half his leg. LOL can’t wait for the next Hollows book. Looking forward to Trent and Rachel. When will the graphic novels come out? Not sure if you mentioned before. Keep writing your books help me get thru the day. Will rachel ever twitter?

    • Thanks, Mary. My office assistants keep me busy. The graphic novels are scheduled for fall 2010, which is pretty fast. Will Rachel ever twitter? Nope. Just can’t get into it. Kim

  28. Hi🙂
    I love that picture!
    I love the lazy hazy days of summer too.
    So nice that you live near some woods.
    Harry Potter is okay (not great but good).
    I heard Ugly Truth with Gerard Butler & Kathryn Heigl is great.
    Love and best wishes,
    twitter.com/RKCharron
    xoxo
    PS – I adore your writing.🙂

    • Thanks, Rob! I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying my work. 😉 I thought Harry Potter was good, too, but the ending . . . Mmmm.

    • lemonade

      What? You didn’t like the rock ballad lighter tribute to Big D? Or Harry scratching his head during the murder of the millenium? 😀 I loved it, honestly. But had some nitpicky little things.

      Hope you find something good to watch.

  29. Juliet

    Summer is back, and you go to the movies? 8-/ Hmmmm…