Is it Friday yet?

Not that it really matters much this week.  I will be breaking my rule and working this weekend, which really sucks, but if you take a day off, you have to make it up somewhere.  Yesterday wasn’t really taken off, but I was out of the office for about four hours, and working until ten didn’t get me where I wanted to be.  Maybe I should have titled this Waiting for the Wahbulance.  (grin)  I was all set until something unexpected landed on my desk with a seven-day turn around.  (Where the heck is my cape and sparkly tiara?)

I know a lot of people here are interested in getting their own work on the shelf, and since I don’t do a lot of “how-to,” I wanted to tell you about a a great blog entry that Faith Hunter has today about the art of the cover letter.  If you’ve ever written one of these, or think you might, check it out.  It’s invaluable information that you can’t get out of a book.  Magical Words.

Back to work . . .

Kim

43 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

43 responses to “Is it Friday yet?

  1. deb sorensen

    ahhh…you big kid!

  2. Thursday

    Thank you so much for that referral page on query letters!!! I am an aspiring writer and I have been working on a few projects but did not find them good enough for publishing. But now I have been working really hard on this one potential novel and I have all my characters fleshed out and most relationships fleshed out and the basic plot of where I want my series to go! I really love this sci-fi world that is in my head and slowly coming alive through written word! But I am stuck in my first book because I am not sure how to show the rules. Like I have this old character that is telling my two main characters the rules but I don’t know if I should have him go into detail or make it simple and short! OH KIM PLEASE HELP ME!!! You are my favorite author and I respect your work so much! I’ve been stuck for an entire month! I try to write something else or stop writing to get my mind cleared but its still blocked! Please help me!!!

    • Hi, Thursday. Cool! I’m so glad you found something there you can use! It sounds like you know where you’re going in your work but are stuck on one spot. If it was me, I’d keep it simple and just give the reader what he needs at that exact moment, and nothing more.

      It doesn’t hurt to write a chapter twice, either. If you’ve been stuck for a month, you might try writing it sparce on the magic details, then again with more detail. I would be willing to bet you like the short one better. Good luck! –Kim

    • Thursday

      AAAAAAAAaaaaahhhhhhhh! thank you so much I can’t believe you replied!!! *forgets to breath* You are the best I will totally try what you suggested and I bet it turns out great!!! OMG you are so made of awesome!!! That’s right made of pure awesome!!! I can’t wait for your next book to come out! I still haven’t gotten your newest young adults one yet but hopefully in the next few weeks I can!!! You rock!! VvvV

    • It’s my pleasure, Thursday! Good luck with the writing. 😉 And I hope you like ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY if you get the chance to pick it up. Madison is almost more grown up than Rachel in a lot of ways. –Kim

  3. Brandi

    Kim I cannot get over how great you treat your fans!!!!!! I really mean that! You are a crazy good, and well known, author, and uber busy, but you make time to talk to us individually. Ive never heard of it before. You are only the second author who I have loved enough to get on thier site, and the fact that you are so invested in us makes me an even bigger fan! (Wow I sound a litte bit crazy in this post….no need for a restraining order I swear LMAO!). I just really think that its great to be able to talk directly to someone whose work I love. 🙂

    I hope you can get some down time this weekend! You deserve it!

    • Thank you, Brandi. I appreciate that. I have gotten so much from you guys, that this is one way that I can give back a little. I hope that I can continue to do this for a long time, but yes, every day there’s just a little bit more, which requires a bit more planning to get ‘er done. 😉 I should be able to get some dirt time in this weekend, but I’ll be sitting at my keyboard, too. –Kim

  4. Aimee

    Kim, you’re a legend!!
    Your books are so great and unique – I love your turn on vampires and the whole different species thing (yes, and sometimes I find myself thinking that pixies do exist, especially when I’m reading your novels).
    Not only that, but while writing you’re keeping this awesome blog AND replying to fan comments.
    Honestly, legend status right here!!
    I turned my friend Karman onto the Hollows, but I’m not letting her read the last book until I read it. Yes, evil. Haha.
    Aimee

    • Hi, Aimee. (grin) Thanks! I like you guys, and I hope I can always remain this accessable. And I’m really glad you’re enjoying the books! Thank you again! Ohhhhh, you are evil! (But in a good way.) 😉 –Kim

  5. Hey Kim! I’ve made an observation, and I’d like to hear your thoughts on the matter. My wife reads a lot of different series of urban fantasy, but the thing I’ve noticed is that all of them are written in the first person point of view. Is there a reason for this?

    • Hi, James.

      You’re right. Most of them are. I have no idea why, but it has become one of the stylistic traits of the genre. It might be because urban fantasy leans heavy on detective or mystery, which lends itself to first person. Personally, I like writing in first person because it’s a challenge to tell the reader something without having your main character know it, too. It’s harder to get the antagonist in there and develop him or her as a real person with good and bad sides, and I like the challenge. It’s also easier to connect with your reader if you are in first person. And I like being able to see right into Rachel’s head and get those snide thoughts of her on paper. –Kim

  6. mudepoz

    *Taps into Amazon* *Notices that Unbound is under 8 dollars* *Sees that if more is purchased there is no shipping costs* *Buys more books, needed much like a new hole in the head* *Effectively brings Unbound down to nearly nothing in lieu of shipping, but now purchased nearly 100 dollars of books*

    This is a presentation of the Grounds For Divorce Attorneys. Yes, if you have fights over shelf space for new books, we can help you.

    Sigh. Mud

  7. mudepoz

    http://mudepoz.wordpress.com/2009/07/30/dang-my-camera/

    Only a few more weeks of Amulet (bad name, everyone thinks she’s omelete), Jess, Jax and Jamoke…

  8. gina

    Hi Kim,

    I have “read” your books and really like them. (“read” – in the car on CD)

    I have noticed that many books have different covers for different countries. why is this? I especially noticed Keri Arthur’s book covers.

    I read somewhere that one of her covers looks like the girl would look on a TV show, but she doesn’t match the description of the main character at all. totally confused.

    thanks!

    • Thank you, Gina! I’m glad you’re enjoying the books! I can’t say anything about Keri Arthur’s books, but I know that mine change covers when they are printed by a different publisher. It’s cheaper for them to put their own, culture-specific cover on it then buy the art from the US publisher. At least, I think that’s why they do it.

  9. Matt Johannesen

    I went into my bookshop last night and to my suprise they had White Witch Black Curse. I’ve only been waiting since like February to get it lol
    I was so excited I skipped going to gym just so i could read it haha. I have been re-reading the last six books and Where Demons Dare so it is all pretty fresh in my mind and i just cant wait to finish the new book and discover the new story its hard conveying in words how much i like reading and how excited i get as the story progresses. I dont know I’m trying to create an analogy with eating and reading lol its not working! anyway good luck with the script writing for the graphic novel it must be so fun working in different mediums.😀

    • That’s great, Matt! I’m so glad you finally got it! I hope it keeps you tight to the pages. 😉 So far, it’s been a blast working in a new medium. –Kim

  10. Bob J

    Dear Kim,

    Think of things this way, rules like that are made to be broken. Have fun breaking the rules.

    Also with the up coming graphic novels, why not write a short three to five page story about, ” Supper Kim”, or maybe ” Wonder Kim”. Of cores you could try, ” Bat Kim” or “Spider Kim”, maybe ” Vampira-Kim”, the possibilities are endless. If you look into it, you may find the rear opportunity that every kid dreams of, becoming a supper hero. If you cannot get Del Ray to go for it, you will always be the supper hero of this Blog.

    Best Regards,

    Bob J.

  11. Phil

    Hi Kim, still excited about the graphic novel!!! Just wondering did you ever read Elizabeth Moon’s work since i know you like SF? I’m pretty selective about what i read in any genre and i think she’s really good. Confessing here that UF is my favorite ever since DWW!!! Oh, and don’t work TOO hard. *grin* At least Friday is almost here!! ~Phil

    • Hi, Phil. Mmmm, no I don’t think I’ve read her work. There was a span of about ten years where I didn’t read ANYTHING!

      As for work? I’m busting my butt trying to get my weekend back. I don’t think it’s going to happen. 😦

      –Kim

  12. suzannelazear

    Hi Kim, thanks for the linky. The more I get serious about writing the more I realise how much it’s like my day job. (I’m a fundraiser, among other things, lol). A query is your letter of intent, you pitch is has the same mssion (to get the listener to care as you do), and so on. Only in one I’m writing about fictional stories, the other real ones. LOL.

    The teen girls in my creative writing class (working for an inner-city non-profit I do a number of things), want to know if you’re a “pantser” or a “plotter” — we’re working on plotting short stories. Several of them have read ODTS and liked it. (The dance gurlz are holding my borrowed arc of ODTS hostage, lol. If they don’t give it back soon, I’m going to have to set the quantum dust bunnies on them….)

    The tot thinks a tiara and cape are a grand idea. She always gets inspired while wearing her tiara (or, according to her, in the bubble bath).

    Have a good day!

    ~Suzanne and the tot

    • Hi, Suzanne. I am a diehard plotter, but I’m not afraid to scrap my plot and rewrite it when something cool comes along. It usually does about twice per book.

      I’m so glad they read and enjoyed ODTS! That is so cool!

      I need to get a tiara. Mmmm . . . –Kim

  13. Sebrina

    Laurell K. Hamilton also post tips on how to get published. She did one blog on Manuscript Presentation ( http://blog.laurellkhamilton.org/index.php/site/Manuscript_Presentation101/ ), and another yesterday on simple writing advice ( http://blog.laurellkhamilton.org/index.php/site/writing_advice_or_maybe_just_shared_confusion/ ).

    I enjoyed Faith Hunter’s Blog as well, but you’d think that being professional would be obvious. Writing/Editing/Publishing – all of it is a business, and it must be treated as one if you wish to be in that business.

    • Thanks for the links, Sebrina. If you’ve ever been to a writer’s conference, you’ll know that being professional is not a given. OMGosh, the things I’ve seen . . .

    • Sebrina

      Unfortunately, I’ve never been to a writer’s conference. I’ve always lived in too small of towns, too far away from most cities to go to one. And now I’m not even in the states, so things are a little more different; however I guess it’s the same with any business: you’ll get people who forget there’s a time and place for certain things.

  14. Another ‘have you ever heard’ of someone working for a year on a story, only to find out later it was a 100K outline for three books? Most bizarre.

  15. Nick Goodrick

    to answer the question on the mackinaw bridge posting, I live in Muskegon which is about a 4 hr ride south of the bridge along lake michigan. I am heading up to the island next week for some r&r.—Nick

  16. becca

    wow kim,
    great news on the comic should be really intresting to see the hollows in comic creation.i must admit though iam not a massive comic book fan i dont know why to be honest,but you can bet good money on me trying the hollows comic though.couple of questions…will the comic(s) be given titles or called the hollows issue 001 etc.have you always fancied your work to become comic fiction?or has someone approched and said it would make a fab idea.do you find it hard or mind possible slating etc to be seem jumping on the ‘band wagon’ (holding hands up,not me!!!)ive just heard on the grape vine that folks out there are going oh another one …. lots of foolish whinning that theres to much of authors all doing very similar stuff this year.ive kinda turned around and said the authors have always had the ideas in there head or filed away for future use but the editors and book industry will see that is what the public wants at the moment so the give it to us,supply and demand my prettys!!
    iam i way off??it must be hard when an author has already been one step ahead of you and there you are contantly compared with that author.
    so sorry for the long post its just got my back up when i hear bashing,i heard the same kinda rubbish when patricia briggs did her comic ‘shes only gotta couple books out and already jumping on the lkh idea train’ arggh get real there different books,ideas,concept,paranormal story etc
    sorry to rant ive stuck up for you hunn
    hugs to all becca and co uk x

    • Hi, Becca. Cool! I hope you do give the Hollows graphic novels a try. I don’t know what they will be called, no, but I am hoping for something simple, like The Hollows. I’m really glad to have the chance to see what the Hollows is going to look like in this format. At last, these people in my head will have a face everyone sees the same. I don’t know if it’s as much as jumping on the wagon as much as it is finding a way to see the Hollows in a new way. I can see where you might get upset at author bashing. The way I see it, LKH deserves credit for blazing the way for the rest of us to make a living in this genre, but she didn’t invent it. I grew up watching Bewitched, and I first saw monsters living next door in Ray Bradbury’s work. So for any artist to say that he or she _invented_ anything smacks of self-flattery. There’s nothing wrong with writing to the market if you are enjoying yourself and furthering your craft. –Kim

  17. Juliet

    I don´t really know where my question would fit to, so I put it under this entry. I´m just curious, have you ever been embarrassed about anything you´ve written, after it came out…and asked yourself, wtf were I thinking?

    • Hi, Juliet. Have I ever been embarrassed about something that I’ve written after it’s been published? No, I can’t say that I have. I have anywere from three to eight chances to change things in any given piece of work, so by the time it hits the shelf, I’ve had plenty of time to change things. –Kim

  18. Sabrina from WV

    Thanks so much for the link to the article about writing queries. It is a daunting task and the article was helpful. I’m always eager to get my hands on any tid bit of writing info.
    Cheers!
    Sabrina