Headed South

I am having a hard time believing that I’ve been out of the office for two entire weeks, and my vacation is almost over!  (pout)  Guy, I, and Thing Two have had a great time enjoying the cooler, drier weather that Michigan has to offer, and I again remember what real grass is supposed to look like.  Though we have a couple of days left, it feels like the end for me since we topped off the visit with my mom and dad with a spur-of-the-moment family  get-together. 

Wonderful. 😉

I likely won’t be posting again until Monday, but I did want to tell you about Richard Kadrey’s newest release, SANDMAN SLIM, which I had the chance to read in manuscript form and loved it.  There is more over at the Eos Blog–including my official blurb–but here’s what Eos had to say:

Sandman SlimLife sucks, and then you die. Or in James Starks’s case, you spend eleven years in Hell as a hitman before finally escaping, only to land back in the hell-on-earth that is Los Angeles.  Now Stark’s back, and ready for revenge. And absolution, and maybe even love. But first and foremost, getting the bastards who killed him in the first place. But when his first stop saddles him with an abusive talking head, Stark discovers that the road to absolution and revenge is much longer than you’d expect, and both Heaven and Hell have their own ideas for his future…

27 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

27 responses to “Headed South

  1. Jenn

    Morning Kim!

    I’m glad you have had such a great vacation! It sounds like you had some quality family time too.

    My sister is back in Canada from Switzerland where she is a teacher at an International School. I am really proud of her. I tend to live vicariously through her (grin).

    I was able to get my hands on a copy of WWBC & I’ve finally finished it! It was fantastic. I really enjoyed the way it ended & I can’t wait for the next installment!

    I have to say, that I really hope to see Ivy & Rachael relationship get closer. I know you don’t script those but I’m hoping that it goes that way!

    Well, I have to get to work, hope all is well with you!

    Jenn

    • Hi, Jenn. I had a great vacation, thanks! Oh, wow! I’m so glad you liked WWBC! Thank you! I hear you on Ivy and Rachel. I’m just letting it flow, so we’ll find out together. Have a great weekend! –Kim

  2. DM

    Hey Kim,

    You’re about to wrap up your holiday/vacation and I am about to start mine.
    However I just had to tell you I love the way the Hollows series has gotten better and better with each installment.
    Your characters grow and learn, and even though more and more happens on a personal level for your characters it has not meant you eased up on plot.
    There is still enough in the loose ends department to make me long for your next installment.
    Even though I personally would love 20 more books, I hope you won’t keep the story going when you run out of ideas. Or start stretching plot that would make 1 good book over about 5 bad to mediocre ones. I am not naming names but it happens in this genre.
    By the same token I personally think the personal stuff is good enough to keep me comming back for more, even if there would be no moren runs for Rache and the gang😉
    Anyway.
    Thanks 4 some great reading.
    -DM-

    • Thanks, DM! I really appreciate that. I’m actually working toward the end of another story arc and should reach it by book 12 or 13. And then I’m giving Rachel a break. Time to find her happy ending, I think. One thing I’m not afraid of is ending a series. 😉 Then I can start developing a few other ideas that I have. Mmmmmm. –Kim

  3. zieschlern

    Heya Kim, I have a question: what is the Wish Coin made of? Hope you have fun, I have holidays now and will go on a short trip with my bf. yay! Greetz to Guy
    amy from Germany

  4. Bob J.

    Dear Kim,

    Thank you for keeping the blog open, and taking the rest of us along on the family outing. It was fun for us, but work for you. I personal dislike answering e-mail from work when I am out. By the way do you really know what the “e” in “e-,mail” stands for? The “e” is for evil. Every time you receive a e-mail, the sender expects you to drop every thing and answer it NOW. I would think that the blog is like public e-mail. Thank for putting up with us.

    Have fun on the way home. I am guessing that you are going to stop of at Cinci again. Have a safe trip South.

    Oh, it was very cool of your mom to post.

    Best Regards,

    Bob J.

    • Hi, Bob. Thanks! I’m really glad that you appreciate the time I put in with you guys, even when I’m on vacation. I guess I just love sharing the things I feel comfortable sharing. 😉 E is for evil, eh? Sounds like the name of an Inderland spelling book. –Kim
      P.S. I think it was cool for my mom to post, too. 😉

  5. Valerie

    Safe travel, and we will see you back on the blog on Monday. I am down south myself for the weekend , smack in the middle of the creole state. Hope Rachel , Ivy, and Jenks are ready to get busy when you get back to the office.

    xo val

  6. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim! I’ve enjoyed your vacation photos, thank you again for sharing them with us. I loved the movie “Somewhere in Time,” it was during my Christopher Reeve obsession period way back when. He and Jane Seymour were great in that movie! Have a safe trip back home! *VV*

  7. Phil

    Kim, were you recognized while you guys were seeing the sites in Cincy or Mackinac, like from your book jacket photo? Does that ever happen? Just wondering. ~Phil

  8. Kat

    Hi Kim,

    I loved the pics of Mackinaw Bridge and Island. My mom used to load us all up to visit when I was little. I even got to stay at the Grand Hotel once when I was about 16! I still have fond memories of that place. Our favorite thing to do was horse back riding!

    Sounds like you had a fun filled vacation.

    Kat

    • Hi, Kat. We didn’t ride this year, but maybe next? I love getting to the interior of the island where no one goes as much. That is cool about you staying at the Grand Hotel! –Kim

  9. Shannon

    Hi Kim, Have a safe trip home! Live in Michigan and have made a couple of trips to the Carolinas and Georgia by car. I am no longer a car trip girl(the UP or Cedar Point is the limit and that is pushing it!!) You are a brave woman!!

    • Thanks, Shannon. We made it home in good time with only rain in the mountains. (as usual) Guy does most of the driving, except when I chime in from the shotgun seat. (grin) –Kim

  10. susan

    i just have a comment…i have fallen in love with your audio hollow books but have one complaint. the first 4 or 5 where read by the same woman then, suddenly, the reader changed to gigi bermingham. she, of course has a different voice which i can get used to but, she should have at least researched the other audios to ensure pronunciation is correct. (i.e. pyscary adn lay lines [my spelling may be off since i just listen on the ride to work]). anyway, it is VERY distracting and a bit disappointing. it took me a few times to even realize who she was referring to when she said PIScury vs. pisCARY (caps mine for emphasis).

    i look forward to reading some of your other series. thanks for listening.

  11. Mom

    Hi Kim, It was a sad morning as you and your car loaded with pups, people, and pail pulled out of our drive. But how happy we were to have you spend your ‘vacation’ with us. And now, we are sitting in our rocking chairs on the back porch enjoying the fruits of your labor while eating the Mackinaw (or is it Mackinac) fudge you left behind.

    Drive carefully! Mom & Dad

    • Juliet

      Thats really sweet…

      Cheers to mom´s and dad´s🙂

    • mudepoz

      How nice! Now to figure out how to see your mom’s avi. What a great relationship you seem to have with your parents AND husband. Oh, and the pups. And probably the hidden things….

    • Hi, Mom! (grin)

      It was a bittersweet drive home, but we are already looking forward to coming back soon. 😉 Tim, too.

      About that fudge . . . I couldn’t help but notice that it seemed to vanish as soon as I gave it to you until we left. (grin)

      Love you.

  12. Phil

    Hi Kim, I can’t believe “our,” uh, your vacation is coming to an end! Your pics and descriptions made me, and the other readers I’m sure, feel like we were there, so thanks for sharing!!!

    Have fun the rest of the trip and safe journey home!!! ~Phil