. . . And After!

As some of you might know, I’ve been visiting my folks this week.  My mom is where I got my green thumb, and my dad is where I got my lack of fear to try stuff and see what happens.  I got my stick-to-it from both of them. 

When you get all three of us together, and then Tim (Guy) is there with his expertise, there is bound to be trouble.  Fortunately I brought my shovel, bucket, work gloves, and my clippers, and instead of trouble, we worked on one of their landscaping “issues” that they inherited with their new house last fall.  It was a true joint effort, and three days and two trips to the home improvement store, and we are DONE!  (big grin) 

After Back We got the back part done so quickly that we tackled the side yard, too.  More pictures after the cut.    

Here’s a Before and After of the front and side of the garage.

Front before 2

After Front

And because Vampy asked, a picture of me in my big yellow hat. 😉

Yellow Hat

We are taking a break from the dirt to go visit Tim’s mom, and then maybe head up to Mackinaw for some fudge.  ;-)  The puppies are staying with “Grandma and Grandpa,” and the car seems empty without them.

–Kim

52 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

52 responses to “. . . And After!

  1. Shannon

    Hi Kim, this is my first blog ever please be gentle. I LOVE the Hollows series!! Also love the gardening pics. More of a vegatable garden girl myself. Being a Michigander I always love seeing pictures of the Bridge. Enjoy your vacation!

    • Hi, Shannon! I’m glad you posted! You might find that they are like chips and once you start, you can’t stop.
      Here’s something you might get a kick out of. We visited Tim’s mother when we were up in Michigan, and while sorting through her pictures for a particular one, we found a bridge picture that looks exactly like the one I took only black and white. Can you imagine how many pictures of that bridge exist? It boggles the mind. –Kim

  2. It’s kind of sad. When I worked for a botanical garden, I had a bright yellow ball cap with a yellow crayon pin, jammed over bright red curly hair.

    1980’s big hair. I miss the cap. I don’t miss the hair:)

  3. Candace

    Wow, you must’ve been working nonstop! I remember back when my parents bought a house in CA they hired landscapers to do the front and back yards. The only thing I really remember is what it generally looked like, and the only plants I can recall are the snap dragons that were put in the front along the walkway by the rose bushes, and then a couple of fruit trees in the back.

    I hope you’re enjoying visiting🙂 The work you guys did looks awesome! I wish I had some gardening skills it would be fun to grow some flowers and maybe a garden or something.

    • Hi, Candace. It was more like four or five hours a day, then RELAX!!! I’ve gotten better at that relaxing thing. Mmmm, I love snap dragons. They don’t grow as well in SC as they do in MI. I miss them.

      You should try your hand at a pot of something green. You never know! –Kim

  4. SeattleRobin

    Thanks for the hat pic! (It’s just like I imagined it.) Very impressive work on the yard, especially in such a short time. When I owned a house I was impressed with myself just for getting the dandelion population in the lawn under control.

    • Antonio Rich

      Robin! So cool to hear from you the week before last. Your reccomended reading list was a real “who’s who” in Urban Fantasy/Sci Fi, and yes, I have read most of them. I have recently ordered some more Tanya Huff, Jocelyn Drake, Jeaniene Frost, Maria V. Snyder, Karen Chance. I just finished Storm Born by Richelle Mead(she also writes the adult Succubus series, and the YA Vampire Academy) and i can’t reccomend it enough. The only author you listed that i hadn’t heard of was Lisa Shearin. I did some reasearched and it sounded fun, so i ordered. Thanks!

    • SeattleRobin

      Hey Antonio,

      I have Drake and Frost on my wishlist, just haven’t gotten around to them yet. I read the Study trilogy by Maria V. Snyder and really enjowed it. I have her latest loaded on my Kindle but haven’t read it yet. I think I might have Storm Born on my wishlist too, but not sure. I’ll have to check it out since you made a strong recommendation. Thanks!

    • Hi, Robin. (grin) My pleasure! I couldn’t remember who asked me for it, but I was happy to oblige. –Kim

  5. Lora

    :O Big yellow hat!!❤ I want one now! xD

  6. Kat

    Wow!!! Your parents must be thrilled. I am envious of your talent and work ethic. Hey, aren’t you supposed to lay around and relax on a vacation? 😉 ~Kat

    • Hi, Kat.

      My parents _are_ thrilled. 😉 I’m just glad to help out when I can. Guy and I did take a couple of days out to go up to Mackinaw, though. –Kim

  7. Kira Bailey

    hey there,
    I didn’t know where else to go but I wanted to ask you If the hollows series was over???

    By the way nice job on that back yard. I’ve been puttin up the same fence for two years and it is still not finished yet.

    please get back to me when you can.

    sincerly,
    Kira S. Bailey

    • Hi, Kira. Thanks! We had a lot of fun working in the yard, but I’m glad to relax, now.

      I’ve been contracted out for 12 to 13 total Hollows books. It’s going to take that long to get to the ending I see, and that’s going to be it! Rachel wants her happy ending.

      –Kim

  8. Valerie

    It all looks great… luvin’ the hat too :0) Eat some fudge for me …yummy

    xo val

  9. Aww, it’s adorable!

    Honestly, I’m envious. We live in the city, and I would just die to have a cozy backyard like that🙂

    Nice work though, it takes a fair bit of elbow grease to make a yard look that good!

    (Just read _Any Witch Way but Dead_ and am itching to read the rest of the series🙂

    • Thanks, Feoh! I don’t know what I’d do if I lived in the city that I couldn’t get out and dig. Probably have too many house plants. I hope you like the rest of the series! –Kim

  10. Phil

    Hi Kim, you and the crew have the Midas touch, well not turning the garden to gold literally, sigh of relief, but really great job. You guys put me to shame, though i think my cactus is doing ok.

    Like the yellow hat and puppy picture, too. Oh, and i think i may have missed where Guy is Tim. grin.

    Have a fun trip to Mackinaw!! Don’t pick up any hitchikers named NICK!!!!!
    ~Phil

    • Hi, Phil.
      Thanks! I think it looks so much better. Safer, too, to move around in without the sliding drop-off.

      I think Guy was taking the picture. 😉

      –Kim

  11. Sue, Chicago

    Hey Kim! I was browsing the Borders website today and guess what? They have a listing to pre-order the new Hollows book. They’re giving it a drop date of March 1, 2010. They don’t have an image available of the cover. Have you seen it yet? Any indication when we’ll get to see it? I know you’re on vacation, but this just got me wa-a-a-y excited!

    • Hi, Sue. Yup, that’s probably the next Hollows book. (grin) Thanks for not telling everyone the title! I guess I should just give it up and let go of the illusion that I have any control over the releasing of info about these books anymore. BLACK MAGIC SANCTION is scheduled for a late Feb drop date (which is the date they are to be on the shelves) but the “official publication date is probably March 1st, a week after it’s actually been out.

      I have seen a cover, and I love it, but it might be changing, which is why I don’t have it up yet.

      –Kim

  12. Antonija

    Kim, the garden looks beautiful!
    I tell you, my grandmother would be jealous if she would see the after picture.(grin)
    She loves gardening too, but she’s not as fast as you are….is getting too old for hard work like that, I think.
    But don’t tell her that I’ve said that (grin)
    I hope you’ll enjoy the rest of your vacations and continue to have a great time with your family.

    • Hi, Antonija.
      I swear, by the time I finish working in the garden, I feel like I’m too old for it, too. Slow and steady, though, gets it done.
      –Kim

  13. I am impressed. It used to take a much larger Crew and I in order to accomplish that. Of course, it took a day…but still.

    Although the head is turned, your pup is obviously thinking you insane for all the yardwork in a bathroom. OK, mine say that.

    And it’s scary. We have a few things in common. I live in clothes that you were wearing. If not T’s, then sweats. It’s an advantage, and even as aged as I am, it is a good life. Then again, I’m hell on clothes.

    Beautiful job! Gorgeous work.

    Then the caveat from a gazillion years of teaching. Pots of flowers? *grin*
    Oh, and I think I see one of my favs, an Allium head on the before of the side. I always expect a Suess creation, maybe Horton, listening for a who…

    Muddled…

    • Hi, Mud.

      Oh, Xander loves to dig! You should see her helping me in the garden. She doesn’t understand, though, why she shouldn’t dig up the plant I just put into the ground.

      Yes, that’s Allium you see. There were a lot scattered around, but I think the pieces that I dug up will be planted together to make a bigger showing.

      –Kim

  14. Bob J.

    Dear Kim,

    It just hit me. You do not have any black on, that is the first time I have seen you out of black. Are you OK?

    Best Regards,

    Bob J.

  15. Bob J.

    Dear Kim,

    The yard looks great. The side yard made a big jump. So you are going to keep going North? Have fun.

    Best Regards,

    Bob J

  16. Tosha

    Hey Kim! Your gardening skills are amazing!! I just managed to kill my baby catus the other day. . .

  17. trisha

    oh wow
    i wish i had a green thumb my yard is sad looking

    • Believe me, Trisha, the green thumb doesn’t just happen. You have to start from scratch and just try stuff until you find out what works. 😉 –Kim

  18. Chastity

    Wow! Looks Great! Good work all around!

  19. Indy

    Hi Kim!!! That looks awesome!!! Would you like to fix my yard? 🙂 ~Indy

    • Thanks, Indy! 😉 Er, no. No thanks. You’re going to have to fix your own yard. Yard work is like writing. If it was easy, everyone would do it. (laugh) –Kim

  20. Judi in NJ

    Hi Kim….Wow!!!….what talent…the garden is beautiful! Coming to Jersey anytime soon??🙂 Judi in NJ

  21. nocturnalvixen

    Wow the grammar and spelling in my last comment are atrocious!
    Why do I never notice things like that untill AFTER I hit submit? lol
    ~Anna

  22. nocturnalvixen

    Wow Kim!
    Thats awesome! I can barly manage a window box. lol I could really use one of your pixi’s🙂

    I’ve decided to use my blog space here to put up some of my old poetry! I just have to dig it all up. If your not to busy I’d get a big kick out of you reading some of it.

    Love the garden.
    ~Anna

    • Hi, Anna. Mmmm, some of my pixies? Then who would weed my moss? (grin) Tell you what. I’ll make a page for people to put up their poetry. Give me a day. That way, it will be easier to find. –Kim

  23. Gothar

    WOW!
    I can’t even clean up a small 2 bedroom apartment in 2 months let a lone a weekend. You put so much energy to into everything you do. Keep up the great work!

  24. Cat

    Good heavens, you did all that in a weekend? Feel like taking a trip to Montreal and tackling my back yard?😉 Great job!

    I know what you mean about the car seeming empty without the pups – after driving 10 hours with my two 50-pounders and then driving around without them while there it was lonely.😉

    • Hi, Cat. It was more like four days, I think, and noooooo! (grin) I’m not coming to Montreal to tackle your back yard! I’m all worked out for a while. –Kim