Kim! What does that tomato mean?

tomatoBelieve it or not, this is a tomato. It is also clear evidence that I chose wisely in focusing on words instead of drawing. But what, you might ask, is it doing on my blog and events page next to certain stores? Well, my publicist thought it would be nice to end the tour by asking everyone attending to donate a little something to the charity of my choice. And since I love food, my choice would be to the local food bank, but instead of a monetary donation, I like the idea of bringing a can of food. (Check the expiration date!) If there are tomatoes in that can, then that’s all the better!

If I’m going to do this for the last store, why not do it throughout the tour, and so far, after only 12 hours, I’ve gotten a great response from some of the hosting stores who have agreed to get the stocks to their local food bank. I expect more will be added as we get closer to the release date.

So if you’re coming out to see me, bring a can with you, or don’t. It’s very low pressure. That’s what I like about it. The events page has been updated to show the stores involved, and I think I have most of the changes to the schedule rubbed out now. Just as a reminder, the Dallas signing at B&N is open to the public. It’s just the tea on the following day that is ticketed.

EventPage

Click to go to see tour cities/times

35 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

35 responses to “Kim! What does that tomato mean?

  1. Sarah Knoke

    I’m still sad that Nashville isn’t on the schedule, I’m going to try to get off of work to see you in Bowling Green! I’ll bring a couple cans!

  2. Yay – you are finally coming to a city near me (Petaluma) and on my birthday no less! I am so excited! I have never been to a book signing – any tips? Should I come with a book already purchased or plan to buy it there?

  3. Melissa Pettersson

    Just wondering if the book store that I’m going for the signing doesn’t have a picture next to it. Can I still bring tomatoes can to the event? Will it be used even if that location
    isn’t doing it?

    • Melissa, check back later to see if your store gets a tomato. They are still responding. But, if it doesn’t, please don’t bring any in. I don’t have enough room in my luggage to cart them onto the plane to take to the next stop, and if you bring anything in, it is likely going to just sit there until someone takes it home. But thank you for the thought. Also, the tomatoes have to be in cans! (soup, chili, etc)

    • Melissa

      Thank you. I’ll keep checking. :)

  4. Yay! Joseph Beth in Cincinnati has a big ole tomato! Thanks for thinking of this – it’s a great idea! This is my very first signing (ever!) and I’m loving all the pre-planning ideas!

  5. Cristie Quiner

    I’m so sad! No Alaska spot! 😔 but I’ll donate to our food bank like I always do in your name Kim!!! 😊 Tomatoes and a few other yummy things!!!! Have a great tour and I hope someday you’ll consider visiting up North!

  6. Drat no tomato for my event either. I wanted to bring some Clamato juice. Squeezed from the freshest clams and tomatoes. MMMmmMMM GOOD!

  7. joshua griffith

    i wanna get a case at Costco and label it: Pre-Turn stock! T4 Angel virus safe says Piscary Pizzeria *wink wink* :)

  8. I love it will definitely be bringing something Tomato based and is it ok to bring our other books to be signed? I already ordered The Witch with No Name Signed copy

  9. Linda Craft.

    No tomato by my signing. I have been donating the extra vegetables from my garden this year to a local women’s shelter. I will donate the tomatoes this year in Rachel’s name and maybe throw in a couple paperback Hollows books to go with it. Thank you for such a good idea.

  10. old72jim

    Hi Ms. Kim since I can’t get to an event I guess I’ll have to donate to the food bank here when I go shopping for the month this weekend

  11. Janet H

    The event I am planning on attending does not have a tomato (yet). If the time comes and it still doesn’t I will donate food to my local bank in your honor.

  12. Stacy

    👍 excellent idea!! 🍅 rock! I love when farmers let the local food banks come in before the first killing frost and pick the produce. They didn’t have that option when we grew produce for resale.

  13. Superlative idea! It will provide for so many.

  14. Great Idea! Which B&N will the event be at in Dallas? The only info I can find is on the tea party.

    • Saturday, 2:00 to 5:00 pm. Big 21 author signing event at Barnes and Noble (open to the public)
      Firewheel, 190 Cedar Sage Dr.,
      Garland, TX (Portion of sales to benefit Richardson Adult Literacy Center)

  15. SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

    I think you underrate your artistic abilities. That’s a perfectly acceptable tomato. And sharing the wealth, i.e. donating to local food banks, is wonderful!

  16. Martin

    I bet 99% of the donations will be tomatoes. An in joke for the people in the know. ;)
    Martin

  17. Edward N. Carson

    What great idea!

  18. Racheal C.

    Great idea! Sad that Nashville seems to have disappeared on the tour schedule though. Have a great tour!!!

  19. Krista

    You’re amazing and have such a generous spirit. Fantastic idea.

  20. That is so cool of you! I liked you before but now I love you! Great idea and I know Erin and I are in.

  21. Claudia D.

    Great idea! A tomato, how appropriate.

  22. Sad day, you won’t be in MN!! I hope you have fun on your upcoming signing tour!

  23. kathy rudolphe

    That is a very thoughtful idea. If only your tour had a few Western Canadian cities on it…:)

  24. This is a great idea!!😊

  25. deborahblake1

    What a fabulous idea! (And that is a very nice tomato…)