Woodpeckers are smacking the eaves

It may be cold, but the sun is rising in a clear sky this morning, and I’m betting that it gets warmer than the paltry 33 they are forecasting. The chipmunks have been up now for two days, and that sun is hot. Hang in there. The warmth is coming. You can’t stop the sun. You can only delay it for a time.

I’m listening to Electric Area on my Sirius this morning. I can take about an hour of it and then the “boots-and-pants” begin to drive me nuts, and then it’s over to Chill or maybe Spa if I am really strung out. And I’ll admit I’m a bit strung out today, but in a good way. The plotting for Peri II is going extremely well, as in I know this has the bones to be the best thing I’ve written to date. I can’t wait to get it on paper so I can go back to Peri I and bring some of this new sparkle to it. I’m pulling from OMG-everywhere, and it’s draining even as the exhilaration has me at it until the next idea is teased out, tried, and worked in or abandoned. ┬áHence the need to shift to something very calming on the radio. This is nothing new, but feels compacted this time, a pattern that’s becoming recognizable and allows for better control, because when the mind shifts over to pure creativity with no regard to reality, the messy chaos follows you out of the office door and into the real world. If you’re not watching for it, it will break things.

I’m not explaining this very well, but if I go silent on the blog for a few days, it’s only because I’m working, and will only stop in here to mention stuff like it being the last chance to get a personalized The Undead Pool. (Seriously, it is. I’m going in tomorrow to sign in the back room, and from then on, it will be signature only. International is okay, but email them for a quote first at nicolasbooks@tds.net. And be sure to tell them when ordering whose name you want it signed to, or you’ll just get a book. [order signed book]

I won’t be going utterly silent, because that just doesn’t work for me, ( I love my FB) but I probably won’t have an organized thought on my blog until at least Monday. :-)

 

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

11 responses to “Woodpeckers are smacking the eaves

  1. Completely unrelated to your post, but I’m curious if there will be anymore Madison Avery books. It’s been a while. :-)

  2. Linda Craft.

    you mention signing more books. do you use an ergonomic pen that helps with writers cramp? do they even make such a thing? if not, I hope your poor hand hasn’t suffered these past few weeks.

    • I use a plain old cross pen that I braided leather around almost a decade ago. It makes for a nice grip, but it’s how you hold the pen that helps prevent writer’s cramp. The hand is fine, but thank you!

  3. SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

    Understand completely. When I get into a writing project I dive in headfirst, come up for air occasionally and somewhat resentfully, and then dive right back in again. Sometimes I have “organized,” have a sort of outline, and sometimes I just start somewhere and careen along until I run out of steam. Then the thing has to rest awhile — the writing project, I mean, but I do, too. When I come back to it usually I have a LOT of tightening up, editing, and general rewriting to do. This was painful (literally) when I was writing by hand, or even typing. Now, with a computer: Full Steam Ahead!

  4. old72jim

    Hi Ms. Kim not having organized thoughts,except for Peri sounds like a plan. You might try Janis Joplin doing “Little Girl Blue”or “Piece of My Heart “but then you might get depressed. When I am disorganized I listen to a lot of Janis.

    • old72jim

      P.S. I forgot I make lots of comfort food,like chuck roast with tomatoes,ptatoes, carrots,celery,four kinds fresh ground pepper,sasalt,Millers soup base,(Beef of course),and so on.

    • SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

      Jim you can come cook in my closet aka kitchen any time!

  5. Vampyre

    As long as you don’t start screaming REDRUM REDRUM, I guess everything will work out OK.

  6. Enjoy your chaotic and creative time with Peri–I’m waiting (somewhat) patiently) to see the results :)

    Also, by Monday we may reach 50 wonderful degrees! Whoo hoo!