Straight on until morning

So, Friday’s response to my little dragon was humbling.  Thank you everyone who commented. I can’t begin to answer you all. :-) Those of you who were asking about a pattern–give me about a month? I have to put in all the things that connect the dots and make it reproducible. I’m almost done with my bunny, and then I’ll be back with it, rested and ready.

And speaking of getting back, I find myself back with Peri today. I promised myself I wasn’t going to crack open her ms for at least three months to let it rest. I’ve got ideas of how to tweak and clarify, but I’m not doing anything but making a list of changes right now. All that frustration will be funneled into putting the second Peri book closer to reality.

IMG_1045Today, I’ll be working with paper and pencil, not turning my work computer on for anything but perhaps printing out 40 or so pages with a header. At least I have a title. (grin) I’d share it, but chances are it’s going to be changed. Which is too bad. It’s totally wicked, and I took care to pattern it after what marketing seems to like. (Yes, I do pay attention to stuff like that.)

Forty blank pages. I’ll probably put stuff on about fifteen of them today, probably keeping three as being useful–a page of hard plot (saving the world) a page of soft plot (relationships that forge a sympathetic union between the protagonists and readers) and a page of stuff for me. (things I think are cool that should be included) From there, a synopsis is born, and maybe by Wednesday, I might start detailing out some chapters.

Sad thing is that the finished product is going to look so far away and distant from what I started so painstakingly with. If, as a writer, you can’t let go of good ideas for better ones, you’re only making your world ten times more difficult. And this is coming from a hardcore plotter!

 

18 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

18 responses to “Straight on until morning

  1. old72jim

    Hi Ms. Kim I jumped all over Amazon until they put the Pern and Chrystal Singer books up,and then bought 4. Thats the power of the dragon! Also I have the bird feeder up and the herd of robins inhabiting the village is cautiously checking it out

  2. Jo Miller

    Just a silly question that my craft group wondered…. I was telling them about seeing you in Columbia, SC a few weeks ago. (Several of them are fans – almost as much as me!) One of the women wondered what you were like as a kid…. We decided you must have been full of fantasy and make-believe even then.

  3. SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

    OK, I can’t stand it. You were going to the home improvement store to buy a shelf. Inquiring minds (that is, snoopies) want to know: A Shelf, or a stand-alone shelving unit? To be used indoors? Outdoors? In the shed? And: did you find what you want?

    • Inside, and it’s not up because I don’t like the chintzy brackets and I’m ordering others. The guy was kind of insulted I didn’t like ‘em, but hey, it’s going to be on my wall for the next 20 years, not his.

  4. aseekersjourney

    Do you write better by long-hand or computer? I have always written with pencil and paper but I am trying to use my computer more but to me the words seem stilted somehow. :)

    • SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

      Dear Seeker, when you type comfortably and have a fair number of words “on automatic pilot” you’ll find that the words just flow. After all, the computer is ideal for composing, because you can add, subtract, rearrange…sometimes I just type with my eyes closed in order to just let the flow … flow, and clean it up later.

    • aseekersjourney

      Thank you! That helps a lot!

    • That’s a great question, and coming from someone who never intended to write for a living and sort of learned as she went, (no classes) I’ve found that though I hand wrote my first novel (because that was the speed of my thoughts,) I now use the keyboard a lot more. I DO handwrite all my notes, my outlines, synopsis, and sometimes, the dialog because it connects better that way. Then it’s to the keyboard.
      But there is no wrong way to do it because we all work differently. Just keep trying things until you find what works for you. And good luck!

    • aseekersjourney

      That’s a good idea about the dialogue! And thanks for the luck! I already have five short stories published in two anthologies and I am working on one novel with another shadowing me as I write four more short stories for the new anthology that comes out this year.

    • "Guy"

      Hey JKH,
      “Guy” here (Kim’s hubby). Since this is Kim’s blog how about letting Kim answer the reader’s questions. :>)

      Cheers

  5. I’ll add my thank you for talking about your process to Linda’s–that’s some useful insight about how to try and get these sorts of things done. When I have time (rare right now with a full time job and two small children), I try to start planning out my Great Novel, but it often seems overwhelming to try and just write straight through. Doing the main skeleton plot separately from some of the little details seems like it could make the whole thing more manageable.

  6. Martin

    Dear Ms. Harrison,
    It may have been humbling, but you deserved all the praise. You have the courage, stamina and fortitude to try new things, and to keep trying until its right. Rare qualities in our modern world. :)

  7. Linda Craft.

    Thank you for the insight on how you go about creating a story. unlike many of your readers, I don’t aspire to be a writer, I do however admire those who do. Thank you for sharing your world with us. On another note, I planted tomato seeds this weekend to get a start on my garden. I am very glad I don’t live in the Hollows Universe, I can’t conceive of a world without tomatoes.

    • My neighbor across the road starts all her plants from seeds, and her grow light has been on for a few weeks. I buy most of my plants, and she grows from seed, but we both end up with beautiful gardens. Two ways, same result–happy gardeners. :-)