Happy Friday!

Yay! It’s Friday! My second weekend back from tour, and I’m going to a home improvement store to get myself a shelf. Yes I am. And while I’m there, I’m going to check out the outdoor area and see if they have any little fencing because last year, they ran out like in April, and never got any more, and I NEED it. (laughing)

So I’m watching the weather, and they still don’t know if the East Coast is going to get snow or not on Sunday, so I’m not going to complain about the coming cold. We’ve got about 50% of our yard back, but the places that still have snow are in the shade, and it’s going to be a while. My neighbors must think I’m nuts, because I’m already out there looking at the dirt, waiting for the first bulbs. (And I found some!)

I’m thinking I’ve got a few more weeks of indoor things before I can even start to think about moving my entertainment outside. I finally finished my knitted dragon. (Apart from the eyes. I still have to do the eyes.) If you lurk here, you might remember me talking about him over the past year or so. I ordered a crocheted pattern last year, but didn’t like it, so I threw it out and bent my attention to making my own, knitted pattern. This is dragon number three, and the second one I actually put wings on. I really, really like him. I’ll be doing another to tweak the legs, check my pattern, and make sure I wrote everything down, because I want this guy to be reproducible.

photo 3

I don’t think it’s coincidence that the first ms/book I ever wrote was about dragons, and now the first knitted creation I make entirely from scratch is a dragon as well. Pern, you left your mark, and now I have my firelizard. I think I’ll use gold yarn for the next one. Yeah. A gold one . . .

photo 2

photo 1Pssst. I’m on Ravelry, if you’re interested. http://www.ravelry.com/people/KimHarrisonAuthor

105 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

105 responses to “Happy Friday!

  1. I love dragons… Pern is my favourite series too! I’d love a copy of the pattern you came up with…

  2. Wow gorgeous, our house has a multitude of beautiful ceramic dragons but I’ve never seen a knitted one, awesome

  3. Wow! I love the dragon! Awesome!

  4. Val

    I am also a HUGE Pern fan although my dragon collection started many years before Pern I now have over 600 dragon in all shapes and sizes and materials….but Not a knitted one……I am going to have to try this!! If you ever release your pattern it would be wonderful….thanks so much for the inspiration !!!!

  5. That’s pretty nice work for creating your own pattern. Ever think about setting a one time table at a local craft showing? Most of your shown images are rather unique little toys that little kids would like alot. Just a thought if you haven’t already noodled it.

    I heard about the snow possibility, even in S. Indy. So, I’m waiting till next saturday to clear out the accumulated leaves in my yard. I use them as mulched up insulation that sorta feeds and warms my plants and trees. However, I’ve probably got around 200 seed starters (or more!) for a massive garden this year, sitting in my green house. I’m even going to attempt to grow horehound among other herbs to harvest this year. This IS going to be a good year for greenthumbs!

  6. lvzer1

    this is AWESOME, I love dragons :)

  7. Bruce Hertsch

    The dragon is awesome! I’m a mechanic and welder so my mediums are metal and wood. How things so complex can be knitted or crocheted (is that right?), is beyond me. You might say it’s a completely different branch of magic!

  8. Kim, you did a wonderful job on your dragon. I think you’ve found your second calling if this writing thing doesn’t work out! ;) Pern was and still is my favorite dragon book(s). He’s just wonderful! I’m very impressed.

  9. He’s a beauty, love dragons.

  10. Brenda Rorie-Baety

    Hmmm dragons..seems to me like you have had dragons in your life a long time..I think you should call him ‘Krell”..just sayin! ;) He is beautiful..He would also look fabulous in all shades of blue! :) (note: I’m almost through with The Undead Pool and all I can say is Wow! This is the best yet and you still have another one! I’m impressed!) Happy Spring! <3

  11. Catherine Wester

    I love the dragon. I also loved the Dragon Riders of Pern

  12. bob oneill

    Really good looking. I would suggest that on the next Dragon you make the wing break where you have the four wing bones come down.

  13. shirley mccollum

    So cool! Great job!

  14. So does this mean you will update your Rav with more frequency? I don’t knit toys, but I know a few fans that would love to test-knit that pattern of yours!

  15. Pern started my dragon addiction too. Would totally purchase a reproduction. I need to learn to ‘click needles’. ;)

  16. quoththisraven

    I never even knew people could do that with knitting. Amazing job Kim!
    Now how about a Bis or Jenks? :)

  17. OMG Kim that’s amazing!

    Also hello! I haven’t been to the Drama Box in WAY too long but I’ve finally caught up on the last 3 books and reminded myself why I love your work so much!
    I just had to come and tell you how much I LOVED The Undead Pool. I just finished it an hour ago and think I’ll start re-reading it tomorrow! lol

    Much love to you and “Guy”.
    ~Jemma

  18. Jade/Third Coast

    I absolutely love the dragon! What about a gargoyle pattern?

  19. OMG i love knits. Can i have ur pattern plssss…. I can make it for my son (Or for myself ^_^) it will be hard to copy that. ^_^

  20. Grace

    Kim!! That’s fabulous!!! What talent! I can’t imagine how hard that would be even with a pattern! The shape of the head is lovely – so are the wings – so are the cute feet – oh and the tail – oh heck – the whole thing is amazing LOL

  21. Kate

    *gasps* I want one! That is SO cool. Dragonriders of Pern was the first Sci-Fi book I read and made me fall in love with dragons. And here you are knitting one! You have some mad knitting skills lady!

  22. This is amazing! I love this dragon! (Ah Pern! Yellow would be beautiful too.) I would love the pattern when you have it to your satisfaction! You have some interesting sea creatures on your Ravelry page! I will have to follow that more closely! Thank you for sharing.

  23. Amy T

    I will learn how to knit just so I can have my own Firelizard too. Yours looks amazing!

  24. Jan V

    Oh my gosh. I love it. Not to mention, green is my favorite color. You are so talented Kim. I tried Knitting awhile back. But I kept dropping the loops, or stitches, or whatever you call them. I guess I just don’t have the patience for it. Which, IMO, you need an abundance of.
    Have a great weekend.

  25. Janice A.

    Love the dragon.

  26. Tereza M

    I love the dragon! Wicked cool!

  27. This guy is AMAZING!! I don’t knit, I crochet. I LOVE making the amigurumis best. I’ve only created one pattern myself. It was of a lizard for my little cousin’s birthday present. I made him in a camo printed yarn. Sadly I didn’t take any pictures before mailing him. I think I wrote down notes, I should attempt to make him again. What do you think?

  28. April McKendry

    That is awesome! I would love a copy of the pattern! It looks like it would be a challenge. We should have a Knit-a-long on your Ravelry group! :)

  29. Diane Moody

    Okay, now where’s Bis. You have a beautiful dragon, now are you going to make Bis?

  30. Sarah

    That dragon is absolutely amazing! I want one, I just recently taught myself how to knit but the best I can do it a hat!

  31. Wow, you make knitting look so cool. I love dragons and that one is particularly awesome.

  32. Love, love, love! It’s amazing to see just how many lives Ms McCaffrey touched with her books, not to mention the dreams she inspired! Her worlds are what sparked my interest in being an author myself! Your fire-lizard is absolutely stunning! I have no idea how to knit, but I just might have to learn so I can have one of my own! Unless, of course, you do commissions? ;)

  33. I want to learn how to this!!!! Knitting store will be hit this weekend! :)

  34. Jane wickman

    Gorgeous! It also makes me melancholy thinking of Anne McCaffrey.

  35. Megan Stewart

    Oh I love this! I wish I could make one of these! He’s so beautiful!

  36. Tim Osborne

    love your dragon my grandmother knitted me 2 dragons when i was growing up and a pink pig

  37. SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

    Now that is a dragon to love. I agree, raffle-worthy items — even just the pattern. And a knit pattern like that can be adapted to crochet, although I’m not the expert to do it. Hmmm…metallic yarns? Round little baby dragons with stubby wings, in pastels?

  38. Kathleen Langlo

    He is amazing. I want one now. ^_^

  39. Cat 584

    Awesome dragon! So glad to hear you liked the stories of Pern. That’s where I started with urban fantasy too. What a wonderful series of books.

  40. We have a group on Facebook called Wolfhound Quarterly (all about the love of Irish wolfhounds) and one of our members knits wolfhounds for a donation or raffle and the proceeds go to help wolfhounds in need. We call it the Pay It Forward Fund (PIFF). Your creations might be a way to fund a charity :)

  41. Laura K Thorpe

    Are you kidding me?! That is awesome. I can’t knit, only crochet, but so many people would buy this pattern…. Go for it!

  42. Oh my!!! That is incredibly awesome! I hope that you post the pattern when you feel comfortable with it. I’ve been wanting to make a dragon, but can never seem to work without some form of a pattern. Even a basic one. It’s nice to see that it was worth the hard work. Good luck on the eyes!

  43. OHHHHH you make me want to learn to knit so I can make dragons. Then they can refer to ME as the MOTHER OF DRAGONS. Well the knitted kind anyway. :)

  44. Black in place of green and red in place of white would be awesome :)

  45. Robyne Thibodeau

    That is ABSOLUTELY Beautiful!!! WOW!!!! Great job!! I wanna make one ;) Im just finishing a little one for my niece who is expecting, but its a simple crochet dragon.. this one is stunning!

  46. Andrea

    If you release the pattern, I’d totally make one… or two.

  47. Oh man. :) Stunning work. Please put the pattern on Ravelry! My husband loves dragons, and he’d flip if I could make him something as amazing as this.

  48. Martin

    Very cool dragon. Very cool homage to Pern.

  49. Neema

    Happy Friday! He is amazing! Can’t wait to see him finished with the eyes in place :)

  50. g33kxx

    I cannot say how much I love this post. You restored my good mood, which my Facebook feed previously destroyed ;)
    RIP Anne McCaffery, your books changed our lives, for the better.

  51. Diane

    Kim,
    If you get tired of writing you could sell those. I’m sure that everyone , Pern fans or not would order one. :)

  52. Suzanne

    That dragon looks awesome!!

  53. Frankie

    Beautiful dragon! Do you also crochet? I haven’t in a while, but I just picked up Beastly Crochet. Figured I would pass the word along. They have some cute stuff, though it seems you mostly knit things instead of wearable items.

  54. Absolute genius. You should make a bunch of them and take them on your next book tours and have the audiences do some sort of raffle to win one. Or you could just mass market them and make oodles. I enjoyed your book signing in Saratoga. I told my kids I had more fun than going to a concert. They now officially think I’ve lost it and call me old. Anyway, love the dragon. Have you named him? I think a gargoyle should be next.

  55. old72jim

    Hi Ms. Kim I love the dragon,but I don’t knit. I loved the Pern books, also the Kilishandra Ree books. Of course I was much older when I read them, since everything between 20 and 70 is extended adolescence, and I left 70 behind years ago. By the way, my first books were Robert Heinlein and A.E. Van Vogt. Also by the way,I am signed up for the exercise classes 3 times a week.

    • SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

      Oh Jim, Good On You for getting with the (exercise) program! I’m still stalling with mine, but it remains a priority. Have read the K Ree stories, a couple of Heinleins, and loved them, but no Van Vogt (yet).

    • old72jim

      Hi Ms. Kim I forgot to say that Amazon has the fencing. It will keep the UPS drivers busy

  56. Another of my favorite authors is Coreene Callahan and she writes the “Dragon Fury” books. If she saw this she would go crazy! If you need a break from writing and like fantasy books I highly recommend these books.

  57. Vampyre

    I’d buy that for a dollar! My sister is a big fan of the His Majesty’s Dragon series of books. She also loved your Truth series. Her birthday is in November. How much for a dragon?

    If you were to start writing about dragons, it might start a new trend or revive an old one someday.

  58. Nici

    I love the dragon. I collect dragons myself.
    I normally do not knit or anything like that (reading keeps me too busy ;-), but when you make that pattern available I may just have to try…

  59. I LOVE this. Wish I could knit, unfortunately arthritis won’t let me :( so I won’t be getting a fire lizard any time soon.

  60. Sue

    Make more and sell them!!!!!!!!!!!! The Pern books were the first books I read, and what hooked me into my love of reading!!!!!!

    • The Pern books were my introduction to fantasy and dragons. I have every book about them and reread them every year! She really should sell her dragons! I’d love one:)

  61. Jewels

    I love to knit (I may be a little obsessed) and I want to make your dragon in memory of my sister-in-law who we lost to cancer. She loved dragons and collected dragon statues. Please make the pattern available on Ravelry, pretty please!!!

  62. kathy in b.c. canada

    oh boy, now I know what pattern to save the yarn that I dyed gold…I’m a better dyer than knitter (so far) but he’s absolutely gorgeous, and fun! will be looking for you on rav :)

  63. Sarah P

    OMGEEZZZ! I need that dragon in my life! It is so awesome
    You are a woman of many talents!

  64. Patricia

    dude is awesome! i don’t even knit and i love it!!!

  65. Jo

    I want one! A golden one! Pern left its mark on a lot of people. I hope you’ll share the pattern

  66. Lynn~from Haverhill

    Love! Does he have a name? Or is that just a silly thing I still do as an adult. Reminds me of ur truth books. Well done!

  67. That is pretty darn awesome. I know someone who would love that :)

  68. Debra MAGGS

    Most Impressive..maybe the legs in front should be closer to the neck for a broader shoulder line.

  69. Love it!! I’ve been trying to learn to knit. I may need to buckle down & just do it.

  70. Jereece McKee

    Very impressive, Kim!! You are certainly multi-talented!
    Thanks for continuing to share your talents/gifts with us.

  71. Wow!! Anne McCaffrey’s Pern was my life line during a dark lonely period. I wish I could knit because I would be knitting my own Ramoth! Your talent extends beyond your literary works. Congratulations!

  72. This is amazing! I love it that you knit and garden.

  73. Rin Ashton

    This is so cool! Not only did you make this Dragon (fire lizard) but you made him from scratch! Amazing! I am only a novice knitter but I would need to increase my skills post haste so I could actually try to do this!

    Avid reader, amazing writer, and now awesome knitter! You have so many titles and you keep tagging on more!

  74. Dorri Cannon

    Beautifully done. Can he be crocheted. I can’t knit a stitch but I can crochet like a, champ. :-) Either way he’s gorgeous!

  75. I forgot to ask. How large is he?

  76. Wow, he is awesome. I knit myself and know how labour intensive it is. Still working on a sweater for my husband for the past year (have too many other projects on the go). Love the Pern books too. Anne’s world is just so amazing. Love your books too.

  77. I’ve never seen anything like it! Your dragon is spellbinding. I imagine it was quite difficult but I bet it got exciting once he started to emerge.

  78. Linda Craft.

    Well, I’m just blown away by this dragon. Being a crocheter and knitter, I have some idea just how much time, work,and creative brain power that took. (bowing, I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy) sorry, a little Wayne’s world flash back there. Thanks for sharing with us.

  79. Oh my gosh, that dragon is so amazing! I absolutely love it. My 16 year old son Nicholas who has Down Syndrome and loves dragons. In fact, ~grin~ he has nicknamed himself “Dragon” and has asked us to call him that. Kids, Got to love them.
    Lynne

  80. Nancy H

    Your dragon is gorgeous! Such a talented lady you are!

  81. Brandy B

    I love your books & your creature… did u make a Jenks yet???

    brandyzbooks at yahoodotcom

  82. Kelli L

    Love him!!

  83. Your dragon is awesome!!! Your design? Wonderful. Great to hear from you.

  84. Jeanette (Jeannie) Platt

    That is so awesome I wish i could do that… I just crochet baby blankets :) Love your books and Glad your tour went well… I can’t wait for spring.

  85. Heather Jonassen

    That is amazing!! I am a crocheter and know a little knitting but now I really want to learn to knit. ;) Thanks for the inspiration.

  86. Love this!! Beautiful work. Did you have a pattern?

  87. heather

    Omgosh, I loved the Pern books. That is an awesome fire lizard, Dragonsong etc were my faves growing up! Those and the Riddle-Master of Hed, Blue Sword…heck, a whole bunch. Now I’m going to have to go back and read them all again. Thanks for reminding me of old friends, can’t wait to reacquaint myself. *sighs happily in bookworm bliss*

  88. rhoda

    That is wonderful1

  89. Vanessa I

    Wow! Kim, You are amazing! Marry me! hahahaha

  90. Susan Gardner

    Wow Kim! Love your books and have seen some of your knitted projects and much admired them…but…this…this is awesome!!!! I want my own fire lizard ~ maybe bronze instead of the gold…although I wouldn’t be unhappy impressing a queen. :) I can’t knit at all – but – may would be willing to try it!! (yes, I know – too ambitious for a beginner)

  91. Sarah Bird

    Looks great!!! Good job Kim!!

  92. I too grew up on the Pern books, have read them over and over. And yes, I do believe you would rate a gold dragon. Funny that you made your first a green, feeling frisky were we? Fabulous creation, Kim. May have to dust my needles off if you make the pattern public!

  93. Becky Fyfe

    Love the wings! Awesome dragon! Now I want to learn to knit! :)

  94. Charlie

    Who could not love that!!!! Your dragon is awesome and I bow to you! I have no knitting talent but I sure want a dragon like that. You may have to start a second career making those to sell. Bet you couldn’t keep up with the demand.

  95. That is SO cool. I’d love to make one. Was it really hard?

  96. Lisa Bonura

    Oh my Kim, I soooo want a dragon! Love him <3

    • terri Kemp

      I have read about fire lizards and dragons almost all my life and to have you mention them here is totally awesome! Just another reason to have you in my favorite authors list!