Taking DWW questions at io9 Thursday

I’ll be over at i09 today taking questions about Dead Witch Walking starting at 3:00 EST which is 12:00 PST. Remember DWW? How mean Trent was? When Ivy crawled over the table and almost bit Rachel? Werefoxes? Her nasty landlord? Keasley? Yeah, we’ve come a long way. I’ll also take writing questions.

You can get pre-registered to ask questions and help be sure I see them in time by dropping by beforehand and clicking on the register button, top left of the screen. Looks like a circle with three lines in it.

Screen shot 2014-03-20 at 8.34.04 AMIt feels a bit intimidating as it seems to want everything but your first born to register, but I was assured that io9 isn’t going to post on your FB feed, and there IS a way to register anonymously.

I actually use i09 as one of my ways to keep informed of stuff, and they usually break cool news about six hours before my hubby gets it on his more stuffy news feed.

9 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

9 responses to “Taking DWW questions at io9 Thursday

  1. John O

    so there is 1 more book right? seems like the end to me, even though al and “the bitch” needs to be dealt with. lmk

  2. Hi Kim,

    I’ve been a fan of your books for many years, and sometimes I like to go back and re”read” the series via Audible before I tackle the latest book. That’s where I am right now, and as I was re-reading “White Witch, Black Curse” I was reminded of something I’ve wondered each time I’ve read the book.

    When I started the series years ago, I had just lost my oldest daughter to cystic fibrosis at age 10. I spent a lot of time with her in the hospital and honestly, that’s where I started reading urban fantasy. I’ve always been a reader, but that genre really took me away when I was trying to ignore where I was.

    Every time I read WWBC, the scenes in the hospital remind me of those years, and especially of my time with Jasmine. You really nail the description of the kids’ wisdom, and of how they know when they are coming close to the end. I’ve also seen the ghost of Jasmine in how Rachel feels about Rosewood Syndrome (CF is also genetic).

    You don’t need to share, but when I’ve read these scenes, I’ve felt they were written by someone with some experience of them. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve read or listened to the books, but EVERY time I hit WWBC, I get teary about those kids. I’m teary now, and I’m not even reading it! And maybe that’s why I haven’t written about it till now.

    It’s been 10 years since I lost Jasmine, but I’ve spent a little time reaching out to writers who’ve helped me process her loss in some way. This time it was your turn, and I just wanted to say thank you. People often get caught up in the details of the mythos of the Hollows, but I really appreciate the human experience you share as well.

  3. I missed the Io9 window while working, but I wanted to leave my question here, in case you have some time. I was particularly curious about Ivy. Did you feel like you wanted to have a queer character just to diversify, or was there another particular reason to make her bisexual? I find her absolutely fascinating and love that her sexuality isn’t a big deal compared to all her other issues. I initially found DWW when searching for a queer protagonist in urban fantasy and although she isn’t your main character, I fell in love with the series. As a bisexual woman, her internal struggle with coming to terms with who she is and who she wants to be is very familiar, and I’m sure many people (not just in the GLBTQ community) feel the same way.

    Thanks!

    • Hi Melissa.
      This is one of my favorite questions to answer, actually. That Ivy was bi was not a goal of mine, especially when I was outlining it. I didn’t even know it until she almost bit Rachel that first night. Her passion shocked me as much as Rachel, and delighted, I went with it, making it a normal part of her, not anything that was a big deal. (Cause that’s the way I think it should be.)
      I’m so pleased you’re enjoying Ivy’s part of the story, and I hope you like the way I wrap things up. I respect Ivy, and I hope that comes through.

  4. Natasha Yatsallie

    heehee. “stuffy news feed.”

  5. I was at Nicola’s today, and there was Undead Pool in the #1 spot of the NYT display! How exciting!

  6. old72jim

    Hi Ms. Kim I just wanted to drop in and wish you a very happy Vernal Equinox