Boston, and Number One on the New York Times

This is what a happy author looks like . . .

B1
And this is my Boston roadies helping me celebrate that The Undead Pool is going to drop into the number one spot on the New York Times bestseller hardcover list next week. (insert happy dance here)

BostonHarrisonTour

Phew! It was a very good night, not just for me, but my team in New York who was behind the massive promotional effort that started in October. It feels good when everything you do comes together. Magical.

B5
This was the second time I’d been to the Boston Public Library, and it was the best! Lots of familiar faces and people I’d been in contact with on FB.

More Boston pictures

I’m headed to Raleighh today, and will be at Quail Ridge Books tomorrow. See you there!

43 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

43 responses to “Boston, and Number One on the New York Times

  1. heatwave316

    Congrats on being #1!!! But we already knew that. ;) ~indy

  2. Jennifer Butler

    I wish I could have been there! My parents got my book signed for me and I can’t wait to see it! Just wanted to ask you 2 questions that I would have asked if I could’ve made it to the signing. 1. Why the name The Unread Pool? I’ve finished the book twice and have no idea why you picked that title. 2. What do you have planned for the final book release? I plan to attend even if it kills me in full Rachael gear :)

    • Hi Jennifer. The Undead Pool is a play on one of the Dirty Harry movies, The Dead Pool. All the books but the first play on a movie Clint Eastwood either directed or acted in. The last Hollows book release is already in the planning stages. I’ll have more shortly, but right now, I’m focusing on The Undead Pool. :-)

    • Oh My Gosh….I always assumed the first book was a play on Dead Man Walking and just assumed that movie had some relation to Clint….

  3. Crystal

    WOW! Congrats! Tears of joy over here for you, I feel like a proud mama! I even clapped when I read that! lol I’ve been following your series since the beginning, this #1 is well deserved! Great job!!

    • Thank you, Chrystal. There was a lot riding on this book, a lot of effort all the way around, and it would have broken my heart if all the work me and the team at Harper had been putting forth fizzled.

  4. Barb

    Well deserved, great book and a fantastic series!!!

  5. Martin

    A promotional team matters, but a pig dressed in silk is still a pig. The Undead Pool hit #1 because it is brilliant, and because of the care and talent you bring to your craft. YOU earned it.

    • I can not underestimate the difference a great and motivated marketing team makes, Martin. Good books die when marketing teams are not there. You need both to find that number one spot, and this time–it happened. But thank you.

    • Martin

      I agree. It takes team effort to create a rousing success, and the team had a quality product to work with. :)

  6. KeeleyS

    Congratulations on being #1!! I predict a repeat for next year!!

  7. Megan B.

    That’s wonderful news! Congrats!

  8. Laura K Thorpe

    Yay! Well deserved and congratulations! The final book will land in the #1 spot immediately next year. :)

  9. YAY!!! Congrats! So worthy and well deserving!

  10. Congratulations on being #1!

  11. Lynn~from Haverhill

    We had such a great night seeing u and Guy again. Thank u for coming back to Boston. I was pleased Justin got to make the family pic this time..with his awesome FIB hat. I’m glad u liked the beaded necklace I made u. A beginner of a new beloved hobby of mine. /blush. U guys are so wonderful to ur fans, combine that with ur talent in writing and #1 is definetly ur spot! U go girl!!!

  12. SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

    I’m not at all surprised you’re #1 on the NYT list. Your your writing is exemplary of the best, on form, style, character development, and story lines.

  13. Claudia D.

    Congrats on being number 1. You are always #1 with me.

  14. Vampyre

    Happy day ma’am,

    You have been my number one since I read Dead Witch Walking all those years ago. Congratulations on being number on the NYC Best Sellers List. If all goes well, I’ll be seeing you very soon in Atlanta. :)

    V^^^^V

  15. Melissa

    Congratulations! I’m very happy for you!

  16. Kym

    My girls were so thrilled to meet you last night, (as was I!) and now they are doubly thrilled to make this page as well! A great 10th birthday surprise for my little one!
    Congrats, again, Kim, you are *always* number 1 with us!!!

  17. I’m so excited! The best Hollows book lands in the best spot! GO KIM!!

  18. old72jim

    Hi Ms.Kim Congratulations on getting the number one place. You deserve it!