Yellow

It rained last night, pulling the last of the leaves off the tree outside my window and plastering them on the roof, walk, and lawn. There are a few trees across the road that still have their leaves, and my two little trees of orange are holding their own, making the world yellow today both above and below. If the sun comes out, the yellow on the ground is going to subtly shift the color of the sky to make it look exotic to those who care to look for it. I’ve heard it said that the sky in the Arizona desert is the same as the one on the African plains–the color of the ground and the wide expanse working together to shift the perceived color of the sky. I believe it, because that Arizona desert sky is still imprinted in my memory as being unique, and I’ve not see it for at least two years.

If I’m lucky, I get one or two “yellow” days a year, but I never noticed them at all until I spent a few falls in the woods where the shift in the sky color was so obvious it reached out and smacked you. Now I have to look for it. Wait. I hope for a bright enough sky with a carpet of yellow to reflect the clear wavelength back up. Needless to say I don’t let Guy rake our lawn outside my office window until all the leaves are down and I have the best chance. All Guy knows is I’m very casual about the leaves until early November. -grin-

Some might say that I’m inventing things to see, that there can’t possibly be enough yellow on the ground to shift my perception of the sky. But the way I figure it, we see what our mind wants us to, what it expects, and does that make the experience any less real? So I’m hoping that the sun comes out today and gives me a glimpse of . . . yellow.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

8 responses to “Yellow

  1. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    Beautifully said Kim. Fall is my fav season. Spring is a close second. I’ve been meaning to post, but I’ve been chasing the clock like the white rabbit. Your book “Into the Woods” arrived on my doorstep on my birthday thanks to my clever and sweet boyfriend. Your books are a work of art close to my heart. Keep up the awesomeness!.. and enjoy every bit of yellow.

  2. Linda

    Thank you, for this is exactly how I feel about fall. I went out and took photos (I have a 5 megapix cheap digital lol) around my town so I could stop complaining about the lack of sun, the rain and the freezing weather beginning and really appreciate the yellows (my favorite color). Yellow was everywhere from the river to the park to every sidewalk, truck hood and playground.

  3. Martin

    In the last Harry Potter book, when Harry and Dumbledore are in Kings Cross Station, just before they part, Harry asks, Is this real, or is it happening in my head? Dumbledore replies, Oh, I imagine it’s all happening in your head, but why should that make it any less real?

  4. spychick2008

    the saying goes the beauty is in the eye of the beholder and some people don’t allow themsieves the simple pleasure to see and then perceive then recollect what beauty they saw unknowingly while it catches us in a pleasant surprise, knowing what each color transition will bring. I am always on the look for a change in color. A bud of white on a bare branch soon means the crummy winter and my aching bones will end soon. The huge pink blossoms on my japanese cherry tree has invades my entire picture window which faces uphill so i am blessed for a few weeks to dazzle my visual senses and I just sit and watch this framed like a picture ,beauty show dance in the spring breeze. Then I get a sudden shock as a car whizzes by in the background breaking my reverie. The strong green leaf of my birches turns a slver side up when an early summer storm is approaching. My red sugar maples dance from green in spring to a glorious burgundy by late summer and now the palette switches to orange red & gold as fall marches past. I am blessed to live on top of small moutain range in western NJ called the Skylands so every day I go 5 miles down into town and on the way back up driving up our windy road through a tunnel of tangled 200 year old deciduous trees that have sagged away from each hillside join ing branches arches over the road . I am enveloped in a tunnel of golden orange red color bursting and shouting at me from everwhere I look.The ground, road, trees, everything is carpeted in colors. and there is no sky but this. Only a truly blind person could miss this swish of color but even they can sense the beauty when others are too busy not to notice. I take a greedy eyeful because that particular display only lasts a minute to drive through and a week if we have no rains. I have to pinch myself that nature is so incredibly beautiful even if I am not in a happy mood I get a 360 display to push me forward to happier thoughts as I drive home. October, my favorite month , not just of my birthday but the color chnage evokes some sense of desire to go and discover more. November truly settles in, branches have gone bare, now my bones are settling into an unliked familiar bad ache until April, My white mountain pines stand sentry duty up near the road waiting to catch & display the first flakes of old man winter’s mistress snow on huge branches spread ftall, far and wide. By January bare branches are frozen with a sparkling clear coat in a constant process of melt and freeze. Then we wait & wait for the heavy snows to start ,if we are lucky, and dissolve early March .
    I believe mother nature has had a nervous breakdown, the old patterns don’t hold true. I was born in NJ, until about 2000 we could count on winter snows and long cold days to kill off some of the bug population but I am guessing if there is such a thing as global warming or something responsible for the change in NJ weather and all of the east coast. NJ no longer belongs as part of the Northeast but the MidAtlantic. I believe what was the weather pattern south of us by a couple of hundred miles has shifted up north. We have very mild winters now,. Last year had a devastating Halloween snow storm that paralyzed the state because the trees were still running sap and green and not ready for the weight of snow so every living bush tree branch broke under thw weight of the snow and with that our power lines. Only new fancy community developments do underground wiring, we still have twisted ugly poles along roads every where you look. That was the biggest snow and maybe two other light snows . Growing up in the 70’s with snow in mid december always a white christmas and deep snow storms until end of March and a blooming spring through end of April. Now winter drops off by February ends.Spring is quick five weeks, Turning on the ac first week of May with daffodils just blooming even though temps are only 74. due to summer humidity. Summer temps are all over the chart, cool 60’s evenings so my pool wasn’t worth opening water stays too cold. As of today,. we have already dropped to 40’s/ 30’s nights. All of September was crazy, 90 by noon and 59 by 9pm. Indian summers a thing of the distant past. I remebers events with my kids milestones, birth, walking, Kindergarten, 8th grade , High school and now college. Time flew too fast. I dont know what the animals make of this as the usual weather cues are scrambled and has everyone scratching their heads. My poor container garden never stood a chance and hasn’t done well for the past 3 years and this craziness is worsening each year.. ..At least i can agree that we can still indeed see yellow in the Fall

  5. It is supposed to be beautiful tomorrow and Thursday in Michigan. You might get your yellow sky day. Your right about it happening, fall does tend to give the sky a different quality. Hope you get to enjoy it in the next couple of days.

  6. Speedi

    Maybe Colleen. We did have a blistering Summer here in South Carolina. The moon was a reddish orange this past Saturday. Yellow IS an uplifting color isn’t it, Kim?

    I remember taking a trip to Virginia one Fall and I have to tell you, the beauty of the Fall colors would bring you to tears. It literally looked like someone took a paint brush and just painted the trees in Orange, Yellow, Red and Purple. Yes, some trees turn into a shade of purple during the Fall season.

    Have a great day everyone! :-)

  7. Brenda Mossbarger

    I know exactly what you mean about the yellow sky! Earlier this month we were fortunate enough to take a trip back home to Wisconsin to visit family and celebrate my birthday. Fall is a perfect time to visit the area I grew up in, the Portage-Baraboo-Dells area. Absolutely stunning!

    I was able to show my husband my most favorite place in the world, Parfrey’s Glen. The glen was alive with yellow reflections on the ground, rock formations and the unbelievably clear stream running through it.

    How strange that of the many times that we have been back home, that this was the first time I took my husband here. Guess we are usually focused on family visiting rather than sight seeing.

    Would love to share the pictures with you!

  8. I truly love this time of year. One day last week when I left for work the sky was deep rich red, no yellow or orange. I haven’t seen anything like it. The leaves seem to be more vibrant too. Must have something to do with our long hot summer.