Gardening

So some of you might remember that I have a garden this year.  Planted some summer squash, peppers, and . . . zucchini.  Thank goodness it started to cool off, because I was making cake out of the stupid things just to get rid of them.  It was pretty good cake, but something in me just kind of went, ew.  We are now down to one zucchini sitting by the sink, and though I’ve not been in the garden for a few days, I don’t think there’s many left. I’ve not seen any flowers recently.  Next year, I’m back to pumpkins.

8 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

8 responses to “Gardening

  1. Nic

    I have to admit that I have been zucchini bombed. In the small town I grew up in, the only time we locked our doors, be it car or house, was this time of year. Everyone always planted too much zucchini. If you didn’t lock your doors, then you would find “presents” in your cars or on your kitchen table. People would leave baskets, bags and boxes of the vegetable in a vein attempt to get rid of all of them. Bake sales were always stuffed with all kinds of baked zucchini goods. By the end of August the whole town was always sick of the vegetable. Yet the next year everyone always over planted.

  2. zucchini slice is yuuuuuummy! You sought of get used to it anyway :D

  3. Pfefferminztee

    You can deep-freeze the Zucchini for future times.. They take it very well. Just clean and cut them and put them in a freezer bag. I’ve survived a Zucchini-overflow, too. I’ve been there… after a week with Zucchini in everything one just starts to hate that vegetable. Freezing helps.
    And that Pumpkin Cake recipe looks delicious.

  4. jkh

    Mmmm…zucchini bread (try tossing in a little shredded carrot), chocolate chip zucchini cake, sliced zucchini as a layer in vegetarian lasagna, zucchini sticks with dip…

  5. LOL We planted tomatoes, cucumbers, & peppers. My tomatoes are coming in so fast I’ve had to make a giant batch of salsa. My neighbors are very happy. :-) I know what you mean about the zucchini, there are only so many things you can do with it. All of which gets a bit tiring after a few weeks.
    Enjoy the lingering days summer, I feel fall peering around the corner waiting for a chance to sneak in! I do love fall, but I’ll miss my days of leisure floating in my pool. ;-)

  6. I don’t have a garden full of zucchini but last week at the Farmer’s Market I bought WAY more zucchini than I can possibly eat. Not sure what I was thinking. Zucchini cake may be in my future, too.

  7. That’s why you plant ONE zucchini plant a year. Never more than that.

  8. You will like pumpkin cake better, I think.

    V^^^^V

    Ingredients
    2 cups white sugar
    1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    2 cups canned pumpkin
    4 eggs
    2 cups all-purpose flour
    3 teaspoons baking powder
    2 teaspoons baking soda
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
    1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

    Directions
    1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 12×18 inch pan. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Set aside.
    2. In a large bowl combine sugar and oil. Blend in vanilla and pumpkin, then beat in eggs one at a time. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in nuts. Spread batter into prepared 12×18 inch pan.
    3. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool.

    Nutritional Information

    Amount Per Serving Calories: 438 | Total Fat: 26.8g | Cholesterol: 60mg
    (from http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pumpkin-cake-iii/ pop-up heaven, very annoying)