Indies get a e-reader

Dead Witch Walking 2004

I have some excellent news that if you are on my FB you probably already know.  I meant to tell you yesterday, but it kind of got lost in my sleepless night.  After three weeks in the sun, A Perfect Blood has fallen off the printed list of the NYT, but as a complete surprise, Dead Witch Walking has shown up!  Due to the spotlight over at B &N and the special pricing that goes along with it, not to mention  you guys taking advantage of it to build your e-library or gift them to others to get them hooked, Dead Witch Walking actually popped in at #12 on the fiction e-book NYT list, and #22 on the e-book, paper combined NYT list.  To say I was surprised is like saying Jenks likes honey.  I have to thank you all for it.  I was dancing!!

The special pricing that prompted this ends Sunday, so this is the last time I’ll be able to tell you about it.  (links below to purchase)  But I also want to tell you about the new service from the indie booksellers.  They now have a platform for you to purchase e-books as well for Android and iOS.   Find out how, here.  I’m really excited for them, as it gives your local stores a new way to compete.

B&N Spotlight

Books-A-Million
Amazon Kindle
Kobo  Kobo especially is kind of cool because you can read it on just about anything, so if there is someone you are trying to get hooked on the Hollows, this might be it.  (The first one is almost free.  -laugh-)

I feel like I’ve forgotten something, but if I remember, I’ll repost.  Have a great weekend.  It’s supposed to cool down a bit here.  I hope so.  Spring is going way too fast.

One more thing!  I’ve got a link to a very “this is how Kim talks” kind of interview about the Hollows being optioned by CW that I made while out at Dark Delicacies.  Check it out.  I sound a bit like a flake, but then I sort of am.  -laugh-  Interview with Kim Harrison on Hollows Option

24 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

24 responses to “Indies get a e-reader

  1. AKR (Trinidad)

    Good morning Ms Harrison ….
    This is always good to know …. as there’s always some unsuspecting someone I’m getting hooked on your series …lol
    Have a fantastic week :-)

    AKR (Trinidad)

  2. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    I know I bought it and told all my friends. Congrats! I’m glad u were dancing :) Yay!
    I hope u had a good weekend. I too felt spring was going by too quickly. Spring and fall are my favorites.

    • Our weather finally cooled off, Lynn. The flowers are going to stick around for a while now. Not like the crocus that just blew by.

      Thanks for the support!

  3. Hope you had a great weekend. We did get cooler weather, and I’d already gotten so acclimated to the warmth that I got quite grumpy when I had to close the windows Saturday! I can’t believe how much everything has bloomed in the last few days. It’s beautiful, but there’s a real disconnect between what my eyes see and what the calendar says.

    • Thanks, SiSi. I had a great weekend, and that cooler weather was annoying, but greatly appreciated here. Must slow things down before it snows again. :-)

  4. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-Its jim from Warren AGAIN. We caught the edge of the new tornado system and had lots of rain and High winds. The real tornado siituation doen’t start untill next month, so I hope you and Guy have zombie-proofed your hose according to F.E.M.A. standards, and laid in the anti-zombie supplies recommended by New York Magazine. Also there is a very cool Zombie graphic story. in this month’s Playboy. It’s a really great example of how to tell a short story-I recommend it.

  5. I hope you don’t mind but this post inspired one of my own (those damned bunnies are at it again!) – you can read it here:

    http://wearegoingonawitchhunt.wordpress.com/2012/03/23/isnt-it-cool-when/

    If there is anything you would like me to remove do not hesitate to contact me and I will take it down immediately.
    Thanks,
    Chantal

    • How cool is that, Chantalhalpin. It’s always amazing to me how those bunnies do tend to multiply. :-) Thanks for the link. I’ll try to check it out.

  6. Stephanie C

    Great interview I´m so exited about the tv show, I just get really worried that the they say the CW might not keep going but we won´t let that happen The hollows will get great ratings. The other thing I keep thinking is how will they show Jenks I don´t know if they have enough money to do a special effects efery week to show a tiny pixy :s

  7. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,
    Very cool about “The Hollows”. I get all tingly with excitement when ever I think about it. I got to wondering about how they will list you in the credit. Surely they will at some point use ” inspired by” or “based on the books by Kim Harrison”. When they list you as a consultant, will you be listed as Dawn Cook or Kim Harrison?

    V^^^^V

  8. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-its Jim from warren. Note to world famous authors. When stuck for inspiration, fix yourself a Cat Cora kiwi &berry parfait with non-fat greek yogurt(recptie on line in Cat Cora’s Kitchen) either that or sour cream chocolate cake. It’s also a good way to kill a sleepless nite Cooking,that is-I often do it when I hurt too much to sleep.(Arthritis and stroke together are NOT a good life choice)

    • jkh

      James, dear, you have a lot in common with my dad, although he’s a bit older than you. I’m so sorry you’ve had the one-two punch of stroke + arthritis, but I’m glad you still have some mobility–his is diminishing daily, and I admire his grace about it. If it happens to me I’ll be as grouchy as a wet cat! Gonna go look up that parfait recipe. (The sour cream choc cake is unfortunately on my diabetes banned list.)

    • James R. Fox

      Hi JKH-Its Jim from Warren. You just need attitude! as in “We dn’t need no stinkin’pancreas”which is what I told my pancreas when I scored a genuine Viennese lemon Tart. It went down so smooooth after that little talk.

    • OMGosh, Jim, just reading that gave me five pounds. I hope you feel better. I’m starting to notice the damp more, and not in a good way.