Undomestic Covers

I had a couple of relaxing days with family this weekend, but I took some time out to update my foreign edition covers over at the website.  They are set up on a scrolling banner sort of affair, that you can click to get a better, larger picture, and though I think it works on most operating systems, I’m not sure.  In any case, to see them, you have to go to the books’ individual page, then . . . scroll.  Here’s the link to Dead Witch Walking, and from there, you just click to see the rest.  Let me know if there is a broken link.  I closed it down last night rather fast, and didn’t check everything.  (rolls eyes)

I go hunting for foreign edition covers about once or twice a year.  It’s sort of like an Easter egg hunt on line, tracking these things down.  And sometimes, you guys bring the covers to me, (which is very cool and is how I found out about the last three Norway covers pictured here.  Thank you, thank you!)

If you are curious if your language is on the list for translation, I have a running list over at the media page of the website.  (You’ll have to scroll down a bit to find it.)  Germany is very fast with their translations, but others are slower, so just because you see it scheduled for translation doesn’t mean there is an actual book yet, and why I go hunting for these every six months or so.  Also, don’t freak if you see that the earlier titles are contracted for, and the later ones are not!  No one is going to buy the rights for all nine books at once, so it’s the first three, then the next, and so on.   ;-)

I like seeing what other companies come up with for promoting the Hollows, and they are free to even change the title.

22 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

22 responses to “Undomestic Covers

  1. AKR

    Thanks for sharing these .. :-)
    It’s interesting to see how other countries interpret the books’ outlook ….. but such a dark evil representation???
    Hmmm ….?!
    Cool though …!!

  2. Hello Mrs. Harrison,

    These are very cool! :) As I’ve said before – we have the UK edition titles here and I haev to say, they are very bright. :) I liked the first 6 covers but they changed the woman model (it felt that way anyway) for 7 and 8… They were a bit different somehow. But, still passible!

    If I ever go traveling again, lol, I might just buy one book of every translation for my collection!

    Thank you for sharing these!

    Alyss

  3. Did I mention that I love Ivyß :D

    Yeah. Here in Germany they are really fast. Anyhow I rather read YOUR words. ^^ It’s different.

    • Hi Linda. I really like the latest German cover for DWW with I’m guessing, Ivy and her sword. It’s sexy and powerful.

      I’m honored that you have taken the effort to read some of the books in their original English! Thank you!

  4. Wow! What cool covers! I have to say that I prefer the US edition covers, but it’s really neat to be able to catch a glimpse of the foreign editions.

  5. Gail S

    Hi Kim, Love the foreign covers! Do the foreign publishers choose the covers? Do they send you book flats so you can collect all the different covers? Of course maybe you don’t need the extra clutter, but it would be cool to collect them:-D
    Speaking of covers, will you have a wallpaper for Pale Demon? I love the wallpaper for BMS and have that as my computer screen background. I think that Pale Demon will make an awesome wallpaper.
    IMHO LOL

    • Hi Gail. Yes, the foreign publishers do the covers without any input from me. I don’t get book flats, no, which is why I have to hunt them down.

      Wallpaper is in the works! Not long now. . .

  6. Marsha

    “Mistress Kimmie :) I don’t know if that suits you or not. Some of those covers really make Rachel look possitively demonic! The dark one with the vivid green eyes is hypnotic.

  7. chelikins

    Nice covers. It is very interesting to see what other covers are designed for your series.

    Stay warm.. got more snow headed my way. They can’t make up their mind so we are getting somewhere between 2-7.. lol!

    I just hope Feb 25 is noooooo snow. I have to drive about 1 1/2 hrs to see you in Cincin… and my sister is going to meet me there from Lexington.. I am so excited.. you and my sister! It will be an awesome day.

  8. Stephenie

    I didn’t know that you could get DWW in what appears to be Japanese manga form… Finally! A way to get my anime friends to read the Hollows! I really like some of the covers… the German ones were awesome but really confusing. Maybe it has something to do with the translation. It would be interesting to find out. When you’re scrolling through the covers the title and language for the fourth Norway book comes up as German with the German title. Jsyk. I’m happy we’re finally into the new year and soon I’ll be getting to buy Pale Demon!

    Back to work today, unfortunately I managed to pull a horrible muscle in my back and have to tell my poor boss that getting into the pool and having children manhandle me is not a good idea. His poor little old man hair will get all fuzzed.

    • Hi Stephenie. That is available only in Japan, I believe, but that’s what ebay is for, right? -grin-

      Ooooh, thanks for catching that slip! I’ll get that fixed today. Thanks! I totally missed it.

      Hope your back feels better soon.

  9. Vampyre

    Howdy Mistress Kimmie!

    I know how busy you are but we all know Rachel’s story will end one day.It might be nice to visit Alissa then. This is going to be a very good year for your readers with four books coming out.(Man that;s a lot of signing :) )

    I love the Non-US covers. They’re all very interesting. I bet someone somewhere will do a thesis based one book covers and what they say about their respective cultures.

    V^^^^V

    PS Don’t panic…I’m not going to keep calling you that. I just wanted to surprise you a little please ask Guy not to kill me.

  10. jennifer haney

    I live in cincinnati. I love your books and the fact that they’re based here. I’m always on the look out for the landmarks in the books, it’s fun to find things. Can’t wait for the next book.

  11. Bob Fester

    I was thinking about you over Christmas! My lady friend and I drove to the DC area and passed just below Covington, Kentucky, on I-64! If I had more time, I would have stopped by to say hello to Ms. Morgan!